We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English pub with a twist”
Review of The Step Inn

The Step Inn
Ranked #160 of 228 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“English pub with a twist”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

English pub style with a twist. A decent place to hang out with friends - enjoying a cold beer and watching a sports game live on TV. The food is average, nothing fancy/spectacular, but thats probably not why you would come here either. The service is pretty slow though, food can easily take 45 minutes for relatively simple dishes. The waitresses are not particularily attentive though, and think short skirts make up for poor service... perhaps for some it does, but not me.

I come here with friends to watch sports and will happily go back, knowing the shortfalls the place has. There are not a lot of options in Lagos :-(

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“old mans pub”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Dark and dinghy but its was well received.
The service is much to be desired but if your looking for a typical old mans pub in Lagos then this is the one.
Food is great and the atmosphere is very British.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, grimy atmosphere”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros : Good food, especially the fish and chips. Ham and cheese pizza was pretty good as well. Decently priced drinks. Nice and simple 'pub' feel. Cons : Filled with prostitutes and white dudes looking to hook up. Staff was unapologetic about the extremely loud music ( even at 1 am when the crowd had seriously thinned out).

Helpful?
2 Thank bbslagosone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“just popped in”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

food good, ambience great, reasonably priced (for lagos)....downside a bit smokey.....service very pleasant and helpful

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in town”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family goes here regularly to eat the pizza. My son said that the Margarita pizza has the best crust he has ever tasted and gives it a 10/10. It is very thin and somewhat sweet to the taste.
We frequently get the pepperoni pizza (with mushrooms added), the Hawaiian pizza, and the Hot and Spicy pizza....all of which are fantastic. We substitute out the spicy beef on the Hot and Spicy and replace it with pepperoni. Just personal preference.
The pepperoni is smaller in diameter than US pepperoni and much thicker, but we do like it a lot.

No iced tea there...and be sure to speak your drink order loudly and clearly because the staff does sometimes get mixed up between things like Coke and Coke Light.

We have seen many, many people order other things on the menu and they look delicious. I have heard that the Fish and Chips is great, but pretty greasy. I need to try it next time I am in.

Only drawback to the place are that it IS a pub type atmosphere so smoking is permitted. I don't like the smell of cigarettes so the fact that I still eat here and recommend it so highly should tell you how good the pizza is! (After sitting in the place about 4 or 5 minutes you kind of forget the cigarette odor).

Oh, and by the way....NO GUM permitted. Really. Look for the signs as you enter.
We always wonder what terrible gum incident occurred there because they are definitely serious about no gum! LOL

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyMeToKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Step Inn also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to The Step Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing