We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location, rooms could be cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Wonderful Location, rooms could be cleaner”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The proximity to Machu Picchu is great and so are the spectacled bears that the hotel has rescued. The hotel boasts "Authentic nature travel since 1975", however the rooms do not appear to have been updated at all since then. At night the room was about 65 degrees (18ish Celsius) with a space heater. The overall experience that my family had their was positive and the staff were especially helpful to my younger sister who threw up ( probably altitude sickness) on the train ride there and also in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay with us.

We have transferred your concerns to the correct department, and we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve our services.

We also appreciate your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests.


Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,735
    535
    145
    56
    43
See reviews for
507
1,218
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After a exhausting, but fabulous day exploring Machu Picchu, this was the perfect place to relax. As soon as we entered our room, & spotted the 2 comfy armchairs in front of the open fire, we knew that this was the perfect ending to our day. We found the staff here friendly & helpful, & both dinner & breakfast were great. The buffet breakfast, eaten on the balcony, was the best we had in our Sth American travels. Take advantage of the free guided tours of the extensive gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We are please to know that you enjoyed your stay at Inkaterra and we would like to thank you for your kind comments.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A great place to relax in peace & luxury after exploring Machu Picchu all day. The hotel is beautiful! We had a Suite and it was amazing with a living room area, an outdoor private terrance to a plunge room and connecting outdoor shower. The rooms are all spread throughout with beautiful walkways that's surrounded by trees and flowers, so lush and serene. They offer many included excursions like nature walks, bird watching, and tea making classes which is a plus for me since there isn't much things to do in Aguas Calientes. My fiance did the bird watching, he loved it and captured wonderful pictures of many native birds. Overall, the dining was good, but wasn't amazing. The service was wonderful, 5-star from beginning to end, we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Opt for a Suite if you can! FYI the standard rooms do not have television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimilovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Inkaterra and we would like to thank you for writing this lovely review.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Peru, thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were unexpectedly upgraded to this hotel when we traveled to Machu Picchu. It was fabulous! The food was excellent and both breakfast and dinner came with the room, plus our tour company chose here for lunch. The service was fabulous, they met us at the train and took our bags to the hotel, so we could head on up the mountain to the ruins. Then when our train didn't leave the next day until 6.45pm, they stored our bags and then met us at the train with them! They also provided free Eco tours around their grounds. We did the tea farm tour and it was fun, including picking tea leaves, grinding them the old fashion way, and then using ore-dried leaves to make some tea bags to enjoy a cup of tea!

This hotel is very organized and relaxing. The staff are helpful, bilingual, and friendly. The rooms are clean and come with all the amenities, including umbrellas in case of rain! We didn't utilize the hot tubs or swimming pool, but they were there if you want. We really enjoyed the Inkaterra!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review with us. We are delighted to know that you keep great memories about your stay with us.

It is great to know that you were able to participate in our Tea House excursion; all tea served in the hotel is fresh, organic, grown within Inkaterra grounds under the shade and hand processed on the hotel property. Guests are invited to visit the Tea House and participate in the tea process, tasting the delicious freshly done tea, and learn about millenary tea-crafting techniques.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Inkaterra Hotel is a magnificent ecolodge. Each room is unique. The hotel looks over the river. The grounds are an incredible garden of native orchids. This is the only hotel in the world, to my knowledge. that has a picture book published of wild orchids found just on their property. The food was great. There are full time naturalists on staff who have guided walks throughout the day. We took an early morning bird hike, but the guide was new and relatively inexperienced. The lodge staff picked up our luggage at the train station and returned it there later, a very nice touch. This place is pricey but is a 6 star ecolodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay at our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.

The hotel grounds include more than 5 km. (3.12 miles) of private ecological paths; several observation and contemplation areas for viewing flora (including 372 native orchid species), birds (192 species), and butterflies (111 species), in a glorious mountain setting with an organic tea plantation that offers an ancestral looking tea house and hand processing activities.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Even though this hotel in Aguas Calientes belongs to the Inkaterra hotel group, which has also a luxurious hotel in Cuzco (Inkaterra La Casona - see our review), it is nowhere near to the standard and beauty of the Inkaterra in Cuzco. The hotel location is excellent, next to the river at the end of the chaotic and not particularly beautiful village Aguas Calienetes, offering its guests relaxation and peace in a truly beautiful garden setting before or after visiting Machu Picchu.

Our room was rather simple, though cute, nicely decorated and offered a fireplace. Bathroom was spacious, clean, well equipped but felt rather outdated.

Dinner at the restaurant was included in the price, but was not exclusively delicious. Attention of staff was hit and miss even though the restaurant was not full, butter on the table but no bread forthcoming until asked for, the meet was rather dry and tough, and also pudding - some kind of chocolate tower - was not particularly good.

Overall impression about this hotel was good and it is definitely the best option in Aguas Calienetes, especially having seen the other alternative hotels in this overpriced village. But it is expensive and for this price one naturally has much higher expectations of the quality of accommodation and service by the staff, which also was not very attentive or otherwise worth mentioning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time you took to write about your stay with us and for your comments that will allow us to improve our service. We have transmited your concerns to the correct departments.

We would like to thank you for choosing Inkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A wonderful place to relax after a strenuous four hours exploring Machu Picchu, we loved our room complete with log-burning fire and private verandah overlooking the stunning garden carved out of the cloud jungle. The breakfast buffet offered everything you could ever want, including real fruit juices, freshly cooked eggs and a wonderful selection of breads and home cooked pastries. The extensive gardens include trails that can be explored by guided tours and we enjoyed watching the trains coming and going below the hotel. Dinner was excellent too, including many Peruvian specialities. The price charged for a bottle of sparkling mineral water was a bit steep though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PangeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Inkaterra, we are really glad that you enjoyed the experience at our property and hope you keep great memories about your stay with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Cusco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
965 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing