We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Perfect location,shabby amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lagos Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagos Airport Hotel
Ranked #81 of 133 Hotels in Lagos
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location,shabby amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The location is ideal but the facilities are o worn and shabby. It is the same as the last time I used it. Grossly over staffed by inefficient people that openly solicit for money. The management should revamp the image and improve facilities. It is guaranteed patronage due to location and past glory. I will use it again,grudgingly though or safety and convenience reasons

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Adefioye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    10
    11
    11
See reviews for
2
2
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having read previous, mostly negative, reviews of the hotel, I was anxious to know how I would fare on my ten-day business stay. I was pleasantly surprised. I was in a ''luxury'' room and, though not sumptuous, it was comfortable, with a/c, a large bed, desk, fridge, flat screen TV and a decent en suite bathroom. The room was very clean, and supplied daily with bottled water and a newspaper. The best thing of all about the hotel though is the staff. The managers, waitrons, cleaning staff and security guards all are incredibly friendly and service oriented. The breakfasts provide a great opportunity to sample Nigerian food. My only wish is that they can sort out the wifi (paid for with vouchers) so that it can be accessible in all the bedrooms; I had to sit by the pool (olympic size, by the way) to get online. I also loved the book shop in the hotel; packed with books and open all hours. Regarding the price, it was not cheap but all hotels in Nigeria seem to be highly priced, so I would say this provides good value for money given that factor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaduna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lagos Airport Hotel has really improved tremendously from my last experience.The rooms are renovated with new clean toilets curtains and floor tiles.I met some guests of UNDP holding a programme in the hotel with some foreigners.
The hotel has greatly improved and i am impressedwith the current management for the transformation.The room rate are very reasonable with full buffet breakfast.I will recommend the hotel to anybody intending to visit Lagos at convenient rates.

Kudos and keep it up !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank usmankaduna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Awful.
My room smelled like the previous occupant had been a horse.
There were frequent power cuts.
Poor internet access with frequent drop outs.
The Bed was lumpy, smelled and the floor covering was in poor shape.
I tried to exchange some currency but the lobby staff were unable to help.
Restaurant was very slow....over an hour for a simple cheese and ham sandwich, with only one other table occupied.
Room service , means you can eat in your room but you must fetch it yourself.
Would not wish to stay here ever again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Humphreythebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was in this hotel becos it was mistakenly booked for me with a colleague, and I paid dearly for it. Having arrived from the UK on the 29th of January evening, we were checked into the hotel. Normally, I would have been at Joseph Court / House of J / Proteas, but since it was just for the night before embarking on my journey out of Lagos the following day, I made a nasty mistake by deciding to stay in that shabby hotel. I was having headache, and the following morning, I went to the restuarant for breakfast prior to taking Nurofen. I could not use the hot water kettle because it was not fit for human use ! The breakfast lasted less than 12 minutes, and on getting back, there he was, the room cleaner looking and acting suspicious in a state of shock on seing me. I noticed my jacket on the bed with the inner pocket out, and alas, my wallet was GONE!!!

Checked conducted, he was the only person seing on the CCTV to have entered the room. He denied being in possession of my wallet and ALL the content therein. He was locked up at the local police station for 2 or 3 days, but he denied stealing my wallet. The management did everything human possible to find the wallet, but I eventually left the left the hotel on the third day when there was no head way. No compensation whatsoever. Thanks goodness it contained just foreign currency and bank cards but not my passports.

The hotel was never in modernised at all. How they still manage to operate and sustain same is beyond imagination. But then this is Nigeria. So my candid opinion is that you stay there at your considerable risk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Segun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I could not believe my eyes on getting to our suite! It's a sore spot!! This property should've been renovated a decade ago!!! Archaic couches, old and noisy AC, dented litter-bin, white-turned-brown towels & bathrobe (I couldn't even touch them, even though they were washed clean; they were too old), very old bath tub, leaking fridge... you name it, it's in there. There was even a note on the bathroom door that said if you need to purchase a new bathrobe, it cost N4,000. Now, that is the height of shamelessness (it means the management also knows that guests wouldn't be comfortable with the one provided. How can you buy a bathrobe for use in a hotel???)

On a brighter note, the room service was excellent. African dishes were great- 110%. Staff were courteous, environment was clean. Hotel has a bar and a pool. The security of the hotel was also ok. Private cabs on standby for transfers to anywhere (dial the number provided on the phone directory) and hotel is located close to the airport. I would've loved this place as they have many good things about them but the sight of our room ruined everything, I wish the management would get some conscience and renovate it soon. Awwww!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIMOTA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
291 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is OK, a fair hike from the international airport, it is in need of severe maintenance and re-decoration, it is really weather beaten.

The staff are really great nothing id too much of a problem.

The food is OK, from a European perspective, but some of the Nigerian food is excellent especially if you like hot peppery food, my compatriates thought the local Nigerian cuisine was excellent, as I am a wimp I lept with the 'safety food'

Big plus from the UK side, they have Hienz Tomato Ketchup, HO brown sauce (Result!!!),mayo the whole nine yards.

Rooms, weatherbeaten, Aircon noisy, and not working well, basiclly vert tatty all round, reasonably clean.

Again the staff very friendly, always wanting to help.

Security in the hotel excellent,outside pool, OK see better days though.

All in all an OK hotel but the owners need to invest and upgrade the hotel

Room Tip: Pretty much the same standard all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#42 of 133 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stop Over Motel
Stop Over Motel
#24 of 133 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
#36 of 133 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#34 of 133 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lagos Ikeja
3.6 mi away
Welcome Centre Hotels
Welcome Centre Hotels
#13 of 133 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagos Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos Airport Hotel

Property: Lagos Airport Hotel
Address: 111 Obafemi Awolowo Way | Ikeja, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 133 Hotels in Lagos
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lagos Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Lagos Nigeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing