We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd just as soon pass”
Review of Hostal Muyurina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Muyurina
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I spent and unscheduled night in this hostal on April 2, 1013. I'd just as soon have taken a pass. I say unscheduled because we had intended to walk the Inca Trail but could only do the first day of it. Instead, after a night back in Cusco, we were booked into this place for $60/night USD.

The first thing they did was walk us up to the 5th floor to what was presumably the best room in the place. When I told them I'd like to see another room, they took us down to the 2nd floor for a much smaller room but, as it turned out, the same price. I found it noisy because of some guy who kept hammering until well after dark, maybe the same guy mentioned by an earlier reviewer - it seems to be perpetually under construction. The food for breakfast was minimally acceptable and hardly filling. The internet was a joke and the signal never did stay strong enough to allow us to stay logged on.

The most irritating matter, though, was the front desk clerk, who hardly looked at us (maybe the owner's son?) and informed me that the "agency" that booked the room would pay the bill. So, we left, only to be run down hours later by a woman who I presume was the owner saying that the clerk was wrong and we still owned the $60. So, after some muttering, I pulled out three US $20s and got rid of her.

All in all, I was pretty unhappy with our stay - a very average but noisy room, uninterested staff, lousy wifi, and below average food. The good part was that it was just up the street from the Indio Feliz, an excellent restaurant that served ethnic Peruano food, well worth the price.

Room Tip: Just stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 69 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

After the service from the hosts in Cusco, this was our last stop, and what a contrast.
http://www.hotelmuyurina.com/
The host were not around most of the time, renovations were happening, the first room we were given we could not stay as it smelled like a sewage pipe had been broken. We got moved to another room above which was moderately better smelling wise.
Now to the hosts: I think they thought this place was their own house and guests were a major INCONVENIENCE. Breakfast 4 rotten bananas, and no effort showing breakfast was available. The foyer was used as the host kid kinder playground which started round 6.45am with him calling out to Grandma (abuela), whom I think was meant to be the hotel cook except she didn't realise that and used the kitchen as the family's kitchen.

One thing about this place ALL PAYING GUESTS WERE A MAJOR INCONVENIENCE. It was an absolute [--], and smelt like it too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewishamOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Let me start with, I did not choose to stay here. It was a case of "bait and switch" by Green Nature Hotel. I will file a complaint separately for their unfair practices.
So let me clarify that the Hotel Muyurina which I am referring to is one that is 2 doors away from El Indio Feliz and right next door to a disco. The pictures from other travelers is not the same place we are staying 1 night. I will post pictures when I get home as I am writing this review at present time in this hotel. I will state the facts and you decide.
Pros:
3-4 blocks to bus station for Machu Picchu
Close proximity to the Plaza, restaurants, stores...but then again that's mostly what this town has plenty of.
Wifi in the lobby and since our room was above the lobby we had signal

Cons:
Smell of sweat and body odor on the linens
Small 'rice size' black bugs and mosquitos in the room
Dirty, stained window coverings
Low toilet pressure (could be normal for A.Caliente) and yellow water, noticed b/c of clogged sink
Small mounted T.V. with no remote control
Thin walls, you can hear the telephone ringing in the reception and conversations
Next door to disco, we could here music playing
Construction supplies and equipment in plain view on 2nd floor
No banister or rail for staircase, unsafe if you have small children
Seems to be ran by a family with no experience in the Hospitality industry
No toiletries, only small soap
Across town from the train station, 10-15 min walk

Now, for my personal opinion. This place is fine if you haven't showered in a week and don't mind the feeling of bugs crawling on your skin. Otherwise look elsewhere, there are plenty of hotels. Unfortunately for us, it was late and although we asked 3 nearby hotels, we found no vacancies. We decided to sleep in our clothes and wake up early for our Machu Picchu hike.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have no idea who would give this place anything but 1 or 2 star reviews. I am traveling with a friend who likes to have reservations in advance....He panicked and insisted we book prior to arrival. What a mistake. This was by far the worst place we have stayed in almost 3 weeks in Peru. And it was $120 USD each of the two nights. I think they moved locations and are also under construction. The smell of raw sewage greeted you every time you walked out the front door. The biggest problem with this place is the dirt. They just don't clean. Hair on the floor, clogged bathroom drain, no wifi, lousy breakfast, just plain BAD! Most people only stay one night in Aguas...we stayed two....OUCH....just Nasty!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallartacomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Its not easy to find a quiet room in Aguas Calientes, but Muyurani is right by the river and the lovely waters drown out the street noise. I slept like a baby here. King size beds, hot water 24/7, and HEATERS in the rooms! All for a reasonable price, and close to everything. HIGHLY recommend this very nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helmsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Like many others, I think this one was one of the worst ones I stayed in whilst in Peru. I would have to agree with nearly everything already said. We were first given the first room on the first floor, with the lobby couches sitting right next to it. We immediately asked for another one and was put on the third floor. Still facing the lobby. On the third floor, we didn't have any problems with noise. It was very humid and very buggy. The window in the bathroom was taped on. I can't believe it stayed. And for some really weird reason there was a frosted window into the bathroom next door. So even though we couldn't actually see the people in the other bathroom, you could see movements. Not something I really liked. The shower had a very deep tub -- for good reason. It didn't drain; so if it hadn't been that deep, there would have been water all over the place.

On a positive note, the staff is VERY nice and accommodating. They let us use the internet on the computer for free. There is also free wifi, so if you have a laptop or smartphone, you can use it for free. The breakfast wasn't any different from anywhere else we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDFlyer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We liked it here. very helpful staff, clean, quiet, comfortable--- good location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0 mi away
Kantu Inn - Machu Picchu
Kantu Inn - Machu Picchu
#37 of 80 in Aguas Calientes
68 reviews
0 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,912 reviews
0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#10 of 85 in Aguas Calientes
119 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Muyurina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Muyurina

Address: Alameda Hermanos Ayar Mz 9 Lote 6, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is in the midst of the rainforests in the village Aguas Calientes, Located in the upper village, allowing you to enjoy a privileged view, lies in a strategic area and very safe, clean and close to the curative baths of Aguas Calientes.We blocks from the biggest traditional market that brings together all the artisans of the region.A minute is the train station to Cusco.The whereabouts of this Buses blocks to Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Muyurina Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing