We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Oh! I love it here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jazzhole

The Jazzhole
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Lagos
Cuisines: African, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Oh! I love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been dying to go for ages, and it's not disappointing. The owner must have great taste. Music- excellent. Books - excellent. Coffee - excellent. Cake - excellent. Tea - excellent. What else can I say? It's excellent.

Parking can be an issue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MargotinGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely owners, great music, great feel! This is one of the real Lagos places.... No real downsides to be honest!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter551365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A cosy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As said elsewhere, I've been out of Lagos for a while and the Jazzhole was yet another interesting place I visited, A book review was given and I met with some people to listen. Besides listening to an interesting review I was amazed at the number of books packed into this shop. The books are a combo of second hand and new, they also stock a large number of CD's covering a wide range of music although predominantly jazz and R n B. At the back there is a snack bar, supplying snacks, assortment of teas, coffees and juices. In the evenings there is a live jazz band while the audience are scattered all over giving rise to a very cool environment. If you are looking for a place to chill out then this is it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank africana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authentic Africa & Diaspora Mix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Here at Jazzhole, you get a wholesome experience.
Its a meeting point and/or even starting point for African Urban music. They stock all manner of good musics from all genre.
They also do a monthly art exhibition showcasing the African Strenght in Literature, Good music, Arts, and many more.
Being at any of their events ia a mind opening experience, you find great individuals with similar hobbies like yourself doing simple and great things in life. Its humbling for me.
I just think there prices are a bit to high, common guys... this is Lagos. i know where to get better bargains.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tbs4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“An African Lounge with endless Jazz and Soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been to the Jazzhole many times over the years and it is still the only place in Nigeria where you can dine and wine and enjoy great Jazz music and later relax in the lounge to read a book from the largest collection of good books in any restaurant and surrounded by African artworks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbababbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jazzhole also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 
Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to The Jazzhole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing