We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat and delicious meals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful retreat and delicious meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was a relaxing oasis after exploring Machu Picchu. The wandering paths leading to very private rooms were a fun adventure unto themselves. We had excellent breakfasts and dinners here...overlooking the Urubamba river. Staff was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxRexHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Inkaterra.

We appreciate your kind comments for our design, food and service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in other opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    517
    137
    53
    42
See reviews for
490
1,182
74
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here when I visited Machu Picchu. The service is excellent. This is an hotel for a very restful stay, while you visit Machu Picchu. They meet you at the station and bring your bags back. They had the smoothest check-in for our group. After visiting the mountain, the hot pool was very relaxing. They have a tea time that had the best tasting brownies and cookies. Had a very restful stay. They have a spa and sauna on the property you can use for a fee.
I wish they had a better internet connection. Also no TV.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as low as possible, if you have trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffTPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your lovely comments; we are glad you enjoyed your visit to our property and that you keep great memories.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Interesting hotel with small groupings of rooms and many separate buildings - bar, Lobby, eco center, spa, etc. Internet is worthless everywhere. If you are counting on having reasonable internet access, this isn't it. Rooms are Ok. Bathrooms are small. Pool is ????

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

We understand that some of our guests need to stay connected while they are on vacation so we provide internet service. However, as the town of Machu Picchu (also known as Aguas Calientes) is surrounded by mountains, the connection is not as good as in big cities. We apologize for any inconvenience our geographical location has caused.

We would also like to mention that we do not have a pool but a natural spring water pond (cold water), it is very refreshing after visiting our sauna or our hot ponds located nearby,

Thank you again for your comments that will allow us to improve our service, and for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Superb place to stay, we were met at the train station by Inkaterra staff who took our extra bag while we went off to Machu Picchu. We returned and check-in later in the afternoon. The whole place is set in a lush green tropical forest. Take the time to walk around the property and really enjoy the place. Lots of Hummingbird feeder allows close up views of theses incredible little birds. The Tanager feeding station near the swimming pool is worth spending some time by if you are interested in birds, I saw 9 species of Tanagers there in the two days. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The restaurant serves first class meals, breakfast is very good with a large selection on offer (try fried Banana). I would recommend staying at least 2 nights so that you really get to appreciate the location and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you keep great memories. Thank you for your kind comments for our restaurant and rooms.

Based on the Birding Rally Challenge that we host on 2012, there are 207 bird species at Inkaterra property, so it is an excellent place for birdwatchers.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Its just an incredible place in the middle of the jungle and by the train station. We luckily got a room close to the main lobby (as there are rooms very far away). Great setting. Loved the fire place we had int he room. You can lit it yourself. Very easy! The food was excellent Walking to take the bus to Machu Picchu is only 7 minutes away and to the "artisan" market is only 2 minutes away. What i dislike in general of Peru is that excursions start so early that it is impossible to make the most of the hotel. Peruvians do not sleep!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgusBunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you keep great memories of your stay at Inkaterra.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our property and for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose to take the option of an extra night in the Machu Picchu area as part of our holiday. The hustle and bustle of Aguas Calientes may be only 5 minutes walk, but once in the hotel grounds you feel like you're miles away. The hotel and its grounds are run in a way that tries to be sympathetic to the surrounding environment, so hummingbird feeders are in and TVs are out (unless requested!). That's not to say that the experience is austere; the staff and facilities - including the locally sourced food- are excellent. The (mostly free) guided flora and fauna walks are a great opportunity to take a break from the whole Machu Picchu "thing" and to enjoy the beautiful natural surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our property.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel offers travelers an authentic travel experience in an atmosphere of refinement and thoughtful hospitality; we are glad you enjoyed the service offered.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a next occasion, thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Every room is an individual experience. We had a room for three of us up in the treetops. It was fantastic. We ate at the restaurant and were given a free welcome Pisco Sour. The food was really good and walking around the grounds in the evening was fairy tale like. In the morning we had a free tour around which showed you all the various varieties of flowers, orchids etc growing in the grounds. Really interesting and unexpected. The rooms were very well appointed, with every amenity you could wish for. Loved the place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your experience at our property. Thank you for your lovely comments; we are glad you enjoyed the meals offered at our Dining room and that you were able to participate in one of our excursions offered within the hotel grounds.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing