We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel was rated 4 stars on Booking.com”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This Hotel was rated 4 stars on Booking.com”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Hotel was rated 4 stars on Booking.com
Don't get fooled. This place doesn't even deserve 2 stars.
We reserved a superior suite with hottub.

Suites are only at the 4th floor without elevator !
After a day trekking, the last thing you want to do
is going up and down the stairs for 4 Floors.

Now we start with the crunchy details :

The towels in our bathroom was dirty.
But not dirty like a simple stain.
A rat or a cat or pet had pissed on theses.
Absolutely disgusting.

The toilet didn't flush.
You have to open it up to flush it !

The bathroom mirror dirty.

Minibar... which minibar ?
Just a small fridge empty.

Finally we had plenty company in the room, between mosquitos, and other insects.
There's no air conditioning in the suites, so if you open the windows at night,
with the lights on, the room will be invaded !

Last but not least... you book the hotel in USD via booking.com
they charge you in the local currency, the peruvian soles.

That wouldn't be a problem if they would exchange rate you will find everywhere.
Theses crooks will charge you over 10% extra applying their own rates !!!
My advice : choose another place !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RicFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    277
    126
    34
    18
See reviews for
166
337
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancovuer
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The view is great as the hotel is on top of the town. Be prepared to hike up but it's worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank get0uttat0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed two places in Aguas Calientes. This was one of them. This was definitely better than Inti Pata. This places was solid. Good breakfast and hot showers but it wasn't a high end, luxury hotel.

Anybody who is planning on doing a tour to Machu Picchu from Cusco should NOT use Andean Life (owner William Amaru). William/Andean Life charged my friends and I an extra $60 USD ($20 USD each) to get a better train back from Machu Picchu to Cusco but didn't give us a ticket for the time we paid for and didn't give us a refund. He e-mailed after saying he'd Western Union us a refund but never did, either. He lied about a train strike but the trains were still running and all train officials said there were no strikes. William/Andean Life also took other opportunities to try to get more money from us, too. I strongly suggest NOT USING Andean Life or working with William.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icetray07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

It is true that this hotel is a little off the path and up a hill but once you are at the hotel it is well worth the time and effort. I have stayed 2 years in a row at this hotel and would stay there again. It is away from the crowds, very quiet and located just a few steps from the Springs. The atmosphere of the hotel is very artistic, original paintings from Seminario Pottery decorate the lobby. The rooms are large and comfortable..Something you do need to remember is you are traveling to Peru and staying in a Mountain Village ( at times electricity does not work, wifi may not be working and at times the water is shut off for a few hours a day) This will happen no matter where you are staying in the village. Traveling to Peru is an experience, a wonderful experience. Go with the flow, enjoy your time. You truly will not be disappointed in staying at this hotel... If your lucky, you may get a chance encounter with Jorge Luis Delgado, author of " Andean Awakening". He frequents the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We decided to splurge on this hotel and it was a big mistake. We got to the train station in Aguas Calientes and all the other luxury hotels had guides waiting to pick up their guests except Taypikala. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill and was difficult to walk to while carrying your luggage or suffering from altitude sickness.

Once there, the reception was not helpful at all when we asked for recommendations for things to do or locations of certain restaurants. Wifi was also only available in the lobby and not in any of the rooms. (However they were installing routers on the other floors while we were there).

The doors in the rooms didn't lock unless you really forced them shut. Someone tried to enter our room while we were there!! The safe in the room also didn't work...

We ate in the lobby restaurant because the menu looked okay. We ordered some juice and it was served with a dirty straw that had lipstick marks on it! When we showed the waiter, he replaced the straw but not the drink.

When showering, the water was shut off mid shower with no notice. And did not turn back on for a while. We called the reception and all they tell us was 'to wait.'

And finally when we checked out they ripped us off on the conversion rate and overcharged us by $20 on top of the already high price we were quoted through trip advisor.

This hotel has the facade of being luxurious but that's about it. I would not waste my money here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel are noisy at night with barking dogs outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were dismayed by how dirty this hotel was. Smudge marks on the doors, dirt stains in the bathrooms, poor construction, and faulty maintenance. Small things showed a lack of quality control. Missing light bulbs; missing switch plates on electrical outlets; a general shabbiness all around. The place badly needs a good once over. Other reviews said desk staff spoke good English. My pigeon Spanish had to suffice when questions in English were met with blank stares. This is a small city full of hotels. Look around. You can do much much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

After reading the reviews I was afraid of how the hotel was going to be, specially that we
were going to stay for a few nights here during the end of June.
The hotel was fine and the room was nice and big.
It is true that you have to go up to get there but then you are further from the crowds and that is what you want if you come all the way to Aguas Calientes.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and yes there was no elevator but that is
probably the only thing that the hotel lacks.
I've stayed in 4 and 5 stars hotels around the world and this is not but for Aguas Calientes
standards and price it was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Property: Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Address: Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing