We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right choice for Machu Picchu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

There a tons of Hostels and Hotels in Aguas Caliente. Most of them are rather on the lower side, as people just want to stay overnight to go to MP. But if you want a comfortable stay without the party noise. This hotel is your choice. A bit more expensive, but breakfast and wifi are included.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 848 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

Not sure how many options there were Aguas Calientes but this one we found disappointing. We had the room at the top of the stairs one level up from the lobby which was noisy. Asked if we could relocate however the hotel was apparently full. The room was ok but the bathroom was poor. The breakfast was very limited and the hot food such as the scrambled eggs were cold. Wi fi could only be used in the lobby, so the sales pitch didn't match the reality.
All the hotels are close to the restaurants and the railway station so no real bonus there. Worth looking at other options

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Friendly staff, very helpful, Spanish and English speaking. Clean rooms with en suits and comfortable beds, nicely situated near restaurants, and hot water springs. In walking distance of the train station and buses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmoon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The options in Aguas are limited. That is understandable. However, it does not excuse the fact that I paid $149 per night for a shabby room that had a very serious mold problem. It was so bad that the first scent you have when you walk in the room is that of mold. It's no wonder because there is no ventilation whatsoever in the room (design defect). So I recommend that you either go up, i.e. stay at the high-end hotels where you'll pay over $200 per night (e.g. Inkaterra). Or go down, i.e. stay at lower end hotels where you'll pay $50 per night. Because if you stay here, you will feel ripped off, paying $150 per night for a room that should only cost $50. With that said, the staff was friendly and helpful. But this issue isn't their fault. Clearly the owners don't care about the basic condition of the property because they know they can scam folks to overpay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank ollieMDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

very romantic and good positioned.the service is excellent and the rooms generous and comfortable! a place to return!easy access from the train station but at the same time in a quiet area. the view is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here as a group of 24 during a 2 week journey around sacred valley and lake Titikaka. The staff were very friendly and very very helpful. The hotel itself is located at the top end of the town with a quiet garden space in front of it and is an oasis of calm which is great when you are busy exploring ancient and sacred sites all day, or shopping in the markets. We had our evening meal in the hotel one night and the food and service were excellent.

Looking forward to returning with another group of people in a few months.

Very much recommended as are all the Taypikala hotels.

See you all soon,

Many thanks and much love

Joe

Room Tip: All rooms face towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here for a night as part of a G Adventures tour.

We got room 205 and my sister and her friend got 103. Both rooms are extremely well-lit with so many lights it was unbelievable. Overlooking the front entrance, both rooms have in-room safe, electric heater, floor fan and fridge. Simple bathroom amenities and hair dryer. Our room actually didn't contain a hair dryer; it had the stand but missing the actual hair dryer. Bathroom was small and tight compared to the spacious room.

Hotel is located at the end of the street up the hill.

Free wifi. Breakfast was served off the lobby area and was the only hotel we stayed at on tour that had hot eggs in the form of omelettes (besides the hard boiled and runny scrambled eggs).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Address: Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $89 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing