We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Quality for area but definitely not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK Quality for area but definitely not 4 star”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Toilet seat was broken and they could not fix it. Staff very nice. They advertise as four star. Definitely not four star, either two or three, for this town probably three. They give a box lunch which is a great idea but food not too high quality.

Room Tip: the bigger the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    268
    97
    25
    36
See reviews for
150
307
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The folks there were extremely nice, very hard working and honest. I didn't spend much time in the hotel, but I really felt comfortable when I was there. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and the lobby was inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyhoundsAreFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hostel is located a bit further from the bus and train stations than others, which is perfect because you hear the soothing sounds of the river instead of the noise of the transit systems. We stayed here one night before an early morning start to Machu Picchu. Luckily, breakfast starts at 4:30am because of the many people leaving early. It was delicious - granola, eggs, jam/cheese, coffee, tea, juice - THE WORKS! For a small fee (12 to 18 soles), you can also order a sack lunch of a sandwich and chips to take with you to Machu Picchu. It's worth it - The food outside the ruins is extremely expensive. You can also book a private or group tour to the ruins, both of which were affordable. Our group guide Richard was proud of the rich Peruvian history and gave us so much information.

The rooms were comfortable, and the down comforters were thick enough for the chilly nights in September. I would definitely recommend this place. The staff was extremely knowledgeable, warm and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JColbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pros: Beautiful, open air lobby, nice room, hot showers, seconds at breakfast, train station escort to hotel, luggage storage, use of lobby later in day.

Cons: We booked with a $10 discount, but apparently they didn't record that. They honored it, but it took a few minutes to get management authority.

Location: By the river (nice white noise for sleeping), walking distance to train station and buses to Machu Picchu. Close to hot springs.

We arrived late in Aguas Caliente and Edison was waiting to pick up our baggage and walk us to the hotel. We had a very nice room overlooking the river. Plenty of hot water (I've heard this is not always the case with the other hotels in the area) and a good breakfast in the morning. They gave me "seconds." We had a couple of hours after our Machu Picchu day trip before taking the train and were allowed to relax in the lobby and drink the complimentary coffee, tea, etc. as well as use the lobby computer. Edison came to pick us up from the train station and walked us to the hotel, carrying our bags (we had carry-on). River noise is nice, but our room was right over the lobby. As with most hotels, I used ear plugs for sleeping.

Room Tip: Try to get on the highest floor. I liked the river side. Lobby is really nice since part of it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrantonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quillota, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The receptionists here were very nice and helpful when we arrived. The room itself was nice, though the whole time we were there there was a damp smell probably because we were in the jungle. The breakfast was ok. Overall a very average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I book this place base on TA members reviews , I made reservation at 3/23/2013 and exchange email with Manger Carlos Mendoza at 4/12/13 to confirmed my reservation for AUG 3 2013.
The day of my arrival and the front desk told me that the room all sold out and there is no room available for us, after 3 times request for speak to the manger who's in charge, and they just ignore our request and on the phone with a person told them to send us to their favor associated chain B&B or hostel which we check TA rating is at bottom of the list, and they ask us pay $100 US Dollar direct to them and sent us to a hostel base on TA members review for only cost 41 soles! We request to book equal level of B&B, they said nothing they can do, than they just totally ignore us, one person went to have her dinner, and the front desk lady just keeping doing her book keeping, the 3red worker who speak pretty good English try to help us and still didn't get us a better place to stay, during August hIgh season most of the room all sold out, there is no place we can find to stay with the same level of the TA rating and we ask them to pay the difference to secure a hotel we found by ourself and they refused! At this point we give up dealing with them and we go out to book the more expensive available hotel and came back to tell them we want our "check-in" signed paper back,which has our passport number, DOB, address all important info, well, there just disappeared no where to be found as they said. Now this is more disturbing than before, I will AVOID this place and find more decent place to stay.

Room Tip: They use the excuse said if you book the room from booking.com, they have the right to send you to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annmmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Reading through the various horror story reviews of hotels in Aguas Calientes, we chose Terrazas del Inca because it sounded the best of the reasonably priced hotels. My expectations were pretty low, but we found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, We hiked the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu so our trekking company dropped our bags at the hotel for us. Later, after we checked out, the hotel held our bags for the day when we went up again to Machu Picchu and they let us hang out in the comfortable lounge areas before our train. The front desk people always greeted us by name. They had good restaurant recommendations. Wifi service was dependable (so we could check back in with family after hiking). And there was plenty of hot water when we showered. So I'd recommend this B&B.

If you do pay with US dollars, make sure that they're in crisp, perfect condition --- or they won't be accepted. (Same with the bus up to Machu Picchu.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
999 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle Wiracocha M-18-4, Aguas Calientes 08681, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bank of the little river that runs through the village of Aguas Calientes, most of the rooms have a beautiful view over the river, and each room is very well equipped. There are outdoor terraces where you can read a book and drink a cup of coffee while enjoying the great view. Breakfast is served very early. At the moment you check in, you will receive lots of information about Machu Picchu and the surrounding area. There is herbal tea constantly available, which you will be able to enjoy free of charge throughout your stay. There is a small restaurant where you can order up food and drink. If you walk for 5 minutes up the hill, you will arrive at the entry gate of the hot springs. The train station and the bus stop is just a 5 minute walk down the hill. The Machu Picchu Archeological Complex is a 30 minute bus ride up from Aguas Calientes. If you choose to walk up to the ruins, it will take you about an hour and 40 minutes. There are nearby sites such as the Mandor Garden where you can commune with nature in all her glory. The Garden is a 40 minute walk. The beginning of the hiking trail up Mt. Putucusi is a 10 minute walk away. If you hike up that trail for an hour and reach the peak, you can look across at Machu Picchu. The people who work at Terrazas del Inca are very warm, friendly, and happy to be of service. For all these reasons, come visit Aguas Calientes, and enjoy a wonderful experience in Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazas Del Inca Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing