We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Indian place with generous portions”

Gurunar's Viceroy Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 230 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good Indian place with generous portions”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very nice restaurant with large choice of Indian and oriental dishes, helpful staff and generous portions. Prices are rather reasonable for Lagos. Very clean . would recommend .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Indo-Chinese taste”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Happen to pay a visit, generally:
Nice Decor,
Just Ok food, I mean when I read the menu and found that they serve Chicken Chop Suey I thought i'm in love with the restaurant already but I was a bit disappointed..

Will i Go back again !, not by my choice :)...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mohanedmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good Indian reastaurant and also has all types of cuisine, food tastes good , they have to improve on portions as my experience with my boss was that they gave 10 pieces of French fries along with steak we had ordered, when we asked if this was the portion size of french fries they said yes without blinking an eyelid. Then they brough some more and charged for it!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice decor, good food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had tried to eat here on a weekend before, but it was full to bursting point. On a week night, much quieter, only 3 or 4 tables in. We had chicken tandoori and sheek kebab starters, chicken was a bit srawny, but tasted fine. The kebab had a nice spicey kick to it.

The mains, we had fish coconut curry, and the house special chicken curry, slightly spicy with fenugreek and spinach, a change from the normal curries and it was good. Rice was ok, but wish they didn't use frozen veg in the pilau rice. Good nan.

Total with several drinks, N19,000 for two. In line with other Lagos restaurants.

Overall, it would be quite a decent location to take clients or friends alike, though personally I thought the food just comes up short of the quality of the Sherlaton - but it is a more rounded package. So Viceroy for clients, Sherlaton for a night out with the boys.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdstewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Successful Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best Indian Restaurant in Lagos. Food consistently good and well worth the trip.Great Ambience and staff with a great attitude.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sudip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurunar's Viceroy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gurunar's Viceroy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing