We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel, close to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelas's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adelas's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel, close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a basic no-major-frills hotel but for the price it's a good value. The rooms are small but clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom is clean and a decent size. A full breakfast was included with our stay. Try to get a room on the river side of the building--we were at the train side and it was a bit noisy. Staff barely speaks English but tries hard to help in any way.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    182
    92
    22
    4
See reviews for
60
192
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed with two friends here (Feb. 2014) for two nights. Great, clean room. Nice breakfast in the mornings. You can't beat the two minute walk to where the buses for Machu Picchu take you up the mountain. Highly recommended! The only strange thing was we had heard the hostel would pack a lunch for our early morning MP trek the next morning. The person at the front desk was confused by this and basically refused. It was fine because we bought boxed lunches from a local woman while in line, it was just strange.

We didn't see one bug and the hostel was quiet and clean :)

Room Tip: We had a triple room by the river. Very loud but I love the sound of the river to sleep to! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Charlie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in this hostel for one night as stop over to MP. This hostel is so close to train station (2 mins walk) and also to bus station. Once i booked this hostel, i emailed them to pick us up from the train station providing our arrival time and they acknowledged the same. A boy with the hostel name waited for us in the station to pick us up. The staffs were very helpful. The rooms were not modern but was clean which was more than enough for us to stay. They had a TV. The restrooms were clean and they had hot showers early morning which was a positive note. We walked till the hot springs (up-hill) and hanged out in downtown. There are lot of shops/restaurants close by. The breakfast was OK. Personally, i liked the sound of the river from our room :) The Staff was kind enough to look after our luggages even after we checked-out while we went to Machu picchu and collected our luggages when we returned to the train. There were souvenir shops lined up next to this. There was an ATM and currency exchange place next to this hostel which was helpful to us. This hostel is in between train tracks and a river. If you are thinking of a cheaper and a decent hotel to stay in AC, I would recommend Adela's hostel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to river as i think the rooms near to the train tracks might get noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a riverside room: a clean small room with a clean bathroom. There is a TV. Riverside rooms have quiet some noise from the river, but that did not stop us of having a good nights sleep. Due to the location of the village, most hotels are located next to one of the torrential rivers. Front rooms were located next to the rails (the train runs through the streets of A.C. at low speed), but trains don't run at night. The breakfast is good and big, and is served from 5h30 on. Staff was friendly, mainly speaking Spanish. If it would not be in A.C. I would call this low value because of the small rooms and the high price, but prices in A.C. are just higher then elsewhere.
The location of the hotel is good, close to the train station, bus station, and next to the river. But A.C. is so small that most hotels can claim this.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but feel compelled to this time after a great experience at this hotel. I just spent one night here in connection with a trip to MP. I found the room clean and spacious, and on the river side of the building which meant no noise from the trains. The owner and staff went out of their way to assist me during my stay - walking me down to the tourist office in the pouring rain to show me the way, and providing me with a packed lunch to take up to MP in ten minutes flat when I'd mentioned to them that I planned to leave for MP the next day too early for breakfast. You have to accept that for the price you are not going to get luxury, but I think Adelas represents value for money for a short stay, and personally I was made to feel at home by everyone I met who worked there which was welcome in what can appear at first glance to be quite a soulless tourist town.

Room Tip: Riverside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Pros: The hostel is a short walk to the train station and the bus to Machu Picchu. My son loved the view of the river. Some people have said the noise is too much but we found it soothing.

Cons: The hostel had plumbing 'issues' the morning we were to go to MP--no shower, no toilet and no sink. We woke up at 5:30 am to this issue and it was not resolved by the time we left two hours later. Adela's runs a restaurant that sells bottled water, they could have offered us at least bottled water to wash our faces and brush our teeth. They did not. We tried to explain our frustration to the staff but they did not speak English. We attempted to reach out through our booking agency to complain and Adela's claimed that the ENTIRE town had the same experience as we had due to a landslide. We encountered numerous people this day and none of them had the same 'plumbing' issues that we had and all of them had stayed in Aguas Calientes.

There are tons of places to stay in Aguas Calientes in this price range, I recommend trying one them rather then risking the same issues we encountered. Nothing like making it all the way to Machu Picchu and having to go see it uncomfortable and dirty.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of water, ask for a river side room but make sure you close the windows when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Arrived early evening by train, hotel rep waiting. Short walk through market. Concerned at first by the closeness to the railroad track, but the sound of the river provided the right touch for distraction. Friendly welcome, easy check in, and escorted to 3rd floor room. Comfortable beds, clean/crisp linens, good shower. Nice common area with couch immediately outside room if more seating was preferred. Close to MP bus station - easy to buy tickets and to sleep til last minute and make it to the first buses of the morning. Breakfast was made to order eggs along with juices, tea, coffee and assorted breads. Safe, reliable family commitment. We were pleased. For a one night stay before hiking MP, this was a very good choice. Way better than other situations we saw in this limited option town. At $65 per night including breakfast - we would stay again if we had a do-over.

Room Tip: Riverside for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beer4ever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelas's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelas's Hostel

Property: Adelas's Hostel
Address: Ave. Prolg. Imperio de los Incas., Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelas's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adelas's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing