We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Victoria Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
JHB
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

stayed here last week, Charmaine and her team, including Chigozie, Friday and the others go out of their way to make you feel welcome. lovely hotel with good food. twas my second stay here and will definately be coming back. keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: request a room in the old building and avoid the new building which has a conference centre and busi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
2
12
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly staff and a comfortable room.
However some lack of communication between the folks in the resturant and bar. We ordered our evening meal from the bar and made three requests when our meal would be ready. We then discovered by chance it was on a table in the Resturant all the time! By this time it was stone cold! We had to reorder!
The room was ok but one curtain was hanging off the rails. Are the rooms ever checked?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeseraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Protea Hotel Victoria Island in November and I apologize for the delayed response as I have recently resumed. Every effort is being done to rectify your valid comments and we wish to host you again in the near future.

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Protea in Victoria Island and where very happy with the great service and great food supplied by Eleanor and Charmaine both of whom where highly visible and very interactive with the guest.

The stay was very relaxing and at a very reasonable price not to mention the very friendly staff members

Thank you for a great stay

Raymond

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Raymond E

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will convey your message to all the STAFF. Chef Eleonor is training and cooking up a storm with her new menu which she will be implementing at the hotel in December. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice rooms, great staff and not bad food! The hotel was quiet (maybe a little too quiet when confined to our hotel). I am going to be coming to Lagos again soon and i will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandoneisie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Brandoneisie31

Thank you very much for your review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Victoria Island in the near future.

Kind Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have been travelling to Lagos for the past 30 years on business and usually stayed at one of the main international hotels; this was my first stay at the Protea VI.
Anyone reading the TA reviews can get the message; this place has great service, it has clean, comfortable and stylish rooms, the food is excellent, everything works and it is very secure.
In fact, it is a little island of calm!
OK if you want glitz and action then it is not the place for you.
The only disadvantage for my work is that there is limited space for meetings; just the (small) bar area and restaurant, because this place has no lobby in the traditional sense.
But, it will certainly be my base of choice in the future on VI as I really liked this place.

Room Tip: Pick on in the main block looking out over the pool with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-VictoriaIsland, Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Andrew B, Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, this is like always much appreciated. We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. During your next stay please let us know, as we do have a board room which our GUESTS normally use for small informal meetings.

Kind Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a small hotel on Victoria Island, but its adequate. Reception was very friendly and I was given a bottle of Guinness during check in (although I think that this was just because I’m Irish!).
My room was nice enough, the bed was comfy and the bathroom adequately clean. The hotel was very quiet during my stay. At breakfast there was only a couple of other people apart from my colleague and I. Breakfast is only ok, not a great selection and all of the cereals seemed to be stale. The small bar had a very friendly barman, who was happy to recommend a cocktail for us using some Nigerian juices. The outdoor pool is small, but it’s partially shaded which is good. The gym is very small, and not air conditioned enough.
A few days after checking out, I noticed that the hotel had put a very random charge of approx. €600 on my credit card in addition to my actual room bill. Obviously I contacted both the hotel and my bank to stop this charge and the Proteas response was that they charged my card my bill twice in error. This is not what happened as my actual bill was a different amount. They refunded the money within a few days, but it left me very suspicious of the hotel. Because of this event and the fact that the hotel is very quiet, I don’t think that I’d stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Protea Hotel Victoria Island. Since your stay in August last year we have rectified the AC in our gym, we have also improved on our breakfast selections. With regards to the comment of double payment on your credit card would you be so kind as to mail me direct on gm@proteavi.com so I can personally investigate the issue.

Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are South African, you will feel right at home. The room was spacious, and bathroom very clean. Security is really good - gives you a good sense of comfort knowing that you are safe. The service is really excellent!! Clifford, thank you for the awesome cocktail and your wonderful sense of humour!! The food is good - don't leave without trying their Thai Green chicken curry!! I would say this hotel is better than the Federal Palace which is way more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear GUEST

Thank you for your kind review. I will inform Clifford about his cocktail and I am positive he will have one waiting for you on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#10 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 132 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bon Voyage
Hotel Bon Voyage
#30 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Victoria Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Victoria Island

Property: Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Address: Plot 1700, Violet Yough Close | Victoria Island, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lagos
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Victoria Island 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning boutique hotel arguably offers the finest accommodation in downtown Lagos. Conveniently situated right in the heart of Victoria Island's hotel district, everything is near at hand, with Kuramo Waters and the Atlantic Ocean being in easy reach of the hotel. Designed for the discerning traveller, the hotel offers fine dining in elegant surroundings while the secure location ensures peace and quiet from the surrounding hustle and bustle of the city. In the normal Protea Hotels tradition, nothing is ever too much trouble to ensure our GUESTS enjoy all the facilities needed by today's traveller. If you use a little bit of street savvy, Lagos can offer you a number of unique experiences. It has more night clubs and live music than just about any other West African city and is chiefly known for its music. The late Fela Kuti came from an outer suburb of Lagos. Sunny Ade, king of juju music, still calls it home as does the Afro-reggae specialist Sonny Okosun. Sunny Ade's club,Ariya Night Club, is in Yaba and is worth a visit - as is the open-air Jazz 38 where, if you've had the foresight to bring your own musical instrument with you, you might score an invitation to jam with the band. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Protea Hotel Victoria Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing