We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at the top of the hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice view of the mountain from the room. You have to walk about 6-7 blocks up the hill from the train station. They can pick you up at the station and you just walk along. Aguascalientes Is the nearest town to Machu Picchu so you have to book a hotel before going to Half hr ride by bus to Machu Picchu.

Breakfast is included in the rate. Nothing out of ordinary, plain simple. I had to wash some jeans but they don't have laundry on site so they send it somewhere... When I got back the jeans looked very dirty. Is better if you wash yourself if in real need to do so.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 827 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We only slept for one night, but everything was perfect. We were welcomed on the train station on our way from Ollantaytambo and escorted to the hotel by a nice guy who gave us all the information about the city, including info about the buses to Machu Picchu. We had a nice HUGE suite - nothing too fancy, but great double jacuzzi, big comfortable bed and a nice view of the city and the river just out of our window. The breakfast was good and so was the service. The hotel has no lift, but with only 3 floors I guess this should be fine for most people. Before returning to Cusco the hotel sent a guy to bring us our luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Of all the places we stayed while in Peru for 10 days this was the weakest - but given the limited options in town and the price tag on some of the higher end ones, this was just fine. They also met us at the train to take our bags so we could go right to Machu Picchu.

And the views!! I am sure most hotels have awesome views in Aguas Calientes but this one is at the upper end of the road, so a little higher. Every AM I was thrilled to look out the giant window in my room to what lay beyond. Magical!

Not the cleanest room with the most updated bathroom - but it was large with 2 beds and had some English language TV channels which was nice while falling asleep. Breakfast was decent and my only complaint was it was one of the last hotels up the (steep) walk from the train station which was a little hard - but hey, it's the Andes.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river so you get the view of the town, mountains and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a great hotel in Aguas Calientes. This wasn't my first choice initially but I'm glad we ended up here. It's much cheaper than the two higher end properties there. It is about a 5 minute walk uphill from the train station. The hotel actually had someone meet us at the train station and helped with our bags which was a nice touch. Note there is no elevator in the hotel so you'll have to use the stairs. Of course if you are going to Machu Picchu and complaining about stairs you probably shouldn't go in the first place.

Room Tip: Ask for room 401.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here after our visit to Machu Picchu and climbing mtn. Mach Picchu. What a lovely surprise to walk into the room and see a huge bathtub! Our room was very spacious, with a refrigerator,sofa and a few chairs. The bathroom was very well equipped and even had a hair dryer :-) it was a nice quiet location and enjoyed strolling down restaurant ave. after a good rest. We liked Aqua Caliente and the lovely restaurants all with candle light and beautiful Peruvian table clothes.
I think my only complaint was it was the only hotel we could not fill up our water bottles and could only purchase water.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pepnjakgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel in Aguas Calientes is a good choice. It is well located and the rooms are big and nice. The bathroom is well equipped and very clean. Breakfast is early and good. The hotel organized a guide for us for MachuPicchu and we liked him very much. Everything was on time and the hotel sent our luggage to the station so that we didn´t have to go back to the hotel to pick it up.We liked the hotel and its staff very much.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were very good and they were on the second floor. As the hotel hasn´t got lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaCristina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in Aguas Calientes at a good price. Rooms include breakfast. The only thing that I did not know was that most of the city is a no vehicle zone and the hotel is several blocks from the train station - Uphill. The staff was very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Address: Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $97 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing