We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

One of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in. If you like your luxury set in a lush natural hillside setting then this is the place. My room was beautifully furnished with private balcony, a lovely place to chill out and watch some of the spectacular birds that inhabit the extensive grounds. Set into the hillside with lovely views down the river towards the busy little town of Aguas Calientes this is an oasis of loveliness. The young resident naturalist gives very entertaining birding and orchid tours in the grounds of the hotel (the ones I went on, there are more), with a great sense of humour, enthusiasm and knowledge. For birdwatchers the blue-crowned motmot is one of the most beautiful that you may be lucky enough to see. The legendary Andean cock-of-the-rock resides here but sadly didn't see one although one was spotted the day before. The hummingbird feeding stations are not to be missed either if you are not used to seeing these delightful little beauties in action. After a strenuous hike around Machu Picchu it was heaven to reach this wonderful hotel. The restaurant is fabulous, with a good choice of wines. There is also a cosy bar, the bar tender makes a fine Pisco Sour! Nice gift shop too for those that like a little retail therapy. There is a lovely spa too but it was a toss-up between the spa or bird watching and afraid the birds won. I was not bothered by the whistles of the trains, it's not that often and they don't carry on late. If you're a train enthusiast you may even enjoy sitting on one of the lovely terraces overlooking the river watching them go by. As evident from photos on the hotel web site there are plenty of steps to and from the rooms which are set in small individual blocks around the lush grounds, which is what makes the natural setting so lovely. Staff were excellent, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel, how I would love to be back there now! 100% from me!

Francesca Wilkes, Abu Dhabi, UAE

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review about our hotel.

Our property is a place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Inca civilization, feeling an authentic travel in an atmosphere of refinement, caring, and warm hospitality.

The property is an excellent place for birdwatchers with 207 species registered; we are delighted to know you saw some of them.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Arrived here after a visit to the Macchu Picchu site, expecting a nice overnight place to stay. We were blown away with the layout, the service and the facilities to the extent that having see the hotel my wife and daughter went out to buy clothes to wear for dinner (travelling from Cusco on the train we had only the clothes on our backs and a change we could carry for the exploration of Wayna Picchu the following day). While they were shopping I sat in the outdoor hot pools they have while my son had a massage (£25).
But when we finally went to eat, we were blown away by by far the best cuisine we had experienced in Peru and this holiday had been a series of culinary successes.
I work in France and am not alien to good food but this was truly exceptional.
I will remember this place if ever I get to go back, but will doubtlessly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments that encourage us to keep working on providing our guests with authentic natural experiences.

We are really glad that you keep great memories of your stay with us, especially of our culinary offer.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms at Inkaterra are truly beautiful--very roomy with sitting area, patio, and a fireplace. The rooms are spread throughout a very lush tropical garden-like complex and provide lots of privacy. Staff was unfirmly excelllent and food was among the best we had in Peru. Although Sanctuary Lodge gets hype because it is right up on the mountain, Inkaterra is a far better choice. The rooms are far nicer, it is close to the train station, and in the evenings it is a short walk into town and the marketplace. While Aguas Caliente is not particularly scenic, wandering the trinket marketplace can be fun with the family. If you can afford it, no question that Inkaterra is the place to stay when visiting Macchu Picchu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalTrekFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for this lovely review and for preferring Inkaterra.

We appreciate your kind comments for our property and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Peru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a wonderful and picturesque place to stay, Rooms are spread out like private residences and very nicely furnished. My room had a lovely fireplace complete with kindling wood and matches. The check in area was a building separated from the lobby, bar and restaurant. The food was excellent and service great. The only thing that really bothered me were all the outside stair to get from one place to the other. Nice but not great for weak knees or anyone with balance problems. They offered several different tours from the lodge including a nature tour which mentioned a orchid garden. I was disappointed in that tour as none of the orchids were in bloom and while I enjoyed the walk and scenery would have liked it had our guide had photos of the orchids that the plants he pointed out would have had in the months of Dec. through March when they are in bloom.

Room Tip: Great for families and physically fit people. I'm in fairly good shape for 70+ and all the steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay at our property.

The spectacular grounds at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and gardens; trails wander through wild forest. It has been designed to respect the geography of the area, Machu Picchu Pueblo or Aguas Calientes has as a characteristic uneven and steep paths.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments as well as for your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Set outside the awful Aguas Calientes town is the Inkaterra , a paradise nature hotel. Everything is incredible, just enjoy it , the rooms, the nature walks, the birds, etc, etc. This is a wonderful base to visit Macchu Pichu, spend a few days and unwind in the nature ! Get a back room to avoid train noise. They could improve the look if the overhead power cables where less and buried.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AndesAlps B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments; we are pleased you enjoyed your experience at Inkaterra.

We also appreciate your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Located in a private reserve with lovely gardens, this hotel is a welcome rest after visiting machu picchu. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They offer an informative tour of the grounds where they have many varieties of orchids, birds, herbs and cloud forrest plants. The restaurant is also excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjcoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the services offered at our property and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

In the market town of Aguas Caliente which is basically a must for those who want to spend a night on the way to Macchu Picchu if they are not trucked from a 10-hour driver or so, the hotel choice is limited and Inkaterra Pueblo is a very good choice. It is an oasis in a very noisy town that has probably lost its charm due to chaotic construction in this main hub for the Macchu Picchu (this should not be confused with the site itself which is a considerable bus ride uphill from the town).
This hotel is very close to the train station from Cuzco. It is nestled in a well-preserved green environment near a river and the rooms are simple but charming. The wifi was weak but the service was in general good. The breakfast was tasty and of good quality. There were fresh fruits, cereals and warm dishes. The restaurants are very good and I highly recommend all of them. If you have time taste the delicious sandwiches in the bar area!
I have two points that would recommend need to be improved: lighting is necessary in the gardens leading to the lobby building since most travelers going to the Macchu Picchu end up waking up before sunrise and we had to use our mobile phones for light. The second point is the bathroom: In winter it is cold! Taking a shower early in the morning or late at night may be challenging.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property.

We appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services and provide our guests with authentic experiences.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#3 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $431 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing