We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if possible - noisy, lots of bugs, dark & dingy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Inka Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inka Town Hotel
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible - noisy, lots of bugs, dark & dingy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Ended up at this hotel due to late booking with a travel agent - fortunately was just for one night.

My room was small and dark. Upon arrival, I had asked about the noise in my room. Receptionist claimed the trains ran only until 9pm but we quickly realized that the train noise wasn't the issue, it was the discotheque next door that was the problem. I woke up at 4:30am to catch the first bus up to Machu Picchu and we could still hear the noise. They obviously realize the noise problem as they provide earplugs. I happily used them to make sure I was well rested for Machu Picchu.

I wish I had asked my travel agent for another option but since we booked so late, I just didn't want to mess around with the itinerary. Would avoid if booking on my own or if there was some other options to choose from. Having said that, service was fine and overall friendly. Breakfast wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiNyLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    49
    17
    4
See reviews for
21
52
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were staying at Inka Town hotel just for one night, since we would go to Machu Picchu the next day. The receptionist at the lobby was friendly and spoke pretty good English. Our room was on the 4th floor, so we had a pretty fun walk up the stairs because there were no elevators. The room was a decent size and was actually very clean. The biggest problem was that the room was right next to the train station that transports you to Machu Picchu. The trains are always going in and out, so there is absolutely no peace and quiet even for a second. The worst part is that the conductors don’t even bother to turn the engine off after it pulls into the station. That is obviously not the hotel's fault but the location is just horrible. Be careful about leaving your windows open because there are many mosquitos in the town. After turning on the light in the bathroom, I saw at least 10 mosquitos flying around. There are better hotels in Aguas Calientas, so avoid if you can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdon1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a great place to stay for our trip to Machu Picchu. It was very close to the train station but it wasn't as noisy as others seemed to have commented. It was decorated nice when we arrived, kind of reminded of a cruise ship. The showers seemed to be renovated and it was very sheik and modern. The rooms were very small but it wasn't unbearable. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a cheap stay that is pretty decent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziepi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stood there 2 nights. My wife (34) and I (39) were traveling with our 19 months old daughter on the Cusco region on december 2011 and we had only 3 small backpacks when arrived to aguas calientes. We were assigned to this hotel by Camino del Sol travel agency on Peru in advance and thus far all hotels given to us were very acceptable either in Cusco (los portales) or Urubamba (Villa Urubamba).
The room was on the 4th floor but tehre was no elevator and it just barely fit a queen bed and only 1 night light table.
The only small closet was in a dark area behind the bed area facing a translucent glass window that could be seen from the stairs outside of the bedroom and a column impeded the movement from that side of the bed to the front of the bed. i.e. No way to move inside the room.
The hotel was excactly behind the train station, at a 2 blocks (5 minutes) walking distance from the main market heading away from downtown = It was very noisy, from 5 am to pass mid night. it had a horrible view of the surrounding buildings yet under construction.
Besides of being really noisy when we walked after 9 pm both nights we felt kind of unsafe because this was an obscure area after dust, you had to cross the street market after it was closed if coming from the downtown area from diner.
Yet the bathroom was new, very clean, and the strength of the shower was nice. The hot water was not a problem neither. The people was very nice, friendly and helpful.
Overall i say this is a no no hotel. I would have rather gone to a hostel full of 20 year old backpackers than to this one. and the fares seem as expensive as other hotels that are nicer or in better areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fernando l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Rooms small. Situated right next to the train station: very loud (first train before 5 a.m., last around 9 p.m.), many rooms only with glas bricks or no window at all except clear windows to the corridor (dark and no way to get fresh air into the room). You can hear everything happening in the next room or above You. Baths clean with hot water. Personel at the reception not competent (gave out room keys of rooms that where already occupied (with luggage inside) to our whole group several times and was not able to solve the problem). I advise not to leave Your keys at the reception.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wullpulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed at the Inka town for two nights in mid May and while this hotel is nothing to do a cartwheel about it serves the purpose for a night or two.
The room was very clean and very small, there was pleanty of hot water the staff was friendly and less than a 5 minute walk from anywhere in town you might need to go, main plaza, shuttle bus and yes it is right next to the train station so if you need or want to be asleep before 9:00 PM forrget it and some rooms do have there windows in the hall, I'm not sure that will help the noise. Basicly it serves the purpose of getting a shower and some sleep after a day or two at Machu Piccu. There might be better or quiter hotels for the price in the area but since I didn't look into any of them it's hard to say. Bottom line if your in the 2 star price range it's worth keeping Inka Town on the list.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

I was booked the Inka Town by an agent in Cusco & did not know which hotel it was until given the voucher. Greeted at train station and shown to hotel. Reception staff welcoming and shown to room on 4th floor with large double aspect windows over train station and town, though I passed many other rooms that had windows only on to the corridor and whcih looked pretty horrible. I actually quite liked the view over the station - the trains stop at about 10pm. Good but short sleep as woke at 3.45am to get to bus station by 4am to try and be on first bus to MP, and there were no lights on in the corridors and had to use torch to find my way downstairs & to wake up the night porter to let me out. Overall, just about ok for one short night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.1 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santuario Hotel
Santuario Hotel
#13 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inka Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inka Town Hotel

Property: Inka Town Hotel
Address: Calle Winaywayna C-12 | Urb Las Orquideas, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Hotel Class:3 star — Inka Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Inka Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing