We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and good location”
Review of Andina Luxury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andina Luxury
GABORONE
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Affordable and good location”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night after visiting Machu Picchu the day before. Although the village of Aguas Calientes has only shops, stalls and hotels, it does have a lovely setting in the valley surrounded by mountains and with a railway and a river running through its centre. The hotel is right next to the railway and there are not many trains and so the noise is not really a problem. The rooms are clean and large enough but we had a serious problem with the bathroom plumbing which needed attention. Also there are no power outlet points - all of the points have been blanked off!! The staff are very friendly and helpful but are not very conversant in English.The breakfast is wholesome and is available from an early hour. There is free Wifi in the Reception area only and adequate free bag storage for late check outs. The village is pleasant and worth a browse around. We spent a good 45 minutes talking with two Andean Indians, through a translator, from Chinchero who were selling their craft on the side of the street - fantastic guys.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with a river view if at all possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    110
    59
    19
    22
See reviews for
50
118
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were worried about this "town" and the hotels, all the reviews seem to say that you should not stay longer than a day in Aguas Calientes...actually, we really liked the place and we loved this hotel. The room was big, river view and we eve had a Jacuzzi hydromassage! The breakfast started at 4:45 which was perfect, they kept a couple of bags with our stuff that we did not want to bring to Machu Picchu. The receptionists were very nice and helpful. The river view is great and it's also fun to walk in the rail trails on the other side! We slept like babies and I think the river view is worth the 20$ that you have to pay compared to the railway view.
We loved the place and we would definitely come back here.
Furthermore, we liked Aguas Calientes too, it's nice and well cared, definitely too many restaurants but we had a great dinner one night in an anonymous restaurant, I can't recall the name.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SazziBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

For its price ($110) you would think that it is indeed a luxury hotel, but it was the wrong picture to start with. First of all, this hotel is located right by the railroad tracks. So if you were unlucky and got the room by the roadside, hello trains!!!! Fortunately for us, we were given a room by the riverside, also because I insisted due to the other reviews I read.I booked the hotel through reservas.net. Two weeks before arriving in Aguas Calientes I made a call to the hotel from Guatemala, to check if indeed we have a room with a king sized bed and if they have a crib service because we were traveling with a baby. The receptionist did not bother to check the reservation list and said we better call the Cuzco office. I did, but no one answered so I called the reception of the hotel again. She assured me that there are king sized beds so not to worry.

When we arrived we got a room with twin beds. Imagine how difficult that would be with a toddler with no crib available. The receptionist did not want to find a solution nor tried to change rooms or anything, she said that was what was reserved and she could not do anything about it. I told her I wanted to speak to the Cuzco office, but she denied to call them and explained me the same old thing she tried to explain three times.

In the room there was not even a complimentary bottle of water as what I have expected from the amount we were paying, but this predicament only turned for the worst when I asked my husband if he could fetch hot water for the baby's milk. The receptionist told him that they do not have hot water and if he wants hot water he should go to the neighboring hotel to ask. She was totally unhelpful and rude. When asked what is the name of the hotel manager, she said that she was the manager. When asked what is her name, she said she is not telling anybody.

We asked the Cuzco office to resolve this situation but unfortunately, nothing was done.

The breakfast was ok, but when the baby needed to be changed, the lobby bathroom was dirty with no changing tables.

This hotel is overpriced with bad service and it is really just an ordinary room, it would be a mistake to go here with children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maminixabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Great end to a 4 day Salkantay hike! :) We had a beautiful room overlooking the river. Pity the spa bath didn't work, rececptionist not very helpful in attending to the matter.

Great that they serve breakfast from 04:45 - enables early mornig excursions to Machu Picchu

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuneLeRenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Andina Luxury one night last week after going up to Machu Picchu. It is clean, fairly modern, and the staff are friendly and lovely. It is a short walk to the train station and restaurants. The only issue I had was that in the room I was in, a triplex, the windows opened right out to the deck that connected to the hotel elevator and general hallways,. In other words, anyone could get in my room at any time. I asked the front desk if I could lock the window, but then they replied that it was completely secure and they use the window as back up just in case a guest locks themselves out of the room. Well I guess that renders the locks on the doors useless. Breakfast was very early, 4:30 to maybe 8 or 9am, and check out time was at 11:00. We had to check out on time and hung out in the lobby for most of the time, taking advantage of their wifi -- and it was all good. The staff are just lovely and solicitious. I would probalby want to try a different hotel next time (if there is one) just for the heck of it, but Andina Luxury suited our purposes fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celiawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This hotel is very affordable, pretty and just across from the train station. The rooms are large, with a big bathroom with a tub/shower. We had the basic room and it also had a balcony and a sitting room, all at $100/night. HOWEVER, you must get a room on the river side. The hotel is just off of a set of tracks and Peru rail runs trains on it until about 1 am. It will sound like you're on the tracks if you get a room on the town/non-river side. The staff was wonderful, courteous, helpful and fluent in English. If you can get a river view room, this is a wonderful hotel. If not, then plan on getting a woken up by a train every few hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kravmaguffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel was a little pricier than other hotels we stayed in during our visit to Peru. The hotel sits on the river.

The staff was friendly and respectful. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms were clean with running hot water. The room had a small balcony looking over the river. There is WiFi. Having a room near the river was a little loud. The windows and door didn't block out the sound of the river as much as we would have liked. There is no restaraunt. Breakfast was served in the morning (eggs, pancakes, fruit, coffee, tea and milk). The hotel is a short distance from the bus station to Machu Picchu.

We had a nice dinner at a restaraunt, recommended by our guide in Machu Picchu, called Inka Wasi. Delicious food with a wonderful atmosphere. Miguel and Angela were great hosts and hostess.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen_Lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andina Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andina Luxury

Property: Andina Luxury
Address: Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Andina Luxury Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing