We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION/HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION/HOTEL”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I picked this instead of the Sanctuary Lodge and I was nervous about my choice......BUT, I made the right one. First off, The Sanctuary Lodge is at the entrance to Machu Picchu so you have endless tour buses parked/driving all over your LOBBY, there is ZERO privacy SOOOOO I am THRILLED that I picked Inkaterra, located on an old tea plantation, with endless rivers, waterfalls, orchids and greenery it is GORGEOUS, endless grounds to stroll around, BEAUTIFUL sitting rooms, bar & lounges to just transport you to another world. The food was great and service good too. The rooms were lovely, though I'm a bit of a sheet snob, I wished the sheets were softer BUT that was a very minor thing. We had lovely views out of our room, french doors that opened to the beautiful grounds and NO CROWDS like Sanctuary. I used the spa and had a fabulous massage for $60 and friends used the sweat hut and loved it, wish I would have done it. This is, in my opinion, the only choice for hotel if visiting Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Inkaterra Guest Service at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Jane D

Thank you very much for your post.

We are very happy to read that we exceed your expectations! Our preferred location assures all the comfort you enjoyed: silence, beautiful gardens, exclusive in-house activities (orchids, birds, tea plantation), waterfalls etc; it is like arriving to the Eden.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel is not a hotel, it is a destination by itself and we highly recommend a minimum stay of 2 nights in order to relax and relish with all the services we provide such as the Unu Spa which has been considered the Best Hotel Spa in Central and South America by Spa Magazine in USA in October 2010.

It was a pleasure been of service and we look forward to welcome you, your family and friends once again!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    544
    147
    57
    44
See reviews for
513
1,232
75
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Inkaterra for the night of 18 September following a very long day visiting Machu Picchu.

We were met at the train station early in the morning by hotel staff who took our bags ahead to the hotel for us. We arrived for check-in at about 5pm and were recommended at that point to reserve a table in the restaurant for dinner (we were a party of 6). The reservation was for 6.45 and on arrival we were told that tables of 6 were not allowed in the restaurant and whilst the receptionist did her best to sort it out we ended up sitting apart on a table of 4 and a table of 2. (There is a bedroom browser in each room which states that parties of up to 8 can sit in the restaurant). This incident put a sour taste in everyones mouth - we were looking forward to sitting together and discussing the amazing day we had just had in Machu Picchu.

Our room was beatifully appointed - open fire, sitting and dining areas and a lovely bathroom with large walk-in shower and wonderful cosmetics.

The lounge areas in the hotel were beautiful, with huge log fires burning, very welcome as the weather varied from damp to torrential rain.

We did the Spectacled Bear tour and would not recommend it - 3 bears in cages, 2 were very distressed and the third in a cage that was much too small (for which we were asked to make a voluntary contribution of 30 sols per person).

All in all we loved the hotel and its setting, but feel that the staff could have been more customer focussed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ossy-Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Ossy-Lizzy

Thank you for your rate and post about your stay with us!
We regret the inconvenience caused with table assigment for dinner, the rule you mention is correct; groups of 8 or more people sitting together are served in our second restaurant, Cafe Inkaterra.

The Andean Bear Rescue Project has three stages; at this moment the three bears we have in good care are in the captivity stage and soon, the youngest one, will pass to the semi-captivity stage in order to reinsert him into his natural environment which is the goal of the project. Unfortunatelly, the two other bears are too old to be reinsert so they must stay in captivity in order to preserve them alive. All this information is shared with our guests before starting the visit so they could understand better what this project is about and how important are donations to it.

It has been a pleasure be of service and we look forward to welcome you in a near future!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Check in was efficient and we were shown to our room. It was perfectly acceptable but nothing more. There was just about adequate room to move in the bedroom, but the bathroom was tiny with nowhere to put anything, although the shower itself was spacious. The room had only one chair, no hospitality tray, and no TV to catch up on the news! However it was clean and the bed was comfortable, slippers and robes are provided, and there is a digital safe.There is complementary afternoon tea which very pleasant and the food served at dinner and breakfast is very good and the service efficient. The hotel is next to the river, which could be heard in our room, sounding like it was raining all night, and we also heard an early morning train, although neither were a problem.
The grounds are lovely, and the hotel is conveniently situated.
Having read some of the other reviews, I suspect that if you have a standard room they are acceptable but nothing special, and the more upgraded you go, the more wow factor you get. Which option you go for will depend on your budget and how much time you will spend in your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleDollyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear LittleDollyUK

Thank you for posting your great comments about our staff, service and property facilities; we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Designed for nature lovers and birders, most of our rooms don't have TV but, who needs the History Channel when you are at Machu Picchu? We have enough options of in-house eco-activities and spa services that you will not miss the world for a couple of days. Anyhow, wi-fi and internet access are available to check up on news.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you, your friends and family in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Located near train station in Machu Picchu. Staff meet you at train station to collect your luggage and help you get to the hotel. Check-in is reasonably fast, staff help you get to your room. The area as well as the physical layout of the hotel requires a fair amount of walking, steps and rough terrain. We had a suite which is a large multi-level room with several living spaces, a fireplace, large bedroom, many large panoramic windows, extremely large bathroom with freestanding tub, a separate large walk in shower, a private outdoor shower and an extremely large vanity area with two sinks. The room had very nice furnishings and appointments. The place to eat dinner as well as breakfast was very nice, the food was excellent for dinner and the buffet breakfast. The staff were very accessible, and provide assistance for every need. Even at checkout, the staff help get your luggage back to the train station. We would highly recommend this hotel for most anyone, however, it is expensive unless you get a good rate as part of a package deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear TravelWarriors

Thank you very much for your review post!

You have stayed in one of our Suites and this gave you automatically a VIP status which includes special services such as personalized welcome, in room check in and follow up of your services on details by our Guest Service team. This room category gave you also the maximum comfort and luxury possible which I'm sure made your stay with us even more memorable.

Thank you once again for choosing Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel and we look forward to welcome you, your friends and family in a near future.

Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel following a 4 day/3 night Inca trail trek to Machu Picchu. The location was good and the grounds were nice however, we had no hot water. We tried calling the front desk for at least a half hour before we could get someone to answer. They finally sent a maintenance man over to the room who reported having fixed the problem....NOT the case. An hour later we still had no hot water so were directed to the jacuzzi to wait. Someone with guest services assured us he would come tell us when the problem was fixed and would put clean bathrobes in our room. An hour after sitting in the lukewarm jacuzzi we finally went back to the room (no update, no new bathrobes). We had enough hot water for one shower when the water turned off entirely. After asking to speak to a manager at least 3 times they finally sent one to our room. He offered to upgrade us to a suite but all we wanted was a bottle of gatorade. An hour later we had a phone call asking if the gatorade had made it to our room...it hadnt. We finally went to dinner which was lovely. We didnt want the pisco sour welcome drink and were assured we could have a lemonade instead. The next morning we were charged for the lemonade. They then tried to charge us for 2 bottles of water that we supposedly purchased at the bar at breakfast. (Only one of us even went to breakfast and nobody bought water). This hotel had potential to be very nice and a great experience. For us, it wasnt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear sarah f

Thank you very much for your time on posting your comments about your stay at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the wrong impression you got from our service. The lack of hot water was caused by a general technical problem in the entire block of rooms, that is why - even our maintenance department arrived on time to solve it - it took longer than expected to have all rooms back with hot water. Unfortunately, due to be a full house night, we couldn't offer you another room to switch into. Anyhow, since many months ago, we are developing a progressive and exhaustive maintenance plan to all our casitas, thus this problem will be solved completely.

Based on your experience, we will be more strict with our F&B team procedures to avoid similar missunderstandings in the future.

In spite of this, we appreciate your great comments about our gardens and your expectations because these commit us to continue improving; we will be more than happy to welcome you, your family and friends in a near future for a new and better Inkaterra experience.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had booked a standard superior room - we understood that there was no view but the general impression on the web site, from my point of view, was that all rooms were pretty nice. We arrived and had ourselves moved within 5 minutes from the 1st room to a 2nd. Superior in this case means tiny, dark, no view, space heater to keep warm, 2 brown corduroy chairs and a microscopic bathroom. We later learnt that brown corduroy features everywhere, so if you have a design lead sensibility - look elsewhere.
We ended up upgrading (at our own cost) to an executive junior suite, which was ok - the bathroom was still only about 5 foot deep and you had to close the door to get to the toilet, but there was a walk in shower and the 2 chairs of superior rooms became a 2 seater sofa (with a fab view), there was also an open fire in the room.
I do have to say the staff seemed genuinely surprised about my lack of love for their superior rooms, but did deal with the matter with some kindness and concern.

Onto the good things:- Food, the best I have eaten in years. Superb modern Peruvian food with genuine flair and intense flavours. Portions are small but the delicious puddings and sweets were huge and filled you up. Breakfast - fantastic - nothing more to say. Grounds were beautiful, we walked them ourselves because although there were guided tours they were all very early. Luggage pick up and drop off to/from the station was seamless. The staff were all pretty good and keen to be useful to the guests.

So in conclusion, go for the cheaper rooms if you are going to be out all day and just need somewhere to flop, if you want more of a special experience then go see your bank manager and go for at least a junior suite - or better.

Note, I would give the rooms a poor to average rating - only the food, grounds and staff drag the rating up to Very Good

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear wbBracknell

Thank you for your reviews about your stay at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel. We are happy to know that our staff service and restaurant food made your experience remarkable.

Our hotel is unique and each casita (room) is different from the other. We offer six different categories to match the most with each guest preferences. In this sense, for the basis categories (Superior, Superior Deluxe and Junior Suite) you can get a terrace, or a fireplace, or a large bathroom, or a nice view; but in the top categories: Suite and Suite Inkaterra, you get all the possible comfort together (private garden and terrace, large double bathrooms, tv, minibar, fireplace, king beds, etc). The most information a guest can get, not only price, will let him book the perfect choice.

Thank you once again for your stating at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We loved this hotel. Our room overlooked the river, it was comfortable and the staff was very helpful. We stayed here as part of a Lindblad Expeditions/National Geographic tour and were very happy here. We would have liked to stay longer. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station and the down town area. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the restaurant is wonderful. Don't miss the local trout. The breakfasts are also good--especially the quinoa pancakes! We liked everything about this hotel. Next time we will stay longer!

Room Tip: The hotel grounds are beautiful. We loved our room which overlooked the river and the train tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCSue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear NCSue67

Totally agree with your recommendation of staying longer. Two nights is the minimum stay we recommend but 3 nights is the ideal lenght to enjoy the most of our services and facilities.
Great advice for restaurant, trout and quinoa pancakes are the favorites!

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, we look forward to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing