We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing budget hostel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Supertramp Eco Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
munich
2 reviews
“amazing budget hostel with great staff”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

i had a lovely stay in this hostel. when you enter the staff immediately makes you feel like a part of the supertramp family. they help where they can, are genuinely interested in getting to know you and make the most amazing scrambled eggs for breakfast - even at 4:30 in the morning! the rooftop bar is filled with art and plants and a great atmosphere which makes you easily bond with other travellers. the tv area is the perfect place to relax and watch movies with staff and guests after the exhausting machu pichu trek. the beds are very comfy, the rooms are clean and the hostel is a lot cheaper than most places in this very touristic town. all in all the perfect backpackers atmosphere and lovely home away from home

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunichMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    178
    84
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
122
184
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay! Staff met me at the train station, nice little hostel with very friendly reception staff, great little rooftop bar with cool barman and great all round experience, one of the friendliest stays I've had in South America, thanks crew!
Kirk from Oz

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of my favourite hostels in South America. The rooms are really clean, the showers are hot and there is a cool rooftop bar. The breakfast starts at 4am so its really good if you are going to Machu Picchu early in the morning. Most importantly everyone who works there is really friendly and helpful - as soon as I arrived I was invited to eat lunch with them and the food was great. Cant say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wainers137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an awesome, clear, super friendly hostel if you're looking for somewhere cheap in Aguascalientes. It's perfect for backpackers and those who are going to Machu Picchu because they sell boxed lunches and start serving breakfast at 4:30. They were very helpful with our activities and let us store all of our bags there while we hiked Machu Picchu and also let us stay there for a little while after we checked out and before our train left. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrandolph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night before going to MP, a nice girl collected me for the station with was nice. The dorm was 24 soles- decent price. Free breakast including eggs- they served really earlier for people going to MP. The bed was realllllly soft, a bit to soft for me. There was noise but im a light sleeper. Shower was hot but lack of space to change and leave valubles when showering. Did for the night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

One of my favorite hostels I've stayed in in South America. The owner Sebastian is so friendly and helpful, not to mention Milo and Alejandro (two other super friendly Colombians working there). The hostal is bright and comfy, bean bags surround a nice flat screen with good movie options for those rainy afternoons after hikes, hot tea and coffee are served all day long, and a comfy terrace rounds out the nights with beer and chats about life. The beds are seriously so comfy with lovely big comforters, and the kitchen is well equipped (use it! Go to the mercado in Aguas Calientes and buy normal priced fruits and veggies and save yourself a whole load of money!). Tasty breakfast, served early for Machu Picchu.

Overall, great place to stay. Take advantage and stay a few days! The hostal is so nice, the Colombians are fun to chat with and get to know, and Aguas Calientes has a lot more to offer than just Machu Picchu! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veganonfoot p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottweil, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved the stay there. For breakfast we even had eggs if we wanted to. Nice place. Only the showers suck as we needed to kind of change in the hallway. Rooms were big enough for the beds. The location was good as it was close to everything.
I loved that they served coffee and tea all day as it got really cold in aquas calientes in march.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car2na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
44.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,029 reviews
44.4 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
365 reviews
44.2 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#7 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 465 in Cusco
1,406 reviews
44.3 mi away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#2 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Tambo
Hostal El Tambo
#4 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Supertramp Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supertramp Eco Hostel

Property: Supertramp Eco Hostel
Address: Calle Chaskatika, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUPERTRAMP Machu Picchu is located on the very urban heart of Machupicchu town (Aguas Calientes). Our goal is to make you feel at home, whether it's one night or one week, for you to feel comfortable and at joy during your stay is what we aim for. We have dorms, private rooms, a rooftop bar and our restaurant Palate next door. Our family-like staff is willing to help you with anything you may need during your stay (directions, advice, recommendations, etc). SUPERTRAMP Hostel isn't just a place to stay, it is a small home away from home, a place to relax, have fun and rest while enjoying your visit to Machu Picchu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Supertramp Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing