We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves its purpose !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Serves its purpose !”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

If u r like most of the travelers that go to Aguas Calientes to spend the night coz u r going up the Machu/Wayna/ Huchuy Picchu on the next morning: its perfect for u! U get a good, quiet sleep, totally necessary for THE big day. Nothing else matters ;) staff is friendly. Brekkies are horrible.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ekaterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    80
    30
    31
See reviews for
20
78
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed only one night (during the low season) but I really enjoyed this short stay there. The bedrooms are basics but quite comfortable and very clean (so as the bathrooms). Staff member are nice and gives you a lot of information, really appreciated. It's a little bit far from the train station but the city is so small that you maybe have to walk 5 / 10 minutes max to reach it. Good to know : the breakfast starts from 4.30 am ! Really appreciated if you want to see the Machu Picchu at the sunrise !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

quiet and welcoming standard breakfast delivered at 4am, so you can head early on the bus to Machu Picchu beds comfortable with clean rooms and more important clean toilets and showers. Great staging post for Machu Picchu

Room Tip: although a dorm bed my room was separate from the other rooms felt safe too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montyman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went here based on a recommendation from the Lonely Planet. I don’t usually stay in hostels but we got a private room with bathroom so thought we’d give it a go. The room was clean-ish but the bed spread was old and grotty. There was no hot water, at all, and the breakfast was not so good. From someone who doesn't usually do hostels, my recommendation would be to spend another $20 and stay somewhere semi-decent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aymenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

good option, but is shown better than real is, far from the bus station.
was very clean and the girls who work there were very helpful and friendly.
good breakfast and bathroom. No have Tv. The village is very small and it is understandable small hotel, but it was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed there one night before our Machu Picchu trip. The building is quite run down and the bed seemed to be in use for a long time. The breakfast was minimal and staff could be friendlier. You might feel that they have enough customers so they don't have to do much about it.
Everything very basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hi guys around the world ! i have travelled to many places and i want to express to all of you the TRUE of this Hostel. We got to Aguas Caliente on 19th of Sept. and went to Machu Picchu early in the morning. After the ruins, we were looking for Pirwa Hostel and finally got there. We booked in booking.com and the photos and the rooms were expectacular. We checked in (the price was higher than the price in booking.com) and went to our assigned room and i've never saw a room like that. THERE WASN'T CURTAINS IN THE ROOM, I CAN SEE ALL MY NEIGHBORS AND THE BULDINGS !!!! THE SMELL WAS HORRIBLE !. Of course after that we wanted to go as fast as we can. The staff (Rosa María) wasn't friendly and we felt the "BAD VIBES" when we enter to the Hostel after the ruins. Now booking.com is charging us the Hostel and i recently recive the mail who wrote Carla Colón to booking.com and she lied about EVERYTHING ! she wrote that we got to the Hostel at 10 AM and stay untill 6 PM and we only stay for 10 minutes inside the room deciding what could we do. We just want to express to all of you the quality of what your are booking........... I DO NOT RECOMMEND PIRWA HOSTEL !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I do not recommend any room.... find another one. is better to get there and find a hostel, there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltoUrbano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#5 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Property: Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Address: Av Pachacuteq 603, Aguas Calientes 08000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing