We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food good atmosphere”
Review of Pearl Garden

Pearl Garden
Ranked #66 of 226 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
248 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice food good atmosphere”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Good Chinese food in a good atmosphere.
The service isn't exceptional but the food is as good as any Chinese food in Lagos.
Not too excited about the sweet and sour pork though, had a funny taste to it.
But all in all, a nice place for a family or business meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jollofmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    37
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Racist manager, ok food.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I recently visited Nigeria with my siblings and children for the first time in 18 years two weeks ago. I am a second generation Nigerian Canadian. This place was recommened to us by one of our cousins.
We ordered take out since my children were with us and it was getting rather late. We were asked to sit by the bar area while we waited for the food. We asked the waiter if we could order spring rolls since my 3 1/2 and 15 month old were starving. We were charged a service fee because my children ate spring rolls in the bar area. My sister asked the bar manager why we were being charged a service fee since we didn't sit down to eat our meal.

When the black waiter tried to tell the same Chinese manager that we should not be charged, he (the manager) proceeded to tell him that he was useless, worthless and that he was not going to amount to anything. He also insulted his family.

The manager was very rude to my sister and I. My overall impression from the two Chinese mangers is that Nigerians are useless and good for nothing but it's okay to take their money. It was very apparent that the black staff at this establishment are not well taken care of and areverbally abused on a regular basis. Several of the wait staff applauded my sister when she told one of the managers that they had no right to speak so poorly to the waiter who attended to us.

The food was ok. If you support racism and exploitation of others, then please enjoy your meal at this establishment. For other Nigerians, if you value and respect yourself, stay away from this establishement.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ibby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Variable quality dishes”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Pearl Garden is housed in a modern, yet grand, building featuring chandeliers and Chinese artwork. However, the quality of the dishes were variable, ranging from fantastic prawns and chicken to so-so spring onion rings.

Helpful?
Thank n1spm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVED THIS RESTAURANT”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have been to Pearl Gardens on a number of occasions. Quite popular with the expats in Lagos. The service quality cannot be faulted. The food is excellent and served in good time. More than anything else, the general ambiance is great with spacious and clean facilities. Highly recommended to try is one is in Lagos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KENVAN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in bad ambience”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have been to this restaurant once. Food was good but I did not like it's location and ambience. If one can digest it then it is definitely worth trying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Garden also viewed

 
Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Pearl Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing