We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Adelas's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adelas's Hostel
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here one night, five of us traveling together, wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was a full meal, with eggs, toast, coffee and juice. After our full day of touring, we had a cheep, but good dinner too. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and they kept our bags for the day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmacfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    193
    96
    22
    4
See reviews for
65
200
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Its not a 5-star hotel but they get everything right.
Someone was there to meet us when the train arrived. We were shown to a spotless room with newish white sheets and towels (this shows confidence in their cleanliness). Clean and comfortable rooms and beds.
Breakfast is eggs, coffee and bread and bananas and from 5am until 9am which is convenient for doing early morning Machu Picchu visits.
We ate at the restaurant downstairs for dinner because we were too lazy to go out, but we were so impressed with the food that we returned for lunch the next day.
We enjoyed staying in a river view room. The windows cut out most of the notice if you don't like it. You do hear trains going past until about 9pm - the train line runs through the middle of this tiny town so I guess you will get some train noise anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is wedged between the railway line and the river but is close to bus and train station. Rooms next to river are best as trains pretty noisy. Rooms are old but clean and do the job. What makes this place good is the level of service and location. We needed aroom on a lower level and were able to get a room change easily. We were able to store our bags while we went to macchu picchu. Breakfast was fine and for the price was as good as anywhere in the town. The restaurant attached offed good value in a town that seems to pride itself in overcharging tourists.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the river side. The trains sound like they coming through the walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandJaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights, it is quite expensive as most of the rooms in Aguas Calientes.

The room is fairly though not immaculate.
Beware: WiFi does not work in the rooms nor in the second floor. They said it is written in the description, it might be but pay attention to this detail.
Hot water was available, though the water pressure was not at best.
You can choose between rooms facing the train station (train is very noisy) or facing the river (very noisy as well, the windows do not isolate at all.

Finally, the hostel is very conveniently located as it is in front of the train station and less than 1 minute walking from the bus station to Machu Picchu. this is something handy if you plan on being among the first people to get the bus at 5.30 am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilnave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is very cheap. However, when we got there (wife and I), they said to us; we have a matrimonial room with cable tv but it faces the train station. Mind you, old school trains scream louder than babies and because they move lower you get to hear the sound effects for quite a while. The second option was 3 single beds, no cable tv however it was facing the river, not as loud as the train but if you like nature you will like the sound of the river. Problem was that because the sound of the river was a little strong, we didn't hear our alarm and woke up 1.5 hours later than usual.
Check out is at 9am but you can leave your bags the whole day.
Value is okay, not much to do in Aguas Calientes so the cable tv room would have been nice.

Room Tip: Very hard to pick between the river room or train room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I booked one room thru booking.com. Then I called the hostal to confirm it. Then I found a problem: the hostess doesn't speak English. It is my trouble since I don't speak Spanish.

The hostess is a nice person and she picked me and 2 others up from the train station. It's really close to the train station and locates between the river and the railway. She also showed my on a map where I could get a ticket for MP. And I was really lucky to get a ticket for Huayna Picchu as well.

I don't like the running noise of the water so I picked one room facing the railway. It can bother you during the day when the train goes by. But there is no service running at night so I got a pretty good sleep.

The shower is hot and with good pressure. I really enjoyed it as I did take a show in Cusco due to its coldness.

It's more like a hotel than a hostel. Breakfast is great and served from 5 am so you can catch the earlies bus to MP. I stored my luggage here and ate at the restaurant on the first floor.

Anyway, Aguas Calientes is a place which worths staying for just one night for early climbing up to MP.

Room Tip: If you feel the running water bothers you, choose the room facing the street. Otherwise it's a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our room has a lovely view of the river, and we slept like a log as our bed & pillows are comfortable. Upon our arrival we paid in advance and informed the receptionist that were going to Macchu Picchu early in the morning. Breakfast was served at 5am with bread, butter, jam, tea/coffee, juice, eggs and fruit. Great location as it is near the Aguas Calientes Peru Train Station 5 minutes walk and bus station going to Macchu Picchu. We tried their restaurant the lomo saltado and trout ceviche was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,024 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelas's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelas's Hostel

Property: Adelas's Hostel
Address: Ave. Prolg. Imperio de los Incas., Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelas's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adelas's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing