We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Inka Wasi Restaurant and Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The restaurant has great ambience and great food. The little extras they provide there during your meal are definitely appreciated and worth it. Great big windows to sit by and eat, listen to live music and watch people go by.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank marleycary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    169
    74
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
464 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Waiter, there’s a guinea pig on my plate!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I’m from California, and back home guinea pigs are pets you find in cages in your kid’s room. In Peru, you can actually eat them! How cool is that?

I’m always looking for new experiences, so when I came to Peru, I knew I was going to try eating guinea pig. After our day at Machu Picchu, I asked our guide which restaurant in Aguas Calientes is the best place to get guinea pig. Without hesitation, he said we should go to the Inka Wasi.

We were not disappointed. The restaurant was in a good location, with a great atmosphere inside. It was nicely decorated with a couple of open fire places. There was even some live music when we arrived, although they were almost done for the night by the time we got there. The service was fast and friendly, and the food was very good.

In particular, I had the guinea pig, and I like it! The way it was served was interesting. They brought out the whole guinea pig, and I could see its little claws. There was a potato in its mouth, and I could see the little teeth. I couldn’t decide whether it looked cute or just tasty.

In any case, it was tasty! The waiter recommended that I eat it as finger-food, rather than trying to use my knife and fork. There are small bones, and the best way to eat guinea pig is to nibble the meat off the bones. I never knew that. You learn something new every day.

Now, the next time I have a chance to eat guinea pig, I’ll know exactly how to do it. You never know when these important life skills will come in handy. ;-)

Anyway, this was a great restaurant, and I can definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim_and_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Peruvian or Pizza”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice resturant offering typical peruvian fare (I had the sopa verduras and
polla a la plancha ) or pizza (my wife had the pizza margarita). Both were good plus an excellent band was playing.
Good location, good ambiance and great staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fb249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We ate here on a "voucher" that was given by our tour agency, so I'm not sure of the prices, but the food was good, decor in the place was excellent, and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. The restaurant is about 50 steps off the main square up the street named "escape." The presentation of the food was beautiful, so I'm guessing that the price was a bit more than the typical sit-down Pizzeria in Aguas Calientes. I believe that they have a menu outside like most restaurants where you can browse the prices before going inside. This is a place where you won't get ripped off and you'll be satisfied with the food. Oh... and they have very large Pisco Sours if you like the drink. :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmarret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good service ,nice central location . The food is typical Peruvian. Love the fire place in the center.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inka Wasi Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Inka Wasi Restaurant and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing