We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed level of service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mixed level of service”
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We stayed here for two nights in mid-June 2007. Our room was very pleasant with a fireplace. Plenty of wood and fire starter were provided. The grounds are lovely and we found them to be quiet although only a short distance from the buses to Machu Picchu. Both the breakfast and dinner were of high quality. The lounges are very pleasant and have fresh fruit and ice tea all day. There is a hot tea with home made cookies in the afternoon. While the food in the dining room was very good, the service was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. A serious mistake was made in our bill and the waiters seemed to have their minds on other things. However, other service was very good. For instance, we were met promptly when we arrived at the train station and our luggage was taken to the hotel so that we could catch an early bus to Machu Picchu. The hotel also arranged a tour guide who greatly increased our appreciation of the historic site.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank RhondaWhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    522
    139
    55
    43
See reviews for
494
1,195
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

As many other guests have commented, this place is beautiful. The beds were nice and comfy, the fireplace made the room toasty and the overall property receives high marks.

HOWEVER, this was truly a waste of money. As many others have commented, the staff was very rude and unpleasant and this is what made it the WORST Peruvian experience for us. For us, it was one bad experience after another and as another reviewer inferred, company morale must be very low here.

To start off, prior to making arrangements, we had asked our salesperson (the representative who met us in Cusco to receive payment) for late check-out as our train ride back to Cusco wouldn't be until 3PM. The salesperson was very nice and said he would take care of it. We were really excited about the hotel and were willing to fork out the $500+ because we knew we'd want to rest in a nice comfortable bed after trekking through Lares Valley and sleeping in tents for the past 4 days.

After an exhausting trek and gradually recovering from a severe case of altitude sickness, we arrived at the Aguas Caliente train station. There were no signs for us with our names on it. We noticed the "Inkaterra" signs so we went up to the guides there and told them that we were staying there. After they verified our names, and several couples had gathered, they offered to carry EVERYONE else's bag except ours. We were a bit confused as we didn't see how the other guests were any better than us. My partner and I exchanged looks and they must have noticed because after walking about 250 meters, they stopped and offered to take our bags.

They sat us in the lobby to have an orientation to go over some of the facilities at the hotel. Again, my friend and I (to note: we are in our mid to late twenties, of Asian extraction) felt that we were not being taken seriously. The other guests were being attended to as we just sat and waited. After waiting for about 10-15 minutes, we asked if we could go to our room since we were just waiting as the staff was busy talking to another couple.

When we checked in to our room, we were very pleased with the decor. We were a little disappointed though as we were given the impression that our deluxe room had an outside area; till this day we are not sure if we were gypped and given a smaller room than what we paid for.

After settling down, we called the front to ask them about the "Twilight Walk" that they had talked about in their orientation a few minutes earlier. We were told that the Twilight Walk is no longer available. We were again confused as they had just advertised it moments ago. We then asked if we could book the sauna but were told that it was already sold out for the night. We were annoyed as the sauna was something we had read about and really wanted to try. At this time we also reconfirmed our late check out and were told that we would need to call back later because they wouldn't be able to give us a definitive answer at this time.

We were really interested in going on the Twilight Walk and so my partner who speaks fluent Spanish went to inquire at the lobby. He was then told that they were not able to accept any more guests because the group is limited to 8 and they already allowed 4 more people to get on. At this point, my partner was furious. We would be more or less understanding if they held to their policy that the limit was 8. Yet, they went to add on 4 more people; HELLO we are also paying to stay here?! If it was any right minded business that paid careful attention to the needs of their guests, they should have opened up another group. Instead, after demanding that we be added on to the group since accommodations were made for four others, the staff agreed and told us to meet them at a certain place but to hurry because the group was departing shortly. We ran straight to the meeting place (it took us less than a minute to get there) and the group had already left. Not sure if this was purely miscommunication or if the lobby staff just told us to meet the group to appease us. It goes without saying, we were not happy.

When we got to the meeting place, there was another employee there and we told her that we were supposed to join the group. She told us that they had already left. We expressed to her that we were very frustrated and angry that we were told to rush over and that they left us. She advised us that we could walk around the property on our own. As we started walking, she caught up with us to tell us that she would take us around the property. We were grateful to her for doing this for us but we were still upset that this was something that should have been offered to us in the very beginning. Or, perhaps they shouldn't have even told us about the Twilight Walk earlier since it was already booked. Same goes for the sauna that was already booked at the time that they were telling us about it.

Dinner was okay. But there were only 3-4 choices on the menu so not much selection. I suppose that was okay but I did expect more.

Later that night (around 11PM), we called to reconfirm our late check-out again. We explained to them that we were waking up early in the morning to go to Macchu Picchu and by the time we come back will be past our check-out time (11AM). We hung up the phone with the staff saying "okay, okay." At this time we also booked a massage at 12PM so that we could relax before going back to Cusco.

Next morning we woke up bright and early and headed up to Macchu Picchu. The site was breathtaking and everything that we had hoped it would be. Four hours later, we made our way down and changed to get our massages. When we arrived at the massage place, the front desk was calling and asking us to return to our rooms immediately so that we could check-out as the new guests had aready arrived. The masseur refused and told her that if he sent us back to our rooms to check-out that it would screw up his schedule for the rest of the day. She kept on insisting and finally our masseur convinced her that it wouldn't be a good idea. Finally, we got on with our massage which was fabulous.

After our massage we went back to our room and got our things together to check-out. We were not happy at all with the treatment we received especially since we expected exceptional service for the now price of $800+ (including our massages). We were appalled that after we were forking out another $200 for massages on their property that they were demanding that we get out of our rooms especially after we were told that we had late check-out.

Before we left, we asked to speak to the manager and she just stood there; not taking our complaints seriously. We couldn't believe that they were making excuses for everything. Although we were already checking out, there was not much they could do but there was no sincerity in her words. The least they could have done was gave us complimentary lunch or drinks in the bar. Nope.

Upon my return to the US, I quickly followed up with a complaint letter to the hotel not only because the service I received unacceptable but because they ended up charging my card twice! The response that I received from the staff again was insincere. It was as if it wasn't their problem that we had a terrible experience. Although they did correct the mischarge.

After all of that, I really CANNOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Even more so because of the price. I mean, I wouldn't mind putting up with bad service if the hotel was cheap but c'mon, we didn't pay close to a grand to be treated like that. A week prior to this stay, I was at the Ritz Carlton in Chicago, for $160 less a night, I was treated a gazillion times better. Of course the Ritz Carlton is known for their exceptional service but a hotel that is going to charge MORE than the Ritz should definitely have world class employees that deliver on service.

Unless you have a lot of money to burn, I would seriously consider trying to find another place to stay. Many people are coming into Aguas Caliente after a long trek but if possible I would perhaps look into the Sanctuary Lodge or save your money for a nice stay in a hotel in another city. Seriously.

  • Disliked — employees and customer service, or lack thereof
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank iheartfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Wow.............What a great place!!!! The hotel is located in a great area, right next to the river. I felt like I was staying in a really cool "treehouse", with outstanding gardens all around. The hummingbird population at this hotel is unbelievable. Our room had large windows, where we could watch hundreds of hummingbirds feed on nectar. The food in the resturant was great. I strongly recommend the trout. Its always fresh in Peru and caught daily in the local river.

If you want to stay in a special place, the Peublo is it. Its in its own ecosystem, and they have beautiful trails all around to walk. They also have their own guides that will take you around the trails, and explain about the many plants and animals you will see.

The hotel staff was courteous and friendly, Be sure to have a Pisco, which is a local Peruvian drink. The first one when you arrive is free and its really good . Our room was really comfortable and clean. After spending the day at Machu Picchu ( Fantastic) this is a great way to spend the rest of your time here.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TAHOEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Three of us stayed here in Sept 2007 for 1 night. The accomodations were beautiful. We stayed in room 51 with a loft for the third person. The room though was very noisy. You could hear anyone walking by and just talking in a normal voice so if your a lite sleeper maybe not the best. All the staff with the exception of the park rangers seemed not very happy or overly helpful--wonder if this is an indication of how well they are treated by their employers?? This often seems to be the case. Not sure if we ever even saw anyone readily smile except for the park rangers. We also stayed one night at the Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge and the place was amazing but what added so much was the incredible staff. They were so thorough, pleasant, and helpful with providing information about all options that were available while at their property. Even the dining room staff and bar tenders couldn't have been better. They truly seemed happy. At the Pueblo Sanctuary Lodge they provided no information in your room on anything that was available to you. So needless to say we didn't even get to use the really nice looking sauna as it was never pointed out to us even though when shown to our room we walked right past it. After a day hiking Machu Picchu it would have been great. Unfortunately when we saw it we thought it was a storage hut made to blend in with the surroundings to keep landscaping equipment in. The food in the dining room was fine and the room itself very nice, but again the staff was not very friendly in helping with any recommendations. Even made us feel like we were an inconvenience to them. Not even one of them bothered to mention the additional options available to order for breakfast that was not on the buffet table. We had heard other guests speaking about it so that was how we found out we could order some other items. When we filled out a complaint form the management did send a response in a timely fashion, so that was nice. It was unfortunately too late though to help make our stay a more pleasant experience.

  • Liked — The beautiful rooms and grounds
  • Disliked — The unhappy and unhelpful staff overall
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

This was the nicest hotel that we have stayed at in our travels. We’ve stayed at some very high-end hotels, but this beat them all. Now our experience might be different than others based on our room. When we made reservations they were out of the standard rooms so we reserved a Jr. suite. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a full suite. The room was vaulted and had windows in a loft area where you could lie in bed and look at the stars. They had dried fruit and nuts with brandy on the table. The room had it’s own private cabana and ‘pond’. The pond is basically a hot tub without jets. It’s very hot (very nice after hiking in Machu Picchu all day) with many tropically plants around the pond. The room also had an outside shower, the water poured over a stone. It was a new experience looking at the stars while showering. The room also had an inside shower and very nice bathroom. The room had a fireplace and sitting area. We found out that everything in the mini-bar was free. This was very nice as we always had to buy additional bottled water in the other hotels. The hotel also gave us water carriers for our water bottles. Dinner was included in our stay. This was the best dinner we had on the trip. I picked the cream of pumpkin soup, I was in heaven. We both had the beef tenderloin and the apple crisp. It was incredible. The hotel also has tea time, happy hour (one free Pisco Sour and 2 for 1 drinks) and in the evening they have a slide show. Breakfast was ready at 5:00am (so we could see Machu Picchu at sunrise). The hotel also grows it’s own tea and coffee beans on the property. The hotel provides different tours on it’s property, the nature hike, the orchid walk, and one other. The tours are in the morning and we weren’t able to make them. After our trip to Macchu Picchu the following day we decided to hang out in the hotel until our train. I was talking to the manager and told her what a wonderful place she had and she asked if we had been on any of their tours. We explained that we hadn’t because we’d gone to Machu Picchu. She got on the phone and arranged a private tour just for us.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank HaFinkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We loved our stay at the Inkaterra. It was expensive but the price included breakfast, lunch and dinner, any of the guided walks offered by the Eco Centre and a welcome drink and a gift waiting for us in our room (attractive water bottle carriers in shoe bags).

Unlike some other reviewers we had absolutely no problem with the food which we thoroughly enjoyed. We've never tasted such fresh coffee - it is grown in the grounds, beans are roasted then ground in the morning for use at lunch and dinner that day and breakfast the next morning! As we had not eaten lunch on our first day we were allowed to have lunch after checking out at no charge.

My husband lit the fire in our room the first night (logs and starter material all readily available) which was enjoyable and useful when we had a power cut for about half an hour as a result of a powerful thunderstorm. The second day I enjoyed a massage as my reward for climbing Huayna Picchu! We also took advantage of the bird-watching walk, nature walk and spectacled bear walk offered by the Eco Centre. After the bird walk we were given a very attractive, high-quality colour leaflet on hummingbirds and after the nature walk a similar leaflet on orchids.

My only criticism would be with the reservation service which is unresponsive so I just booked through Expedia.

  • Liked — The location, room & service
  • Disliked — Slow internet access - disappointing reservation service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

This hotel was absolutely wonderful, the grounds and the room itself were spectacular. The room was large with a huge walk-in shower and a gorgeous open fire which we had lit in the evening. The food both dinner and breakfast was brilliant with a great choice.

Time didn't allow, but I would love to have stayed here for more than just the one night.

The hotel is about ten minute walk to the centre of the village where the buses ran up to Machu Picchu.

  • Liked — Everything it was absolutely fantastic
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmonster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing