We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly budget hostel, lovely helpful staff”
Review of Hostal Varayoc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Varayoc
Ranked #22 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly budget hostel, lovely helpful staff”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

5 min walk from train station, hostal varayoc is a clean, basic budget hotel with friendly, helpful owners.
We can't speak barely any Spanish and the owner has limited english - but he gave us a full run down of the town via computer translation!
Rooms are basic yet clean and the ick up point for the bus is just across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunk_pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    65
    32
    6
    10
See reviews for
18
54
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here one night after our Salkantay trek and before going to MP.

It is workable. It is as a Hostal would be, use sleeping bag liners to sleep ont he bed. The staff is helpful and nice. They gave us an option of packed lunch (Fruit, crackers, water bottle, candies) or Breakfast. They hold your bags. The location is great, 2 minutes from the trail and the Bus station to MP. 5 Mins from the Train Station. Surrounded by Nice Restaurants and shopping.

We had to walk up to the 3rd floor, no elevators.

Definately would stay here again for a night for the location and the price.

Room Tip: Try and request a room on the lower floors. The view is better from the 3rd Floor but not worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Location was not bad but i had a room opposite the football field and this seems to be where all the local people hang out and drink at nights. Was bitten by bed bugs all night and kept up by all the noise from the stadium.The toilet was leaking water from the bottom and was rocking. Also if you are planning to go to Machu Pichu really early to go to the sun gate as i did you dont get breakfast and they charge you to hold your bags. Friends stayed at other places on the same night and there stay was much better than mine. I suggest you shop around before booking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pravin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Bloomington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This place was just right for us. The proprietors were friendly and eager to please. The room was spotless. The two twin beds were neat and had fresh clean linen. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. The lady in charge was up making breakfast for folks hiking to Machu Picchu at 4:30 a.m. It was a nice continental breakfast included in the reasonable rate. They happily stored large backpacks for guests during the day and allowed us to retrieve them after visiting the ruins. Not a fancy place or a place with special Peruvian character. Highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a safe, comfortable, clean place the night before or after their visit to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at Varayoc for a night before going to Machu Picchu. It is a perfectly functional hotel with good beds, hot water, wifi, cable TV and an early breakfast.

We booked a double room, but actually got a room with three single beds, which, while not ideal, was not the end of the world as it was only for one night. The shower was hot, but water dripped from the ceiling when you used the cold water (luckily it was over the shower!).

The wifi signal was very strong and you could use the internet as normal. The cable TV was a bonus, as Aguas Calientes is not a great town (very expensive and not much to do).

Breakfast was the standard South American bread and jam, but they give you fresh coffee with cream and freshly squeezed orange juice. The best thing about breakfast is that they serve it from 4.30 onwards.

I would definitely recommend Varayoc for anyone staying one night in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

finished trekking Salkantay Trail. Spent night before Machu Picchu. Clean, comfortable, minimum but fine. They had breakfast ready at 445am before our hike to MP. Held our bags until we got back before train that night. had road side room, but town closes up by 9pm. Would use again, no worries

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The bathroom clearly hadn't been cleaned since the previous occupant departed. The beds and sheets appeared clean, but the room was otherwise a little dirty. The noise level from the nearby plaza concerned us at first, but the it grew quieter in time to go to sleep.

The complimentary breakfast was served on-time when we came down a little after 4:00 a.m. It consisted of bread, jam and some pretty good coffee. The early breakfast was important to us because we planned to hike up to Machu Picchu instead of taking the bus. This worked out quite well, and the hostel was conveniently located just off the road you have to take to get to the trail. They stored our bags safely and for free until we returned after lunchtime.

Wireless Internet was not available, but there is a large cyber cafe on the first floor.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms with a view of the plaza. The plaza is noisy until about 9:00 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaredvork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.0 mi away
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
#11 of 39 in Machu Picchu
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita ...
#4 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Veronica
Hospedaje Veronica
#26 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
#10 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Ananta Machupicchu
#17 of 36 in Machu Picchu
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Colla Raymi
Hostal Colla Raymi
#22 of 36 in Machu Picchu
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Varayoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Varayoc

Property: Hostal Varayoc
Address: Imperio de los Incas s/n, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Inn Varayoc is a young company, located in the Machupicchu heart Town. Destined to offer good service and warm attention; so that thus your estadia is placentera and of total affability. Our rooms are comfortable and count on a beautiful panoramic Vista towards the seat of arms, and to mountains where Ciudadela hides beautiful Inca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Varayoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Varayoc Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing