We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”
Review of Hostel viajeros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel viajeros
Reviewed September 14, 2012

In fairness we booked via SAStravel and did not know how much we paid, no outside window, double bed comfortable, shower ran warm after a while.Food was not really to our expectations, but for lower end of market it seemed good value for money.We snuck out to the square to eat chocolate and crisps!!but meals had meat and rice, good for hungry walkers.Was very quiet at night, we expected a lot of noise but lots of people our age ( 50) and we all had early starts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diswix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Hostel viajeros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The downstairs area was ok, but the room was weird. Along half of one wall were orange-glassed windows, which I'm guessing were to let some light in as there are no outside windows. There was a curtain which could be pulled across but didn't reach over the door, so light came in the whole night. There were two lamps but no powerpoints in the room, so therefore they didn't work and we couldn't plug in any cameras, etc to recharge after 4 days on the inca trail. The shower was so scary I wore my flip-flops and the water was only just luke warm. We stayed here as part of an SAS package, and it was such a shame as Hotel Marqueses in Cusco is so beautiful, so it's just such a shock in standards. Thankfully I had read reviews on tripadvisor so I was prepared, but things like no powerpoints but two lamps just makes no sense. PLEASE renovate this place, SAS!

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a good room, so good luck with that!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveafrica27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First everything was ok. Then they asked me to pay 18 % extra because I was there with student visa. The man in the front desk sed that, yes you are just studying here you are not allowed to travel. Worst customer service ever! We didn't stayed in that hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank LauraEmilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour we had booked with SAS travel and therefore had no input into the decision to stay here.

The place is an absolute dive, SAS are obviously neglecting to pay for a better hostel so they can keep more of the money for themselves. We had camped the 1st night of our tour and we were obviously keen to get into the hostel and have a nice shower, however when we arrived (about 5.30pm) we were told there was an hour wait for towels! After a few days walking in the mountains this was not what we wanted to hear - they were obviously expecting us yet they had not managed to provide any towels - because we didnt get towels for a good 90 minutes after arriving we missed out on going to the hot springs in AC (heard they are disappointing anyway).

The room was dirty with empty plastic bottles in plant pots (?), no outside windows just windows into the brightly lit corridor at night (which you couldn't cover so you had light beaming in when you tried to sleep), sheets felt dirty and the room just needed a deep clean.
Also after camping we thought the food would improve now the 'cooks' had access to a fully functioning kitchen - NOPE! Just more of the same except its now in buffet form.

In summary - if you have a choice - don't stay here it's horrid.
If your booking a tour with SAS...maybe just ask where you will be staying in AC beforehand.

Travelled May-2012, with friends

Room Tip: Choose a room with another hostel/hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunny_D673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I would first like to say, the guy who was running the place, I didn't catch his name, was fantastic, spoke English very well and was a pleasure to deal with.

That being said- the place reminded us of the place in Bankok that they woke up in in the Hangover 2. It had spider webs in the windows, the shower was cold, the shower drain didn't work, the included breakfast was a roll. The rug in the room was stained in multiple places, you could hear every word spoken on the streets and we were up all night.

I had such an amazing experience with SAS, we went on the 4 day 4 night Inca trail and spent the 4th night here... For an extra $36 a person I wish I would have spent a bit more and booked the 4th night in a nice hotel. Especially since after spending 3 nights in a tent we needed a nice shower & clean bed. Disappointed in this place for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsGnBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed there since SAS travel put us there the night before Machu Piccu. SAS Travel is the most expensive Inca Trail agency in Cuzco, If you are the most expensive one, you should be the best. Yo don't put people in this [--] hole...

Thin walls
No windows
Water barely running
Dirty floor
Crappy food
Dirty plates

No pros what so ever...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank varoojan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed a night here at then end of our Inca trail hike. The rooms had no outside windows and the curtain for the window which looked into the hall didn't close all the way, so when the group left for their excursion at 5.30 we had light shining in our room.
They didn't have any extra pillows.
The bathroom needed updating.
The breakfast was mediocre but the lunch and dinners were fine. Water and soft drinks were very expensive.
The headboard for the single bed had a thick layer of dust on it.
I'm sure you could find better places to stay other than here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnglishTwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.0 mi away
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita ...
#4 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#2 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Veronica
Hospedaje Veronica
#25 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
#18 of 39 in Machu Picchu
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#7 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel viajeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel viajeros

Address: Calle sinchi roca n4, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel viajeros 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hostel viajeros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing