We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“The Palace of Lagos' Monarch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iga Idungaran

Ranked #14 of 31 things to do in Lagos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The palatial residence of the local monarch, the Oba of Lagos.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Palace of Lagos' Monarch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Iga Iduganran sits a few minutes walk from my house, It is the Palace of the traditional ruler of Lagos. The area was named Iga Idugaran by the Portuguese because it used to be a pepper farm before the seat of power was moved from Iddo to its present home in Lagos Island. It s just a few meters from the Lagoon and it has being renovated to serve a a tourist attraction. The Iga (Palace) is a place I love to visit because it holds a lot of historic stories for my immediate family. I will miss visiting when I eventually move out of Lagos Island

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayode Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is a place to visit for someone interested in history and a journey back to pure colonial era. It is a reminder of traditions, culture and traditional institutions. Loom beyond the minimal comfort that may exist and embrace its symbolic representation of celebration of life and human heritage.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Umuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“its okay but they need toimprove generally.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

its such a nice place,but the environment is not conducive.its a place were we hav the king and other top celebraties,i think all these people are suppose to make the place a conducive nd educative environment for the globe,expecially children of nowadays we like to know more about their environment nd how the place was situated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia osauki u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is the seat of the paramount Oba of Eko (King of Lagos); the palace of a monarch. Impressive frontage and a tour of the palace is like going through the history books.

Helpful?
2 Thank kayOderemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I am lagosian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Wow i love the mode of dress of the masquerades and the iga followers,love to become one of ..

Helpful?
1 Thank Segun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iga Idungaran also viewed

 
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Iga Idungaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing