We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful wood floors, great breakfast, clean rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santuario Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santuario Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Concord ma
Level Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful wood floors, great breakfast, clean rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel as our base of operations for our stay in Aguas C
alientes. We stayed two nights. The hotel premises are modern and clean. Almost felt like we should be in Thailand as opposed to Peru. The rooms are good sized, the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast included scrambled eggs cooked to order, cold meats and cheeses, various pastries, juices, cereal, etc. Very nice! The staff was very friendly. Their English adequate to very good. The location is quite good; some street noise from the buses running back-and-forth to Machu Picchu, and the walls and windows are high enough quality that the noise was not a bother. Compared to other hotels in Aguas Calientes, I would go back to this one in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMiller_Clarity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    96
    70
    23
    8
See reviews for
49
97
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had purchased a 2-Day/1-Night TRAIN tour of MP from Cusco (through Llamapath) and this is the hotel that they had booked for our one-night stay in AC. Family of 4 with two children (ages 16 and 11). Nice hotel, very clean & simple -a good place for a one night stay before going to MP the next morning. We had a beautiful view of the river and mountains from the balcony/window. Snacks & Bottled water can be purchased from a mini-store just up the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_vida_es_bela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel was part of a package trek for the night after we hiked the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. Good location far enough from all the touristy chaos of Aquas Calientas, but still only a few minute walk to everything. Rooms were basic - but clean, warm and with plenty of hot water for the shower. Breakfast was good and plentiful - overall perfect one-night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have nice balconies overlooking the river/mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Santuario Hotel is located in a great part of Aguascalientes. I was told by other travelers staying in the main part of town, that the noise kept them up most of the night. Santuario is quiet and a short walk from most of the restaurants and hotels in Aguascalientes. Get a front facing room with a balcony if you can. Watching and listening to the river roar by is quite relaxing, Otherwise, the beds are uncomfortable, there is no bottled water in the room, my room safe didn't work, and the wifi only worked in the lobby. However, for the price, I was satisfied with the hotel. It was clean, convenient, and the breakfast is served early enough to grab something and catch the first bus to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

After spending the previous three nights under canvas on the Inca Trail (two of which in the pouring rain) and enduring the basic sanitation of the trail campsites, the Santuario Hotel seemed like the promised land. Warm shower, comfortable bed, fantastic.

Looked at a little more objectively, the Santuario is fairly undistinguished but offers a decent level of comfort and is clean. The location next to the spectacular river is great and the hotel was built to make maximum use of the views (our room at the side of the hotel had a funny adjoining balcony giving river views). The staff at the front desk were unstintingly helpful and pleasant in dealing with our requirements. The decor is a little odd, with what seemed to be a religious theme, but didn't feel out of place.

The absence of a lift is a little odd, particularly given most customers will have been walking up and down hills all day before retiring to the hotel. Perhaps it wouldn't fit on the train.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night in May 2014. Had a room overlooking the river. It was magnificent but pretty loud, however that didn't bother us. The rooms were spacious and clean, provided shampoo and soap. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the bus that goes up to Macchu Piccchu. Breakfast is continental and starts pretty early. They have computers in the lobbi and wifi, however we didn't use it.

The bar seemed over priced so we went over to Toto's House which is a 5 min walk.

We stayed one night and checked out at 5 AM next morning to head up to Macchu Picchu. The nice thing was that they sent our backpacks with a porter to the train station so we didn't have to come back to get our stuff after we were done visiting Macchu Picchu. That was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoors_Couple_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The rooms were ok. I would recommend a room with a balcony overlooking the river. We were there during rainy season so the river flow was amazing. Some people complained about the noise from the river but I think it helped me sleep.

There is no elevator so if you have trouble on stairs book a lower room

The hotel is convenient to the train station and the Machu Picchu bus stop. Aguas Calientes is a small town so that could probably be said of anywhere you stay. If you ask the bus driver on the way back from Machu Picchu they will stop outside the hotel.

The hallway lights are movement activated. We were just off the hallway and my wife would have to flap her arms to keep the light on long enough for me to unlock the door to our room. I can understand the need to save energy but does it really cost that much money to keep the lights on for 15 seconds after I walk by?

The two for one happy hour is a scam. If you order two for one drinks you pay more per ounce of booze than if you order the regular drink. Our bartender admitted that when we asked.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony on the river side. Book a lower room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob2198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santuario Hotel

Property: Santuario Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar s/n. | Wiracocha, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santuario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Santuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santuario Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing