We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely room away from noise. Wonderful food and awesome staff. I took a group here and we all loved the experience. I thought it was one of the nicer places we saw and still close to restaurants,shopping and bus to Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 823 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the Taypikala Hotel and only have wonderful things to say about it. Great rooms. Great food. Great staff. Perfect location for the market, catching the bus to Machu Picchu, going to the hot springs and enjoying Aguas Calientes + having a good rest before climbing Wayna Picchu... Cannot recommend this wonderful hotel enough. Perfect! Michelle Karén

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libellule1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here one night during our visit to Machu Picchu. We arrived at the train station and began our journey to the hotel. The first time you walk to it, it feels like it’s very far away from everything. However, after spending some time in Aguas Calientes, you realize that the town isn’t that big and the hotel is actually very close to anything you might need. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the hot springs, a 5 minute walk to the Machu Picchu bus stop and train stations and it is at the top of the street with lots of different kinds of restaurants to choose from.

Our two favorite parts of this hotel were the heater (our first hotel that had one) and the mini-fridge. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was okay and comparable to most breakfasts we encountered in Peru. It began at 5am so guests could eat and then try to get the first bus to Machu Picchu at 5:30. Check out was at 10am and they held our luggage for us for the day while we visited Machu Picchu before our train left in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

They picked Us up from the train station, the staff is amazing! they are all so helpful, they helped us with bus schedules, places to visit and restaurants recomendations and everything what have to do for your next day trip to Machu Pichu, the hotel is perfectly designed and location can't be better! definitively the best choise in Aguas Calientes!

Room Tip: View from rooms are amazing! you can see the cloud coming down from the sky.. magical!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

There are positives and negatives which equal each other in my view here. On the positives they offer good service, not brilliant but good. Comfortable location at the end of main pedestrian street and relative proximity to both bus and train stations. Free tea and fruits in the lobby.

On the negaives price is as high as everywhere in Aguas Calientes. Building is quite old and rooms a bit shabby. Had constant noise of running water. Weak wifi. No probs but when you pay 180eur per night or so... In my opinion this level just doesn't justify such a price, we didn't have any major problems there...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went with Gate 1 Tours and after a day at Machu Picchu. This hotel was welcome sight.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable, awesome view from our window.
The hotel is located at a central location and a short walk to the Market places and
Railroad station.
If you don't like climbing steps, you might want to pass this property by, as there's no
elevator. The Internet did not work in our room, only the lobby.

Room Tip: Go with Gate 1 Tours, Let them pick the hotels.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently enjoyed my stay at this hotel while I was a participant in a Sedona Spiritual Adventures sacred tour of Peru... clean, comfortable, good food, lots of nearby shopping and the outstanding art of Pablo Seminario gracing the walls!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank goddesscatherineswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,059 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Address: Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $98 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing