We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So dissapointing”

Los Jardines de Mandor
Book In Advance
More Info
$810.00*
and up
Machu Picchu Private 2-Night Tour from Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A family initiative for enviromental protection located 4Km from Machupicchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), where you can walk into biodiverse gardens enjoying, learning and at the same time contributing to the restoration and preservation of the habitat of hundreds of species of flora and fauna in a vulnerable state due to many factors such as climate change and human factors.​​
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So dissapointing”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

OK, going into this I knew the waterfalls weren't going to be huge or awe inspiring or anything, so I think I was well-prepared and my expectations were realistic. The walk to the gardens was nice. It was along the railroad tracks which ran along the river. It was a pleasant walk, not difficult and the scenery was really lovely. Unfortunately, after making the trek there, no one was around to let us in. We went around 10:30 am, so it wasn't late in the day or too early in the morning. The gate was locked and no one answered when we called out. The restaurant door was open, but no one was there either. After waiting around for a while, we just turned around and went back the way we came. We were so disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MNCFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    128
    47
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice walk there but the waterfall was disappointing”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It was practically a death march getting here. And while the family who runs the gardens was very nice, the gardens were unimpressive in August and the waterfall was a let down. It is a good 30 minutes to get to the waterfall once you even reach Mandor Gardens, and we honestly saw better, more impressive falls at other points in our trip. Perhaps the garden would have been more beautiful in bloom, but my suggestion is to save your energy for hiking Machu Picchu or Huayna Picchu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Missastar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a beautiful hike along the railroad tracks and river but should have continued on to Hydroelectrica rather than pay 10 soles to see an 8 foot waterfall.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“OK to kill time”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Near the entrance Mandoor Gardens is like a botanical garden with labelled plants (mainly orchids) and the back half near the waterfalls is cloudforest. The waterfall at the end of the track is quite small. It is something to do if you have spare time in AC but I wouldn’t build in extra time to go there.

The walk from my hotel in Aguas Calientes to the entry gate at Mandoor gardens was 1 hour and the walk to the end of the path and the waterfall was another 10-25 minutes (depending on how much you stop to look around).

If you want to see cloudforest two better alternatives are the walk to the Inca Bridge in the grounds of Machu Picchu, and the walk down from Machu Picchu to Aguas Calientes (the walking track is separate to the road the buses use until it reaches the river at the bottom).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mark_SydNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of gardens everywhere..”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We like the views from most places we visited, you can breathe and feel so much peace...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Jardines de Mandor also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Los Jardines de Mandor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing