We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Best "Budget" Hotel in Ikeja” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House J Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House J Hotel
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Lagos
Douala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best "Budget" Hotel in Ikeja”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very reasonable for Lagos and if you stay at the annex at number 11 it's very comfortable with a pool, reasonable food and good service.

Located in the Ikeja GRA it is close to the airport and the Ikeja industrial estate.

It is built around a courtyard with the pool in the centre.

There is a small gym and a good bar.

The grilled fish is usually extremely good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer annex at number 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

...and last weekend, Friday / Saturday when the need to stay the night before my flight to London in Lagos arose, House J was the place to be. I have always been in the front building, until the last weekend when I was booked into a room at the new complex at the back ! OMG...The management thus made a nasty mistake, as there is no way I am gonna settle for anything but the new complex anymore.

If you want to have the very best of HJ, asked for a room in the new complex at the back. Period. The only problem is that you have the bar at your beck and call to start with, and you will be more than tempted to go for a swim non- stop, all night long. The swimming pool is right in front of you...all services as perfect as ever...and of course, I ll be back. Meanwhile, thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Segun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent two days in House J during the recent book fair in Lagos. I was really impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Service was excellent , staff were friendly, food quality and variety was great and the design and décor of the room was the best I have seen in Nigeria. Most guests were European and I made some good new friends in the bar – which has a great ambience. I can recommend this hotel as an excellent alternative to the overpriced branded hotels in the near by area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeira1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself (white Irish female in 30s) & my partner (black Nigerian male in 40s) stayed at House J Suites twice on our recent trip to Lagos for a total of 4 nights. It was my first time in Nigeria & my partner was worried about security but the hotel was very safe & secure. We paid for the hotel pick up & an armed guard was in the car on both occasions. I had no problem sleeping in this hotel. The pillows are light & felt clean. I brought my own pillow cases & this was the only hotel I didn't feel the need to use them. The restaurant is beautiful. The food is very expensive (as with all hotels) but there is a restaurant across the road, KFC is near by & also a fixed price supermarket a 5 minute walk away which we only discovered on our last day (they sell scoops of icecream upstairs!). We were able to use the swimming pool at the sister hotel, Hotel J, across the road and the pool area was lovely with very nice furniture. Our first room was huge with the biggest bathroom I've ever seen and a jacuzzi bath, but this was just a tease as there was no bath plug so we couldn't use it. Our second room when we returned at the end of our trip wasn't to our liking but they changed us to a nicer room with no problem. There is a small seating area outside where we drank our beers at night & listened to music. We decided to go to the night club across the road on our last night & paid a ridiculous amount of money in only to discover it's a lap dancing club!! So be warned. We had asked many people in advance about the club & nobody mentioned this to us which is strange but we were able to laugh it off as a learning experience. I really love the grey colour scheme of this hotel, it's very classy. The rooms seem expensive but we walked around other hotels in the area to compare prices & all were a good bit more expensive so I would stay in House J Suites again. The hotel has aromatic oil diffusers in the corridors which is a nice touch. For anyone who hasn't been to Nigeria before, when they say that breakfast is included in the room rate they only mean for 1 person. I've travelled to many countries & this was my first time to encounter this but we stayed in other hotels across Nigeria & all only include 1 breakfast, 1 towel, etc. even if you're a couple. It would be useful to state this on the advertised prices so guests are aware of this to avoid any confusion. Breakfast was a choice of eggs or eggs! Seems to be a Nigerian thing too. The menu advertised a glass of wine which I ordered & was told they only sell by the bottle; again this appears to be a Nigerian thing but it would make sense to only have a bottle on the menu & delete the glass option. Electricity was always very quick to return in this hotel & staff were nice & friendly but not overpowering. Overall, a very pleasurable experience & we will definitely stay here again if in Lagos.

Room Tip: The second time we stayed here we didn't like the room & the recepionist was accommodating i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdcbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been at the House J a number of times, and the experience these past weekend got me mesmerised yet again. Where do I start from!

I still think House J remains some little kept secret...Its on / off a major road in the GRA area of Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria, but quite and effortlessly easy to locate. The security right from the gate is second to none, even though packing while inside can be challenging, and sometimes, you might need a rejuvenation of your driving skill and dexterity. But that's no big deal. The receptionists are highly professional and friendly, simply the type you do not usually come across, and easily in most of these sort of establishment easily. As a matter of fact, they go over the top to attend to you, and frankly speaking, you will be needing to do some microscopic search to find a fault. They are such a blessing to the organisation. A lodger has to be careful not to go over the top tipping them. You just have to appreciate them immensely.

I have always been a firm believer in the fact that anything good should not be "el-cheapo", but you do not have to break the bank to enjoy the facilities here. You start being welcomed into your room with a sprawling bed ladden with some mesmerising sight of white Egyptian bed covers / sheets. Every facility in the room works as expected. White the extractor was noisy, it wasn't much of a big deal in the least. The food wasn't that great but OK. Room services were prompt.

All in all, it's a place to be .

Room Tip: Ask for room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Segun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my second time to stay at House J in Ikeja, and I have to say that it seemed shabbier than what I remember a year ago. Location and security are good (as others mentioned), the complimentary breakfast is quite limited in choice, and internet seemed spotty (I could only access it in the restaurant). Nice pool at the rear and friendly staff. The dinner menu is also quite good. The road was under construction a year ago, and still is . . . so walking in the area is not very pleasant, although a trip to the nearby "Oh La La" is mandatory, for their great, homemade ice cream. For a solid "Nigerian" meal, check out "the Place", about a five minute walk. offering a broad range of very affordable dishes in a cafeteria style environment. Despite some negative comments, I likely will stay here again as it is preferable to the very over-priced alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rothar-gorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First time I slept here, the duvet felt like butter, I love any hotel that make me forget my own home for a minute. Very good decor in and outside the hotel. The food is great and service is wonderful. In a very good enviroment too

Room Tip: There is a particular room with the sexiest bathroom ever, it has a see thru wall glass if you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
#36 of 132 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#34 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
9.5 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#26 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leadway Hotel, Ikeja
Leadway Hotel, Ikeja
#6 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sojourner By Genesis
The Sojourner By Genesis
#19 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
2.9 mi away
Welcome Centre Hotels
Welcome Centre Hotels
#11 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House J Hotel

Property: House J Hotel
Address: 1 Sir Micheal Otedola Street, Lagos 100123, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House J is conveniently located on Joel Ogunnaike Street, opposite the iconic Lagos Country Club, just off Isaac John Street in Ikeja's dynamic business district, GRA. A mere 15 minutes drive to and from Murtala Mohammed International Airport makes it the perfect stay for the business and leisure traveller. No signage outside to indicate that it is a hotel adds to providing our guests with a secure and private environment and we provide secure parking space. Our establishment is guarded by heavily armed police officials and the premises are secured with CCTV cameras everywhere. Your comfort is our concern and be rest assured that our premises is powered by two generators, guaranteeing an uninterrupted power supply. This charming 40 bedroom boutique hotel is situated on two properties, walking distance from one another and our front desk welcomes guests 24 hours, 7 days a week. House 1, the original manor, features 18 en-suite bedrooms, a 24 hour restaurant and bar which can host 30 diners comfortably inside and approximately 10 diners in the lush garden, day or night. It is perfect for the corporate traveller who wants the option of a more tranquil environment. House 2 features 22 en-suite bedrooms, a 24 hour restaurant which can easily seat 30 diners, a pool bar along the swimming pool and a fitness centre. Free WiFi is available across our entire premises and we also provide a laundry service. We pride ourselves in knowing our regular guests by name, knowing what their favourites are and by providing personalised service so that you can make House J your home away from home. The mere fact that our regular guests request specific rooms as their favourites, testify to our slogan, 'House J Hotels & Resorts - Easy to locate, hard to leave'. Rooms: Our rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious. Each room features an Orthopaedic King Size bed for your comfort, a Flat Screen TV with select DSTV channels, an Office Desk and Chair, an Arm Chair and Coffee Table, a Mini Fridge, Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, One Complimentary Bottle of Water, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and a safe for your valuables. Kindly note that all of our rooms are non-smoking and smokers are most welcome to enjoy their cigarette along the poolside sitting area. Standard Rooms: Comfortably, tastefully furnished rooms, fitted with the necessary amenities. Deluxe Rooms: Comfortably, tastefully furnished rooms, fitted with the necessary amenities. A little bit bigger in size than the Standard Rooms. Executive Rooms: Comfortably, tastefully furnished rooms, fitted with the necessary amenities. These rooms offer more space than the Executive Rooms and offer a sitting area for two people. Business Suites: The business suite is spacious, fitted with a sitting area for two and a business desk and chair. Diplomatic Suite: This gorgeous room offers space, fitted with a comfortable sitting area, business desk and private dining area. The bathroom is fitted with a bath and a Spa Shower. RESTAURANT: Our food is most definitely something to write home about and our waiters provide service with a genuine smile! Wake up to a Buffet Breakfast served in the restaurant every morning, complimentary for one guest per room. A nominal fee is charged for breakfast for an additional guest per room. We offer choice from traditional Nigerian favourites to Continental options as well as healthy alternatives. Amongst our signature dishes are scrumptious Egusi Soup, Mixed Fish Pepper Soup, Continental Starters, Grilled Barracuda Fish Fillet, Steak or Chicken. The kitchen operates 24 hours and you can enjoy your meal in our restaurant, in the comfort of your room, by the poolside or in the pool bar. Both restaurants comfortably seat 30 diners and the poolside can accommodate 20 diners. Contact us to celebrate your special event at our restaurant or outside along the pool area. We can transform the outside area to accommodate 80 guests for cocktail parties, weather permitting of course and 30 people inside the air conditioned bar area. We are service oriented and our commitment to you ensures that we endeavour to make your special event memorable. POOL BAR: Come and unwind in our Pool Bar with your friends where we offer the finest champagne, a selection of wines, top shelf whisky and cognac, beers, others spirits and sexy cocktails. The inside of our pool bar is air conditioned and we can easily host 30 guests. Feel free to lounge along the pool if you want to enjoy the ambiance along the poolside. Our Bar Snack Menu offers African soups, plus Chicken Wings, Deep Fried Calamari and Prawn or Vegetables Spring Rolls. FITNESS CENTRE: Those who are serious about staying in shape can make use of our fitness centre which offers the following equipment: Cardiovascular Machines: • Treadmill • Air Walker • Spinning Bike Weight Training Equipment: • Training Bench • Free Weights • All Gym Resistance Trainer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your House J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House j Hotel Lagos
j Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing