We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise in Aguas Calientes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tree House

The Tree House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Peruvian, South American, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our team in The Tree House Restaurant works with passion to create what some of our guests tell us is their best dinning experience in South America.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A surprise in Aguas Calientes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Aguas Calientes is full of fast-food, shabby and make-shift places to eat along the main streets of the town. If you are looking for sonething different, here's the place to go. The tree house is located at the upper end of a quiet steep pedestrian walk off the noise and buzz of the tourist crowds.

Food, service and ambience are way above anything else we have seen in Aguas Calientes and come close to some of the real good restaurants we have enjoyed in Peru while prices are not far above what you'd pay elsewhere in town.

Try the causa with trout ceviche or the trout tiraditos with avocado for a start and the alpaca from the hot stone or the cuy confitado as main course!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CK One S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    270
    86
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Don't think twice…go to this place. highly recommended and its worth the value you pay. friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joselito V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent! We enjoyed the unique atmosphere of this quaint restaurant. It is tucked away from the main square but worth the climb- hence the name -The Tree House.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Off2Cthewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very friendly service; ok food; nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rupawasi so we ate here two nights. The warier was very friendly and professional and spoke good English. The food was good (not great) and a bit pricey. But in Aguas calientes , this is probably a good bet as it's off the beaten path, so not so loud and touristy as in the middle of town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a less touristy place to dine the night before we headed up to Macchu Picchu, and we stumbled upon this place on Trip Advisor. Half the fun was finding it, hidden away in the alleys, up high. The decor and ambiance was unbeatable, the food was divine, service was friendly. The food was all fresh and the portion sizes were proper for the prices. I loved everything about this place. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank katetownsend23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tree House also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to The Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing