We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel was amazing. The shower was incredible. The restaurant had some of the best food I had while in Peru-great Pisco Sour. We took the Orchid tour the next day and absolutely loved it-Fernando was an excellent guide and knew a lot about nature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HB_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,503 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

After spending the day at Machu Picchu and getting ready to hike Huayna Picchu the next day, the Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel was the perfect oasis for us to relax and recharge. The surroundings were beautiful, and we had one of the best dinners at the restaurant that we had anywhere during our fifteen day trip to Peru and Argentina! The selection at breakfast was wonderful as well, and the view while dining was wonderful! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arsenalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a terrible experience on the Inca Trail and arrived at the Inkaterra in pretty bad shape. The hotel was beyond wonderful. The staff was gracious and accommodating. The food was plentiful and fantastic. The best part was the wonderful bathroom. After being on the Inca Trail for four days (see review posted under "Inca Trail") walking into the big shower with endless hot water was an absolute delight. If you are going to Machu Picchu and staying overnight in Aguas Calientes, there is no better option than the Inkaterra.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our inca trail as part if our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived we were the service was impeccable. We got a room upgrade when we mentioned we were in our honeymoon, and the room certainly did not disappoint. The food in the restaurant was exquisite and the bar area was very relaxing. There was plenty to do in the grounds although we were rather more lazy and enjoyed the relax after a demanding 5 days trekking! It was very easy to go back up to Machu picchu the next day _ buses every few minutes. Having seen the other luxury option, at the gates to Machu Picchu I'm so pleased we chose to stay where we did. It was so nice being a little way away from the tourists after spending all day there. I would definitely recommend here and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here but had to change rooms on arrival as the first one (11) was too dark - we stayed in room 4. The food/service was excellent in the restaurant - both breakfast and dinner - with superb choice and quality. There was a very different feel to the place too with large gardens up & down the hillside above the railway (which you hardly notice). There were feeders for the many birds, especially hummingbirds, and we went on a lovely early morning birdwatching walk run by the hotel free for guests. As the rooms were actually in chalets/lodges there was no big hi-rise building and you really felt like you were in the rainforest - a quite charming and pretty unique setting. The downside was the walk up from the railway station and around the gardens (grounds) if one has any kind of mobility issues (steps everywhere!)

Overall, we had a lovely stay here and would recommend it highly! However, my partner had her 60th birthday whilst here and the hotel did nothing at all to mark the occasion (even though they were aware of it). Our excellent travel company (Audley) made it up to us later - thanks, Oonagh!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up the hillside - ours was room 4 - so that you get a view over the lovely gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is situated in a large tract of lush cloud forest adjacent to the river and just a five minute walk from the railway station. The public rooms are in separate individual buildings closely situated in the centre of the property and are full of rustic charm but stylish and comfortable. The dining room is much less attractive but does feature some excellent river views. The bedrooms are comprised of very spartan cottages, poorly lit and lacking in any form of refinement. Our bathroom was absolutely basic and entirely unworthy of a Relais & Chateaux (R&C) property. The only plus factor for the room was an impressive fireplace and an ample supply of excellent firewood. The content and standard of the inclusive three course dinner were very disappointing and fell far short of our the standards that we have experienced in other R&C properties. Breakfast was a small improvement. All of the staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the tranquil grounds and convenient location but we found the hotel poor value at $600 per night. We would recommend instead taking a day trip to Machu Picchu, travelling to Aguas Calientes on the first Vistadome train from Cusco at 0640 and returning on the Orient Express Hiram Bingham train at 1750. That would cost just over $1,000 for two people against $750 for the return fare on the Vistadome and a night at La Inkaterra.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MET2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is settled in the midle of a lot of vegetation and close to the river. Food is very good and service too. You can walk to the bus station to catch the bus to Machu Picchu and you can also walk to the train station.
It is a very peaceful place. The hotel offers several eco tours in their grounds such as birdwatching.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,892 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#2 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
2,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $429 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing