We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in the bustle of Aguas Callentes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel during a visit to Machu Picchu and were a bit dismayed as our first view of it was from the train but fortunately things got a lot better! Firstly, all the hotels in Aguas Callentes are near the station but it is the internet cafe part and the public rooms at the Inkaterra which are nearest to the track so we didn't notice the train either from our room or the restaurant. A plus is that there are always staff from the hotel at the station so we were able to leave our luggage with them as we arrived on the train and it was waiting for us at the hotel when we had been to Machu Picchu. Similarly, they arranged to take it back to the train for us on the next day so we were free to wander round unencumbered! The rooms are like lodges in the cloud forest tropical gardens and we liked the ambience. The bathroom has a large tiled walk-in shower with large shower head for that 'raindrop' shower experience and has lots of complimentary toiletries with a handmade feel. We really enjoyed the welcome drink- Pisco Sour- by the fireplace in the public rooms and had a lovely 3 course evening meal in the restaurant which was included in the price. Probably best to book a table as you sip your cocktail though, we didn't and then had a long wait when we were ready to eat! Breakfast was also very good, although the restaurant seemed to be catering for the needs of the many American tourists staying there so the emphasis was on french toast, waffles etc. We had only booked a one day trip to Machu Picchu and so next day made the most of some of the trips within the grounds offered on a complimentary basis by the hotel. We chose to see the Spectacled bears which featured in a documentary by Stephen Fry ( small donation to their uptake requested) and to take a walk to discover the local flora (wild orchids) and fauna (hummingbirds a plenty!) and which also included a trip to the hotel's own tea plantation. Bugs can be a problem in Aguas Callentes and Machu Picchu and we were encouraged to use the natural citronella bug spray helpfully provided in all the public restrooms before we set off. All-in-all, the hotel stressed its eco-concerns and so, as a visitor, it was comforting to know that they were trying to minimise the impact of all us tourists on their beautiful spot. We didn't have time to use the spa or pools, unfortunately, but were able to use the free internet and computers to keep in touch with home in the internet cafe. One point for travellers with walking difficulties or just exhausted from trekking (!) is that there are a lot of steps between the bedrooms and public rooms.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in small lodges with ground floor or first floor rooms. Nearer the restaurant means nearer...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELBUGTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,597)
There are newer reviews for Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in. Although the hotel isn't modern, it has lovely scenary & natural pools. The food & staff are lovely! They even put a hot water bottle in your bed for you at night which is a lovely touch. Throughly recommend this hotel to stay in! Would LOVE to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely! Enjoy!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful property in the middle of a jungle. We were very comfortable in our standard room with a great view. We only herd the trains during the day time. The service was spectacular and the breakfast was very good. The place was full of bird watchers with very high powered lenses and cameras. It was imposible not to watch the birds. They were all over the place. Since there was the possibility of rain, they have placed umbrelas in the rooms and every where in the property so that if the rain catches you by surprise anywhere, you can get an umbrela and go to your destination. Every night they placed a hot water bottle in the bed so that it would be nice and warm when you retire for the night. The staff also obtains for you the entrance tickets to Machu Picchu and to the bus that takes you there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a wonderful hotel this is. It's right in the town of Acquas Calientes just a short walk from the train station. The gardens are beautiful - tropical and lush and they have tours to show them off. You don't need to take a tour tho' - just walk around and enjoy.

The rooms are large with 2 easy chairs and a coffee table in front of a fireplace. You can also see and enjoy the fireplace from your very comfortable bed with beautiful linens. Bathroom has a tiled walk-in shower.
There is a lovely bar and sitting area in the building next to the lobby - very welcoming and warm.
They had a cool cloth and an iced tea from their own tea plantation waiting for us when we arrived and checkin was very quick and easy.
There are 3 pools - one cold, and the other 2 hot. The hikers were very happy to be able to sit in the hot pool! There are sauna houses that look very interesting but we didn't use them.

I'd been hoping to stay at the Sanctuary Lodge up by the entrance to Machu Picchu but am so pleased we stayed at the Pueblo!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianneKelownaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This cosy and beautifully presented lodge, with individual casitas nestled in the cloudforest at the base of Machu Picchu, was a relaxing and luxurious place to base ourselves from whilst visiting Machu Picchu. With a great restaurant and running nature excursions into the surrounding forest (including a Spectacled bear rescue & release programme), it was nice to have the option of doing other things. Highlights include the many hummingbirds flitting around feeders positioned around the lodge grounds, and the fact that they make their own tea, shampoo and soap etc. The sister hotel - Inkaterra La Casona, Cusco, is also exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieSpeakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just left room 73. Had two hard beds and one comfortable chair for us to share after a full day hiking across Machu Picchu. Bathroom was very small. Shower drained poorly. Ants were all over the window sill. The train shakes you awake at 5am so no need for a wakeup call. The only bonus was I had no idea what I was paying as I had it done through Seacourses in a group. If you are going to stay here I would recommend paying whatever it costs to get a bigger room with a fireplace otherwise it is a total waste. Grounds are beautiful so take a walk through, enjoy, and then sleep somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a bigger room with a fireplace as far as possible from the train tracks.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Inkaterra provides a high-end hotel experience, but in a way that completely integrates with the lush environment. The hotel is a series of villas, connected by stone walk-ways winding through the tropical flora and fauna and the natural hillside. The food was very good, the rooms were outstanding, and the staff was very accommodating (I liked the hot water bottles warming the bed!).

The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were modern and spacious, and the fireplaces rounded out the experience. The pool/hot tub facilities need improvement, but the adjacent spa was good - especially after our hike down from the Sun Gate to the village.

The lounge area and the bar are great places to unwind or just hang-out in the a.m. Very warm and inviting.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Some villas are a 2 or 3 minute walk from the lobby or restaurant. Also note that there are stairs t...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,058 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 5 in Machu Picchu
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $432 - $836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing