We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need a walk?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Park Lagos

Freedom Park Lagos
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need a walk?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice park, apart from many nice events are scheduled there, you can also see families and people enjoying what its name said "free" for their minds

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teleduardo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    73
    29
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bringing Back the Good Old Times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Freedom Park, an historical site - a former prison yard in the Colonial era, has been converted into a rallying point for the arts. A melting pot of sorts for drama, music, art and crafts and the likes. Just as named, the architectural theme adopted throughout the park emphasizes the notion of freedom - the Restrooms have no doors!

A place for upcoming artists to showcase their works, it is also a wonderful place to relax after a hard day's work as it shares close proximity with the ever bolstering city of Lagos - Nigeria's commercial nerve center.

Freedom Park with its array of eateries, bars and wifi environment is sure ready to bring back the memories of the good old yet safe times in Lagos. However, the managers of this laudable initiative would do well to keep the nearby Police Station (Lion Building) in check as the frequent parking of impounded vehicles along one of the Park's entrances apart from creating a bottleneck may also be a hinderance in the event of an emergency evacuation.

For a visitor to Lagos, Freedom Park is a place to visit - a blend of history, culture and the hospitality of Lagosians is always on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lagos fast selling garden,so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

its situated along broad street,infact alot of places have been on island places like city mall,lagoon font,museum centre nd so on,it has avery gud environment,drinks foods,a stage,a gallery,nd a well equiped settings of seating for viewers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cynthia osauki u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lagos is all about pulsating energy, a frenetic pace, bustle and noise. I found Freedom Park to be an astonishingly serene oasis right in the heart of this energetic metropolis.

I visited on a February weeknight which had no special events on schedule - I took advantage of the uncongested atmosphere to explore the courtyards - especially its several great sculptures and nice pond - at a leisurely pace. I can imagine that this luxury would be less available during periods of peak activity.

Freedom Park.has several offerings but I was particularly taken by two.
The first were the poignant lessons in the history and purpose of the penal system under British colonial rule; it was a brutish, malevolent, near-barbaric tool fashioned to remind the local citizenry of the consequences of confronting the colonial laws and to intimidate those who by means of civil protest, were inclined to challenge the morality of that rule.
Browsing the museum was my other great thrill. An impressive array of contemporary, local talent was on display (and for sale) in the Park's museum. The artworks are not cheap (and considering their quality, they probably should not be) but it would have been preferable for the management to avoid - by failing to openly price-tag for-sale items - creating the impression that they are even more expensive than they are.
The Wole Soyinke Art gallery named for the Nobel Literature Laureate who maintains some sort of presence within the establishment was while I was there. Denying me access to what I consider to be one of its main attractions.

I loved the food and drink on offer in the mischievously-named Esther's Revenge Bar which overlooks the food court. visitors will definitely appreciate this joint's name once they review its origins in the museum. Its offerings are typical for the city's semi-formal and informal drink and dine establishments; heaping plates of fiercely-flavoured proteinaceous fare (if your heart's stout and your stomach's, steely your tastebuds will be particularly entertained by the rich fish peppersoup). The wine list is brief and basic but at least, it offers the patron one more option beyond the usual Lagos offerings of robust lagers and hearty stouts.

One my way out, I felt a bit apprehensive while waiting for a taxi on the surrounding streets - I was self-conscious about carrying a pricey-looking camera in the midst of folks who looked like the cost of the camera could support their lifestyles for several months. My companions scoffed at my fears and reminded me about one of Lagos' paradoxes which is not obvious to the observer (or to anyone who cannot view the city other than through irreparably prejudiced spectacles); the presence of ample numbers of those rough-looking chaps was actually my best defence again petty crime. Even Lagos' poorest citizens have repeatedly demonstrated a bold intolerance for street criminals. The likelihood of being a recipient of swift, harsh "street justice" has proven to be one of the most potent deterrents to petty thieving.
"You're as safe as you would be in almost any cosmopolitan city in Europe and definitely safer than you should feel in many large American cities".said one of my Lagos-resident companions. I believe him. I will definitely come here again every time I visit Lagos.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Deji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A place for reflection and relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

An interesting ancient-and-modern location in the heart of Lagos Island. The juxtaposition of the prison cells - pig styes under a canopy - and catering outlets selling African and western food was thought-provoking. The park mixes chilling-out with a cold beer, and chilling thoughts with what happened in this location only a couple of generations ago. Great place for a staged photo with the legendary Eyo too

We were there in Black History month. There was a lovely exhibition of life-sized sculptures of traditional Nigerian occupations

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank crw197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Park Lagos also viewed

 
Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Freedom Park Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing