We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Killer Inn"”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Killa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killa Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“"Killer Inn"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

There are not great choices in this overpriced town, but if you must stay the night hoping to go to MaPi early the next morning and are on a budget, then by all means stay in any hotel offered in this town. However, if I had to do it again, I would not stay here; this is one of the worst hotels I have ever been to. Booked it through booking.com...not trusting the reviews on this site again.
The good: We were able to leave our bags in the hotel after check out while we visited the ruins. The breakfast was acceptable: bread, cheese, ham, jam, fruit juices, coffee, tea. The location was good and very close to the bus station to get to the ruins.
The bad: No one was at the train station to pick us up even after they confirmed it with me via email (no biggie, the town is small enough to navigate). The girl at the reception didn't know anything when we arrived and told us that we might have to be relocated to another hotel in town (????); took her 20 minutes to confirm our reservation and to finally give us the keep to the rooms. The hotel is facing the river and the noise could be annoying and make it impossible to sleep. No Wi-Fi.
The ugly: All three of our rooms had walls covered by mold and mildew (due to the high level of humidity of the region and the lack of A/C in the rooms probably to be eco-friendly and to save the hotel some bucks). You cannot pay with credit card because they will tell you the machine is broken and they were not capable of telling us that earlier when we checked in or a few minutes earlier (when I notified them that I would pay for the rooms during the evening of our stay and not the next morning to save some time)...the machine broke right before I got the the counter to pay...the chances...Then one of us asked for a radiator seeing that it helps control the humidity a little in the other room that had one, they told us right out that they had only "one."
I see that there are other reviews that look positive for this hotel, but like I said, not for me...and I have stayed in very shaggy hotels in the past.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkTanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    53
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
32
60
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in the month of September 2011. I knew very little about this hotel, having only read a couple of positive reviews and seeing only a few pictures. The cost was $80 for one night with a double bed. The staff met us at the station and took our luggage while our tour guild led us on to take the bus to Macchu Picchu. The staff was very friendly and helpful, there was plenty of tea, juice and coffee on hand in the dining room. The hotel also came with a complementary 15 minute massage in the salon upstairs which is very nice after spending several hours walking around Macchu Picchu.
The room was small but very nice, comfortable bed and a hot shower. The room had no tv and though the hostel offered free Wi-Fi it was impossible getting a connection but then again when in a place like Aguas Calientes this is the last thing that you would care about. The breakfast was buffet style choices of cereal, fruit, bread, butter, sliced ham and cheese. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When we checked out we still had several hours before our train ride out so we decided to take a hike through the Rain forest. The staff allowed us to leave our luggage with them free of charge until we returned back from our hike saving us the trouble of renting a locker back at the bus station.
Overall the hostel looked modern, clean and had a very nice staff. The location was pretty much int he middle of all the other hotels down the main strip in Aguas Calientes. I highly would recommend it for a one-two night stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDicknMrsJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed there in December 2011. The location is great, close to the train station, next to lots of shops and restaurants. There was no WiFi. Breakfast was good, and they agreed to look after our back packs, even after we checked out. The room was right up against the raging Urubamba river. Apart from the sound of the river, it was quiet. The room was basic, but clean, and the bathroom had lenty of decent hot water. In all, I would reccomend it for a night or two, if you actually plan to use it as a base to visit Machu Picchu. Price was decent

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killa Inn

Property: Killa Inn
Address: Av. Imperio de Los Incas No512, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the front of the Police station next to Banco de la Nacion , 2 minutes walk from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Killa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing