We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getaway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Lagos Ikeja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
Ranked #52 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
12
10
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The poor service and indifferent surly attitude of the staff should be enough to deter me from using this hotel again. Though pretty functional, one does expect a little more from a hotel.
The rooms are quite small but clean. The restaurant & bar menu is fairly overpriced. So is the laundry.
Sizzlers- a small eatery next door- is probably a better place to find something to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, General Manager at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear M. ZZDHIR,

Thank you for staying in our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms.
We are disapointed that you have received a mediocre service during your stay and that the attitude of our staff was unpleasant.

We sincerely sorry and apologize for this inconvenience.

Regarding prices of our menu, we try to offer our customers the best quality at the best price meals.

We will consider your comments to improve our service. Looking forward to welcome you to Ibis Ikeja for a new stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

On arrival, your first impresion is that you are in a world class hotel but the service is everything but world class. The reception has just one toilet and two Urinals for all guest including those hiring the meeting rooms for seminars. You have to wait your turn to use the Toilet except you are booked into a Room. The default request to every Request is NO WE DONT DO IT. No complimentary toothpaste in the bathrooms for overnight guest and you dont even get a complimentary bottle of water . when you decde to buy at their exorbitant rate, you take the risk of not getting your change.
Over all i wouldnt Use this Hotel a second time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, General Manager at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear M. TAYO,

We are sorry to hear that we did not totally match your expectation during your stay in our hotel.

Regarding your comment about the number of toilets, we have toilets in the lobby and at the swimming pool and our guest can be directed to any toilet. We are sorry that our front office staff did not inform you.

We have also taken note of your comment about the complementary toothpaste in the bathroom, we have toothpaste available at the front office for all our guests.

We also put complementary bottle of water in each bedroom daily.

We are once again sorry that you were not getting your change after buying a bottle of water. We will ensure the availability of change in the restaurant and reception.

We thank you for your feed back and we look forward to seeing you again for a much better experience.
Best regards
Solange BWAME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

On this trip to Africa, Ibis Ikeja was probably the worst nightmare in the whole of my stay. During my week stay (yes, seven nights), the hotel staff gave me continuously the impression they had no clue of what they were doing. A few examples are the fact that there is no possible way you can give your credit card as a guaranty and pay for your drinks and snacks at the end of your stay, like everywhere around the world. Maybe they did this to me because I booked and paid for the hotel stay via Expedia and not directly with them?!?!

Another thing is that I got an upset stomach on the last day of my stay. Since my Air France flight was only at 23:55, I asked if I could stay in my room until 18:00. The hotel manager has demanded nearly USD$100 for these few hours of “late check-out”. This is ridiculous, as it never happened to me in any other place around the world. It’s OK to pay for late “check-out”, I agree, of course, but so much and just for a few hours at the IBIS?

Last but not least, if you eat à la carte, it takes them nearly one hour to prepare what you've ordered (even if it just a sandwich). The hotel had during one day no running water from 10:00 to 19:00. Power outages also happened a few times.

I would say, take it is, this Africa, but, due to the fact that I have an upset stomach and people had absolutely no consideration for that, that’s goes beyond my human comprehension.

I wish you all well and hope never to come back again to this place.

Room Tip: The lower your room is, the better chances you have of having running water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dornes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, General Manager at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Mr. DORNES, we are sorry for all you may have suffered during your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience that this causes you.

Your queries concerning the obtaining guarantees for credit cards is justified, we are aware and we make all our efforts to solve this problem.

Our check out time is 12 PM, we grant our customer a free late check out up to 2PM, without extra billing. Above 2 PM, we charge customer 50% of the room rate (92.5 usd.)

Once again please accept our apologies and we thank you for giving us your return, which in our opinion is very important to improve our service.

Regarding the long time for serving food, we do everything possible to reduce to the maximun the time.

In order to offer our customers a better quality of water, we have implemented a monthly maintenance of our tanks system. On that day we carry out the monthly maintenance and we advise all our customers of the lack of water in rooms from 11am to17 pm.

Once again please accept our apologies and we thank you for giving us your return, which in our opinion is very important to improve our service

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Ikeja to capture the changes brought by your feedback.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely, clean, functional hotel right in the heart of Lagos. Close to exits out of Lagos. Beautiful price too. The bed was wonderful. And the blinds did shut out the light so I could sleep long after the sun came out. However local dishes are not served after 10pm and though the hotel boasts of breakfast from 4am, the hot items are not served until 6am! Also my booking which was made on line could not be traced. I was lucky I had a copy of the confirmation with me. The male staff were by far more helpful and pleasant than the female. Will I be back? Certainly but will be smarter about feeding.

Room Tip: I had a room over looking shanty roofs facing the road: not very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EseO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, Directeur général at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
2. Reply to EseO80

Dear EseO80,

We are happy to hear that you had a lovely time in our hotel.

We take note of your comments regarding lack of local dishes after 10pm, we will endeavour to develop appropriate light local meals to meet our guests liking after this period.

We serve light breakfast from 4am for our early risers and hot meals are only available from 6am in line with Ibis Hotel brand standard all over the world.

We occasionally experience tracing some on line bookings and we are actively monitoring the situation to eliminate this problem.

We thank you for your positive feedback which will serve as an encouragement for us to continue to give our guest a very good service.


Best regards
Bwame Solange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
3.4 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#30 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sojourner By Genesis
The Sojourner By Genesis
#19 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lagos Ikeja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Ikeja
Protea Hotel Ikeja
#1 of 14 in Ikeja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.6 mi away
De Santos Hotel
De Santos Hotel
#44 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.0 mi away
African Sun Amber Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lagos Ikeja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lagos Ikeja

Property: Ibis Lagos Ikeja
Address: 23 Toyin Street | Ikeja, Lagos 0000 , Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lagos Ikeja 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 15 minutes away from the International Airport and in the vibrant area of Ikeja. All the rooms and Public areas are equiped with WIFI internet access. The buffet breakfast is served daily in our restaurant in which we also serve exquisite international and local cuisine delicacies. The snack menu will accomodate all sorts of customers round the clock. Our bar is also open round the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Ibis Lagos Ikeja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing