We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay”
Review of Andina Luxury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andina Luxury
Sooke, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a room on the railway track side. It sounds like the train is right in your room. Unfortunately the train idled in front of the hotel several times and you can hardly converse over the noise. Trains do run through the night as well.
The room was fine - except unfinished electrically.
Breakfast was very good. But eat early.

Room Tip: Change your room if you end up on the track side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KI6157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    110
    59
    19
    22
See reviews for
50
118
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Trip Advisor picture above is for a different hotel, and should be changed.
The room itself, overlooking a river and with a small balcony, was very nice. The river sound is loud, but is like white noise and not bothersome.
The town is very small, and this hotel is an easy walk to the train station, and the walk is not uphill. Some other hotels are on a steep incline going up the side of a mountain.
There is no WiFi in the rooms, but they do have 2 computers for guests that have fast internet connections. You have to figure out the Spanish keyboard---alt Q gets you @.
The breakfast buffet was small and not very good. It is opens and closes very early, like from 4:30 to 8:00 a.m. because people leave early to go to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Four of us booked a trip through Avanti Destinations to go from Cusco to Machu Picchu. Avanti also used Condor Travels so I'm not sure who booked this hotel for us.
The Positives:
1. location, location, location: within walking distance of the buses, trains and restaurants
2. beautiful views of the river
3. breakfast was okay
The Negatives"
1. the elevator is broken
2. they do not offer laundry service ( I threw up on the only pair of jeans I had with me)
3. the river is extremely loud, like sleeping next to Niagara Falls. (but we all agreed it was the best nights sleep of our entire trip)
4. there is no sauna, there is no gym (as advertised)
5. did not offer Coca tea throughout the day
6. no wash cloths
Management: Drop the word Luxury from the name and be truthful about your advertising.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vjv2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst doing a 2 day Macchu Picchu trip. The first thing to realise is Aguas Calientes is nothing but a tourist stop over town and as such it's not renowned for its luxury or quality. It has one main strip and a railway line and the river.
The Andina Luxury is at top end of the town and is right on the river one side and the railway line the other. You are hard pushed to find anywhere in this town without either. The hotel itself is nice enough, clean and well looked after but the railway can be noisy and if you get a room backing onto the river it's a constant noise all night. We slept well thought despite this.
All in all this is a reasonable choice and you'll be hard pushed to find anything here without its drawbacks.

Room Tip: A river view room will be better than one over the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel can be exellent or so-so, depending what room you are getting. The river side rooms are wonderful, Urubamba runs just under your small balcony. The only sound you can hear is that of the running river. However other side of the hotel looks at the railroad tracks and is noisy. The breakfast is served from 4:30am, it is convinient if you are heading to the first bus for Machupicchu.
There is one thing that is really bad in this hotel. They make copies of guest passports and than use other side of these copies for different purposes. We got directions to the restaurant written on the other side of a passport copy of an American tourist. I believe that this is unacceptable and can lead to identity theif. No need to print copies, it can be just saved in the computer.

Room Tip: Ask a river view room at booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not bad for the location and price was reasonable. Arrived late at night on the train, and were met by hotel representative. He took us part way and said to keep going along the sidewalk just a short distance to hotel. Had to cross train tracks (not a problem) as we were on wrong side of sidewalk. receptionest was quite helpful and showed us to our room on the top floor. Elevator not working so had to carry bags. She opened the door and there was a bat flying around in the room. Receptionist shut door and immediately said she would get us another room, and found one on a lower floor, Room was clean and neat, and we faced the water side. The noise was quite loud but like other's have said, it is more of a white noise and we had no trouble falling asleep and slept through the night. Received wake up call for bus ride to Machu Picchu nice and early as requested.

Breakfast was more then enough, and staff refilled food items as they were depleted.

Hotel is close to all attractions in Aguas Calienties and easy to reach train station. Had to check out before heading to Machu Picchu but staff will keep bags for you. Lock them up as one of our side pouches was unzipped but we did not leave anything valuable inside.

Returned to hotel in afternoon and my friend found the afternoon staff not quite as helpful as the desk person from the check-in. Was told it was a family run hotel, and could have been a bit more personable.

Wifi only available in lobby but there is plenty of room to sit and check internet. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the river side. Other side has trains coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyecat91A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Let's face it, you stay in Aguas Calientes for one reason: to visit Machu Picchu. There are many hotels that can give you a bed and some breakfast and store your bags. This is one of these hotels. We (a tour group) arrived around 1830 after taking the train from Ollantaytambo. We stepped off the train, turned right, and walked about 200 yards along the walkway to the hotel. Easy.

My room (309) was an end room and it faced the river. I had two double beds, a small table and chair by the windows facing the river, a flat screen tv and a clean bathroom with nice toiletries (including a small packet of bug repellent for MaPi).

The sound of the river was so loud, that when I entered the room, I thought a ventilation system was on high. Alas not, as another reviewer stated, the room gets a bit muggy and you can't really open a door/window because bugs will come in. No bugs were in my room, by the way. Plus, it was the first time in a week I did not use ear plugs.

I was first down to breakfast in the morning. They had a nice choice of items, even scrambled eggs (although they were lukewarm). My travel partners said that they did not replenish them once they were depleted though.

The hotel had a "safe room" where everyone could store their overnight bags (in lieu of shlepping them to MaPi). It was on an honor system as the room was never actually locked. My recommendation is to have a small lock you can affix to your bag if you can. I am sure it is safe but you never know.

The lobby served as a place to flop until it was time for the afternoon train. By 4 pm, there were many weary travelers on the couches and chairs just hanging around.

FYI - if you leave the hotel, cross the tracks and make a left, you will see a set of stairs that will lead you to the local crafts market. If you skip the stairs and keep walking down to the left, you will eventually get to the main drag.

Room Tip: Face the river if you can - not sure how noisy the tracks are at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScDGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andina Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andina Luxury

Property: Andina Luxury
Address: Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Andina Luxury Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing