We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“House J - Always the Place To Be?..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House J

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House J
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“House J - Always the Place To Be?..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been at the House J a number of times, and the experience these past weekend got me mesmerised yet again. Where do I start from!

I still think House J remains some little kept secret...Its on / off a major road in the GRA area of Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria, but quite and effortlessly easy to locate. The security right from the gate is second to none, even though packing while inside can be challenging, and sometimes, you might need a rejuvenation of your driving skill and dexterity. But that's no big deal. The receptionists are highly professional and friendly, simply the type you do not usually come across, and easily in most of these sort of establishment easily. As a matter of fact, they go over the top to attend to you, and frankly speaking, you will be needing to do some microscopic search to find a fault. They are such a blessing to the organisation. A lodger has to be careful not to go over the top tipping them. You just have to appreciate them immensely.

I have always been a firm believer in the fact that anything good should not be "el-cheapo", but you do not have to break the bank to enjoy the facilities here. You start being welcomed into your room with a sprawling bed ladden with some mesmerising sight of white Egyptian bed covers / sheets. Every facility in the room works as expected. White the extractor was noisy, it wasn't much of a big deal in the least. The food wasn't that great but OK. Room services were prompt.

All in all, it's a place to be .

Room Tip: Ask for room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Segun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my second time to stay at House J in Ikeja, and I have to say that it seemed shabbier than what I remember a year ago. Location and security are good (as others mentioned), the complimentary breakfast is quite limited in choice, and internet seemed spotty (I could only access it in the restaurant). Nice pool at the rear and friendly staff. The dinner menu is also quite good. The road was under construction a year ago, and still is . . . so walking in the area is not very pleasant, although a trip to the nearby "Oh La La" is mandatory, for their great, homemade ice cream. For a solid "Nigerian" meal, check out "the Place", about a five minute walk. offering a broad range of very affordable dishes in a cafeteria style environment. Despite some negative comments, I likely will stay here again as it is preferable to the very over-priced alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rothar-gorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First time I slept here, the duvet felt like butter, I love any hotel that make me forget my own home for a minute. Very good decor in and outside the hotel. The food is great and service is wonderful. In a very good enviroment too

Room Tip: There is a particular room with the sexiest bathroom ever, it has a see thru wall glass if you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

House J is one of several guesthouses that have sprung up in the Ikeja area near Lagos airport catering mainly for expat guests and wealthy Nigerians. It trades on easy access to the airport (true) and good security (true). However, the overall experience is very average, especially given the high prices (over $ 200 / night). My room was reasonably furnished, but had a mouldy smell and had not been cleaned well. The bathroom ony contained a shower which operated with minimal water pressure. Will I return? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BibendumCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Paid about $208 for diplomatic room, which is a standard room by all accounts. Lovely decor, art work. Good food, snapper a bit dry but fantastic potatoes, yes, potatoes.
Weird that bathroom doorI is see through and would prefer a shower curtain rather than those half glass doors. Found shower is annoying, sprayed u direct on the face or the floor!
Ok breakfast, had tons of fruit, which was extra but otherwise std breakfast was complementary.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfroRastaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Klip, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

A very secure comfortable small hotel, I stayed in House J 2 - which has a swimming pool and a gym. (there is a HJ1 and HJ 3)

The room was very clean and very comfortable (very firm matress)

The meals and drinks were rather pricy, but the supper menu had a great range of local and European dishes - very well prepared. Be warned the local dishes are peppery! Snails and fried plantain were delicious as was the moi moi (bean quiche is the best discription I could give).

Breakfast was adequate, but without variety - and expensive.

Internet was always available - inclusive of the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I have stayed at House j on four occasions over the last three years. For a budget business traveller who cannot stand the prices of the higher price hotels, House J is an excellent alternative.

My recommenadtion is the House J with the swimming pool - I think this is called the resorts House J rather than the suites House J. It is an oasis of a small hotel calm in the midst of mass commercial stupidity. The bedroom is fine, somewhat dimly light but very good value, in my experience always clean and comfortable.. Internet connection can be variable, if that is impotant to you. The`restaurant is good if a little overpriced. But the (small) swimming pool and pool side bar is a big bounus for relaxiation. As a small guest house you can meet other guests easily.

The downside is that the reservation system is crap and unless a prior deposit has been made you can be told that your reservation is for some reason not available. But compared with the big hotel chains, this is a gem for the nervous traveller who hates the anonymity of being a cog in the big chain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sojourner By Genesis
The Sojourner By Genesis
#23 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
9.5 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#27 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#34 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Citilodge Hotel
Citilodge Hotel
#36 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
3.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential Lagos Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
African Sun Amber Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House J

Property: House J
Address: 1 Sir Micheal Otedola Street, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your House J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House j Hotel Lagos
j Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing