We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for Machu Picchu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Mistico Machupicchu
Reviewed December 14, 2013

For the price I paid ($19) I had someone waiting for me when I got off the train to accompany me to the hostel. I would assume it would be a tad hard to find on your own, it's located at the top of the hill by the Hot Springs. The place is beautifully decorated with all original art that is for sale. I ended up buying a piece for a souvenir, they gave me a great price and I'm thrilled with it. The staff were super friendly but spoke very little English. They asked when I'd like breakfast, and they ahd it ready for me at 4am along with coca tea (which I miss). My room was a tad small but i was there just to sleep, it did have an awesome balcony opening up to the river that runs through Aguas Calientes. El Mistico exceeded all my expectations and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night after completing the Inca Trek. It is a very good value - only $19 USD for the night, especially since hotels in Aguas Calientes are quite pricey.

The hostal is right beside the hot springs. It was a bit difficult for me to find after getting off the bus and is at the edge of the main tourist part of town.

The employees I dealt with didn't speak much English; but I managed okay. One was particularly helpful when I needed directions to a restaurant.

I had a room overlooking the river, and yes, the balcony doors don't have a lock, but I improvised and used my belt to keep the door closed. The room was satisfactory for my needs with a hot shower and the bed was comfortable. I did just finish the Inca Trek though and my standards may have been lower at this point during my trip.

The breakfast consisted of the usual bread and tea fare.

I would recommend this to travellers who are on a strict budget and don't require many amenities.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking the river; the noise could be quite loud but it didn't prevent me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cauliflower18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here in August with my boyfriend and my brother for 1 night.

When we arrived by PeruRail, we were greeted at the train station by an attendant of the hotel who brought us by foot to the hostel which was not very far away. In our room we had 4 beds even though only 3 were necessary but it was the same price. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was great as well.

Wifi worked pretty decently but got less reception the closer you were to the balcony.

The breakfast was very good of eggs, bread and juice and they served it very early so we could walk down to the main part of town to catch the bus up to Machu Picchu.

The owner of the hostel has his own boutique on the ground level with many handmade jewelery and pieces of art. He was EXTREMELY nice, probably the nicest person we met in all of Peru, and I am not exaggerating! He taught us words in his language and even gave us small wooden pins as a gesture, maybe he does that for everyone but he was sincere and welcoming to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We hadn't read much in the way of good reviews of Aguas Calientes, and I wasn't really sure of what to expect from El Mistico, but for a night's rest before visiting Machu Picchu the next morning I was very pleased with it.

Aguas Calientes is built in a steep valley, with the railway and bus station at the bottom and the hot springs right at the top. El Mistico is located right next to the hot springs, which means it is a quite a long, steep walk from the station. I traveled with my wife and 81-year old mother, and we were met at the station by a girl from reception who guided us up the valley to the hostal. The high altitude makes any exertion quite exhaustion, and as mum said, she wouldn't want to do that walk too often!

However our rooms had balconies overlooking the stream, and the sound of running water made for a soothing sleep experience. Rooms were clean and comfortable, hot water was hot, breakfast was typical Peruvian and quite acceptable. We didn't have any problem with insects, perhaps the hill was too steep for them as there were plenty of midges down the bottom near the station!

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two night. The room are very basic and not clean. There are a lot of death mosquito's on the wall that are smashed by the people who stayed here before. The shower and the beds were not clean. The router for the wifi was broken, so there was no internet. The shower only has hot water for 3 minutes after that its cold. The staff doesn't speak english.
There were some good things: the beds are good and the breakfast is served as early as you want.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank reiziger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent a night in El Mistico, before going to Machu Picchu. When I arrived at the train station, one of the girls from the reception was waiting for me and a group that was also staying at El Mistico. She took us to buy our tickets for the bus ride to MP and then to the hostel. I was surprised as I got a room facing the river, which was a great spirit preparation for the next day. Both room and bathroom were good considering the price. Also, the breakfast was ready very early, perfect timing for taking the first bus to MP.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marjoriechn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A nice young lady waited for us at the train station. Both her and the other lady at the reception have been nice & friendly. We could hear the river (really well) from our room as the balcony door didn't lock properly (we found that exotic, but others may find it annoying). But the most exotic thing about the hostel is the interior deccoration - with tons of paintings on mystical themes, not something out of the ordinary for Aguas Calientes, nevertheless quite astonishing for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#13 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
607 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#4 of 84 in Aguas Calientes
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#9 of 84 in Aguas Calientes
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mistico Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mistico Machupicchu

Address: AV Pachacutek No 814, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $42 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Machu Picchu in the Cusco Region, 300 metres from Machu Picchu Hot Spring, El Mistico Machupicchu features a terrace and views of the mountains. Every room includes a private bathroom. For your comfort, you will find free toiletries and a hair dryer. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. Wayna Picchu is 2.8 km from El Mistico Machupicchu, while Wiñaywayna Park is a few steps from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Mistico Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing