We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It works”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It works”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very average hostels, but it doesn't matter if your just sleeping here for a couple hours like we were. The staff is helpful and there are large storage lockers to keep your stuff while you visit machu pichu. If you're spending a longer time in Aguas Calientes you should check out SuperTramp. This hostel is located right by downtown near the restaurants and right by a convience store.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    75
    79
    30
    30
See reviews for
20
76
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good hostel with excellent location. Near restaurants and the bus stop to machu pichu. The room is a little bit small and there is no enough lockers. The staff is simpatic and help a lot with information.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the only place in Peru we very much disliked. Upon arrival to the hostel, we were directed to go across the street, and up a side street to the B and B. From other reviews, it looks like the hostel has better accommodations than the B and B. There are no exterior windows in the B and B. Our room had an interior window, facing the stair wall and only hallway. We were on the second floor and could hear every single person who was checking in at the front desk and every single person walking up the staircase. It was just so loud. No air circulation in the room. It smelled moldy and damp. The bathroom smelled like urine. We are from Florida and have a high tolerance for damp moldy smelling places, but this was bad. What was odd was our room had a flat screened TV in it! Seemed such an odd use of money for a place that was missing so many basic comforts. We made our reservations on Expedia. The photos shown were not the place we stayed at. We had friends that stayed at El Mistico which looked much better and was in the same price range.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianalovinglife30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Kln
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Upon arrival, staff told me to move to Pirwa B&B Machu Picchu just opposite road. Night-mare was started, next to the room there were three piece of big rectangle size large window facing guest corridor with a big orange curtain. No window to outside. Turn on the tap from sink and shower only warm water pour out there. There was no hanger(s) for hanging sweater or jacket. Only two wooden hangers which were installed on top of the three layors open wooden cabinet. It was not convenience for us. There was no ventilation system. No shampoo. Only two bath towels there. No chair in room. Two wall bedside wall lamps were fused. From the promotion picture shown that they will use duvet to cover on bed but they use blanket instead. It was finally change as we complaint of it. No heater in room. No complimentary bottle of water were provide. In the afternoon or early morning, you could hear people walking / talking outside the corridor from upper / lower level as bed was next to three layors big glass outside the corridor. It was quite disturbance for sleep for coming trip to Machu Picchu. In room wifi is weak. Normal breakfast, scramble eggs, tea / coffee, bread, cheapy fruit juice. (No fruit). Exclusive internet for computer in breakfast room is fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winfield T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went to the hostel and at first they could not find our booking.Had booked it through hostelbookers and pirwa sent a confirmation stating what it would cost us etc.After they found our booking the lady incharge-maribel, completely backtracked on what she had emailed us.She charged us extra and even though we did not have breakfast they charged us for it. As they realised we were not happy with what was going on,they put us up in the pirwa bed and breakfast. The receptionist stated that the b n b was better then the hostel. For the price we paid,the room was dirty..The beds were dirty.Also their wifi was not working.For the price we paid this hostel or b nb is definately not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksaash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was one of 5 hostels I stayed at while in Peru and by far the worst... This is a cheap bed for college kids and not much else. The rooms are freezing, there is barely warm water, the place was filthy and the breakfast was terrible. I wasn't expecting much for breakfast, but the quality here was exceptionally poor. If you are staying any longer than one night in this town you will regret this choice. The street outside is incredibly noisy at night and it will be hard to sleep even with ear plugs. I would highly suggest spending a little extra money in Aguas Calientes to stay at a nicer place. A lot of the hostels in this town are subpar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kemp34747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hostal was very nice and clean and the people there are friendly as can be, although you will not always be told the same story by each of the employees there. We asked if we could leave our stuff there until 1:00pm when our train was leaving, but this lady told us we had to leave the stuff at a hotel after we would check out at 9:00 am. Then another person told us it was perfectly alright to just leave it and come back for it. They have a kitchen there where you can actually cook your own food, which is a plus. In the morning they have a nice breakfast set out for you and you can order scrambled eggs if you wish. The rooms and bathrooms were very nice and clean and the water in the shower got nice and hot. Overall, it's a nice budget place to stay, right in the middle of Aguas Calientes. The massage place on the corner there is fabulous. You can get an hour's Inca massage for $25.00, definitely worth it.

Room Tip: They have rooms up to 5th floor with no elevator. So if you don't like stairs ask for a lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthV714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#5 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Property: Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Address: Av Pachacuteq 603, Aguas Calientes 08000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing