We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in February 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Inkaterra Hotel is a magnificent ecolodge. Each room is unique. The hotel looks over the river. The grounds are an incredible garden of native orchids. This is the only hotel in the world, to my knowledge. that has a picture book published of wild orchids found just on their property. The food was great. There are full time naturalists on staff who have guided walks throughout the day. We took an early morning bird hike, but the guide was new and relatively inexperienced. The lodge staff picked up our luggage at the train station and returned it there later, a very nice touch. This place is pricey but is a 6 star ecolodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay at our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.

The hotel grounds include more than 5 km. (3.12 miles) of private ecological paths; several observation and contemplation areas for viewing flora (including 372 native orchid species), birds (192 species), and butterflies (111 species), in a glorious mountain setting with an organic tea plantation that offers an ancestral looking tea house and hand processing activities.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Even though this hotel in Aguas Calientes belongs to the Inkaterra hotel group, which has also a luxurious hotel in Cuzco (Inkaterra La Casona - see our review), it is nowhere near to the standard and beauty of the Inkaterra in Cuzco. The hotel location is excellent, next to the river at the end of the chaotic and not particularly beautiful village Aguas Calienetes, offering its guests relaxation and peace in a truly beautiful garden setting before or after visiting Machu Picchu.

Our room was rather simple, though cute, nicely decorated and offered a fireplace. Bathroom was spacious, clean, well equipped but felt rather outdated.

Dinner at the restaurant was included in the price, but was not exclusively delicious. Attention of staff was hit and miss even though the restaurant was not full, butter on the table but no bread forthcoming until asked for, the meet was rather dry and tough, and also pudding - some kind of chocolate tower - was not particularly good.

Overall impression about this hotel was good and it is definitely the best option in Aguas Calienetes, especially having seen the other alternative hotels in this overpriced village. But it is expensive and for this price one naturally has much higher expectations of the quality of accommodation and service by the staff, which also was not very attentive or otherwise worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time you took to write about your stay with us and for your comments that will allow us to improve our service. We have transmited your concerns to the correct departments.

We would like to thank you for choosing Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A wonderful place to relax after a strenuous four hours exploring Machu Picchu, we loved our room complete with log-burning fire and private verandah overlooking the stunning garden carved out of the cloud jungle. The breakfast buffet offered everything you could ever want, including real fruit juices, freshly cooked eggs and a wonderful selection of breads and home cooked pastries. The extensive gardens include trails that can be explored by guided tours and we enjoyed watching the trains coming and going below the hotel. Dinner was excellent too, including many Peruvian specialities. The price charged for a bottle of sparkling mineral water was a bit steep though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PangeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Inkaterra, we are really glad that you enjoyed the experience at our property and hope you keep great memories about your stay with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Cusco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Treat yourselves to this spectacular experience ... an evening before and after an amazing day-trip to Machu Picchu. We only had one night, and it was not enough. The setting is, in a word, incredible! Our room (45) had a fabulous, comfy king bed with lots of pillows and supremely wonderful pressed white sheets. The fireplace was clean and ready, wood and starter outside the front door. The bathroom was luxurious with huge fluffy towels and wonderful soap/shampoo etc. Windows were huge and abundant, and sparkly clean, and opened up to the cool mountain breezes and up-close views of the trees and the birds. We enjoyed these views from a sofa draped with a cozy afghan. The trains ran into and out of the station below and along the riverbank. Completely charming. Our welcome included a complimentary Pisco Sour from the bar; there was also an elegant carafe of Pisco brandy inside the room, nuts, chocolates ... what are you waiting for?!? After several days of "rustico" accommodations - equally important to seeing this astoundingly beautiful country - this lodge was an oasis. The staff here is also amazing ... from check-in to departure we were treated so well. Just the nicest people in the world.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wearytraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your kind words for our property, especially for our staff that is always willing to assist our guest.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel is set in a private 5-hectare mountainside refuge in the cloud forest, providing travelers with an authentic experience evocative of the Royal Inca Retreat.

We are really glad you enjoyed your experience at Inkaterra and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I just can't give this hotel five dots, for a few reasons. And it's mostly not the fault of the folks working there. First, no heat? We had two rooms for our party of five, one room's space heater worked fine, one didn't. I called and asked for a new heater, since I saw the other one working and they said they had no extras. And it was cold at night. I had to call and ask for wood too, because our basket was empty when we arrived. And nobody explained to me there was "stuff" to start it with. Also, after two days of hiking in the rain a bath would have been perfect, but no baths, just showers. Ok, before you yell at me, that's good, not a great hotel room without a bath in a resort area where you hike in the rain. They also had no extra water bottles, as our room only had two for a party of three. The setting is beautiful, kind of a rustic elegance. The meals were good, but breakfast is a little "Spartan" compared to other nice hotels we stayed at in Peru. It's very convenient to train station and shopping. It would be better in the warm weather.

Room Tip: Get 16 or 17, they are close to the lobby, unless you want more hiking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveD_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to make improvements to our services, we are sending your concerns to the areas involved.

We would like to also thank you for your kind comments to our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of the sublime lodge-to-lodge trek to Machu Picchu on the Salkantay trail. I was a bit nervous about staying here based on some of the reviews I'd read from others who had done the same trek and felt this hotel was not up to par. Our group of 11 was sad to leave the intimate and wonderful lodges behind and we thought the hotel couldn't possibly compare. But I'm pleased to say that it did. The grounds are beautiful and a paradise for bird watchers. We stayed in two different casitas - one with a balcony and rooftop view and the second with a cozy fireplace. We enjoyed reading by the fire on a wet afternoon after returning from Machu Picchu. The style of the hotel was spot on - rustic but classy. The food - specifically at Cafe Inkaterra with its unique setting - was fantastic and certainly rivaled the much vaunted temple of Peruvian gastronomy where we dined in Lima. The public lobby spaces were inviting with plenty of seating to linger over a pre-dinner pisco sour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that your experience at Inkaterra exceeded your expectations and we appreciate the time you took to share your impressions with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel El Pueblo after our visit to Machu Picchu. It is walking distance from the train station. Even though the hotel is located next to the train station, it felt secluded. The hotel is surrounded by lots of trees. We had an upgrade in one of our rooms to a Junior Suite. It had a fantastic view of the Urubamba river. The room had a comfortable sofa with big windows that allowed us to enjoy the trees and the sound of the river. I'd wished we could have stayed longer. The surroundings are beautiful, and they offered complimentary tours inside the hotel to see orchids, birds and bears. We were able to see lots of hummingbirds in the property. They also grow and make their own tea. We took the Orchid tour and even though we did not see lots of them because it was not the season, we learned a lot about plants and we also saw an edible garden with local herbs. Our guide was a chef as well, so he explained the usage of these plants in Peruvian cuisine. Dinner was delicious so was breakfast. The Quinoa pancakes were awesome. We were amazed with all the details in the decoration.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajerosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel occupies a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) mountainside reserve, located at the foot of Machu Picchu Mountain, near the Aguas Calientes railroad station. With the look and feel of a rustic Andean Village, this welcoming retreat offers travelers an authentic travel experience, in an atmosphere of refinement and thoughtful hospitality

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Inkaterra and we would like to thank you for your kind comments that will encourage us to keep working on providing authentic experiences to all of our guests.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#3 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $431 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing