We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price we paid..”
Review of Hostal Pakarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Pakarina
Ranked #29 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good for the price we paid..”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent location. The staff is always ready to help you. Good value for your money. We have no complains. I would not hesitate to go back or recomend it to my family and friends. The roms are in the back, so you do not hear all the night noise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cayita3092012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    32
    13
    22
See reviews for
17
29
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I am sure this place is fine, but we would not know. The guy who runs the place overbooked by at least two room because another couple came in with the same problem while we were trying to figure out where we were staying when we had already paid fpr a room at his hotel which had no rooms. He even had us on his computer reservation. Got really confusing because he took us across the street to another hotel (that is a whole other story) but wanted us to pay for the commission on his room. TOTALLY SMARMY!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank g_g294316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived at the hostel at 11.30am after the tiring trek up the hill. At first on arrival we were greeted by no one as the hostel seemed empty then after we shouted a few 'Hola's' we were greeted by sheer confusion. The room was not ready (even though check in opened at 10am) and we were told to go and see Machu Picchu first. We asked if we could leave one bag with clothes in we were told no. Later in the evening more confusion, after 10 mins of standing around with two flustered people talking to each other in Spanish we were shown to a room but told that we would receive the key later as they couldn't find it. The room was a further disappointment. The bathroom was full of someone else's hair (the sink, shower & floor) and the loo was missing a seat. We had to go and ask for towels and there wasn't any soap. There were two good points to the room the beds were comfortable and there was hot water in the eve (not in the morning). The restaurant was the worst that we had eaten in, one of the dishes had a large piece of plastic in it. Not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLadyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great for the price. Good bathroom, clean, big shower with hot water, only problem was a bit of spitting water at the top. No heat in the room, unfortuantely. No TV in our room. Helpful staff, not much English. Up a steep hill, but most places in town are. Will make you a sandwhich to take up Macchu Piccu for 10 soles. Lock door at night after close restaurant, so need to arrange for them to let you out if you want to leave early. Will meet you at the train station if you arrange ahead of time, or ask anyone at the station where it is. Carried our bags down to the station for us for free--we gave a tip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and it was great (65 soles per night for a matrimonial with private bathroom). The location was good, the restaurant has cheap meal which are good too (menu at 15 or 20 soles). They have also good pizzas.
Freddy, the boss is friendly and helpful. We asked him twice to have breakfast out of the official hours (5:00am and 9am) and it was not a problem (breakfast is included)
The room was clean. The only bad thing was that is a little humid. Maybe it depend which room you get. Freddy told us he planned to do some work in the hotel next year to improve the place.
When we went to Machu Pichu we left him our laptop and got it back without problem.
As Aguas Calientes is a very expensive place, we will stay there again.
Good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjohn83var
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here June 16 2012. The individual room (USD$15) was decent. The hot water is eccentric. TV in the room and wi-fi. The breakfast was great and the food in the restuarant below is decent. The guy that runs this place is very helpfil and nice. Aguas Caliente is a very small place so the hostal is located on the same street that leads to the main plaza. They pick you up from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kunbi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
#7 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Sol de Oro
Hostal Sol de Oro
#9 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinchi Roca
Sinchi Roca
#15 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#6 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakf...
#2 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Andre
Don Andre
#11 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Pakarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Pakarina

Property: Hostal Pakarina
Address: Pachacuteq Ave | Near to Hot Spring, Aguas Calientes cusc 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Pakarina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pakarina Hostel is it in Pachacuteq Ave. Only five minutes walking from train station an bus station is a good near to Hot Spring. The hostal Pakarina is located in the heart of the town of Machupicchu good location, have a restaurants, bar, spa, market, near to hostel. Al rooms have a bathroom and free wifi, the price included breackfast. We are waiting all time for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hostal Pakarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing