We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 and loved it here!!!!!

The hotel is set in a beautiful nature reserve with orchids and humming birds everywhere. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and we slept really well in the comfortable beds.

The service was exceptional.

Breakfast and Dinner at the restaurant was excellent; enjoyed every meal.

The hotel offers different Excursions of nature walks, but sorry to say we didn't have time to do any of them, due to other activities. Would of loved to see the Orchids.

We did however use the Spa and loved it. The message after climbing all those stairs was perfect!! I felt great after visiting the Spa.

The grounds are nicely laid out with a jungle feeling and covered in Bird of paradise flowers.

During our stay, we even saved a Hummingbird. It was stuck in the lobby, so we told one of the employees about it. They had to get a ladder and a butterfly net to rescue it.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAlyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments and for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Peru.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    522
    139
    55
    43
See reviews for
494
1,195
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful nature reserve. They organize evening activities such as twilight walk, and also morning orchid and herbs garden tours. Their spa is excellent with a very unique sauna hat. The restaurant is high class, and breakfast is wonderful as well. Great place to stay and relax after Machu Picchu experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42, it is close to the spa. A very big and comfortable room, I recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our property.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here from 10/6/13 – 10/7/13 and what an unforgettable experience it was. This hotel is located on 12 private acres in the cloud forest, with many species of orchids butterflies and birds. The rooms are rustic Andean village stone casitas. There are fireplaces in each casita and it is absolutely wonderful to fall asleep to the crackling of a fire. The rooms are simply decorated but wonderfully unique, and very clean.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. There are 2 spring pools on the property but the water was barely warm and it was too cold to try them out. The hotel offers different types of guided educational excursions such as s bird watching and nature walks.
The hotel rate includes a welcome pisco sour drinks and a 3-course a-la carte dinner. The food and service were impeccable. The bar and restaurant are were both very intimate and inviting.
The breakfast selection and service was wonderful as well. This hotel price is on higher end (rates starting at $550 a night) but it is a truly unique, one of a kind experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel offers travelers an authentic travel experience, in an atmosphere of refinement and thoughtful hospitality. This is a place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Inca civilization, feeling an authentic travel in an atmosphere of refinement, caring, and warm hospitality.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed the experience at our property and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for choosing Inkaterra during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is located at the end of Aguas Calientes. It has many acres of property to roam with beautiful gardens, loads of birds, and a beautiful pool and hot tub.

The rooms are spaced around the gardens. Ours was spacious, on the 2nd floor with large windows facing the treetops. The only negative is that there is a window up in the rafters in the bathroom that cannot be closed. It was very cold and we had to keep the door shut so it didn't make the bedroom cold as well.

The food was amazing with very attentive dining staff. It was some of the best food we had in our 3 weeks in Peru. Even if you aren't staying at the hotel, come to it for dinner.

The grounds are extensive and they offer many different types of free tours.

Besides the bathroom our one huge problem was getting our luggage delivered at the train station. They insisted they would bring our luggage to us at the train station and it would be there an hour before we were to leave. They showed up 10 minutes before the train left and 2 of our 4 pieces of luggage were missing. Then the porter was rude to us when we complained! It was a disappointing ending to a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our property.

We appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our service.

We provide assistance with our guest´s luggage upon arrival and departure; we apologize for any inconvenience caused by this service. We have informed the correct area, and we will review our processes in order to avoid any similar situation in the future.

A part from this, we appreciate your kind comments for our property grounds, Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel occupies a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) mountainside reserve, located at the foot of Machu Picchu Mountain. We would also like to thank you for your nice comments for our food and service, thank you for recommending our restaurant.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a next occasion. Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We can down from Machu Picchu(everyone must see this!!!) and were taken to the hotel - we checked in and were then invited to afternoon tea - cakes etc and tea produced on their own plantation - we then had dinner - food and service were excellent - we even tried Guinea pig ! - then in the morning went on the the nature walk to find Paddington bear!! and also picked Tea and made our own tea bags which we drank later - thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mparr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed the experience at our property.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoby
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved it here. The hotel is set in a beautiful nature reserve with orchids and humming birds everywhere. The rooms were very comfortable and we slept really well in the comfortable beds.

We had one of our best meals in Peru here and the service was exceptional.

The hotel offers a programme of nature walks and I chose to do the Orchid walk in the morning which was really inforamtive (they have other walks such as bird spotting or seeing spectacled bears).

The grounds are nicely laid out with a jungle feeling and covered in Bird of paradise flowers.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at our property and for your kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank for recommending Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel overnight as part of our Peru trip that would also take us to Inkaterra's Reservas Amazonica in Puerto Maldonado.

The hotel is actually beautiful and the rooms are very nice and clean. The food is good (we had dinner there) with an average breakfast. The service is ok - the staff mostly seem to be uninterested.

Having said that, as travelers, we encounter many sorts of problems around the world. What sets truly great hotels apart from other hotels is that truly great hotels understand this fact and help their guests by being flexible.

We got affected by a country-wide strike that shut down the train system. Our train was cancelled and we could not get to Machu Picchu until the day after. We had to reschedule all our hotels to accommodate for this. While all the hotels understood the situation, both Inkaterra hotels told us that this is not their problem and they refused to give us a refund for one of the nights that we had to cancel due to the strike. The previous hotel we were staying at (Tambo del Inka in Urubamba) understood the situation and were giving refunds to their guests who were also affected by the strike and could not make it to the hotel. This is what makes Tambo del Inka a truly great hotel with outstanding service, while the Inkaterra MP Pueblo is a nice hotel (the world is full of nice hotels) but with mediocre service that do not cater to traveler needs.

The Inkaterra Machu Picchu Hotel is a good hotel, but do not expect them to accommodate you if you encounter some problems on your travels. I would not recommend this hotel. You will probably be better off at the MP Sanctuary Lodge, even if it is a little more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milanese2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your experience and also for providing additional information that allowed us to get a report for your reservations.

We are very sorry that your trip was affected by the strike in Cusco area; we understand that this kind of situations in a foreign country can generate discomfort so we try to provide our guests all the assistance needed.

At Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, your reservation was changed and we were glad to welcome you a day after expected, no nights were missed in this property.

At Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, we were sorry that you missed your first night. Although this area was not affected by the strike, we would have been pleased to keep the original number of nights but we were not able to offer refund due to a special rate provided for your reservation.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused, and will work on improving our communication with our guests. We would like to thank you for your kind words for our property grounds and rooms. We would be glad to be at your service in a future occasion.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing