We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and facilities. Fairly dated and not the cleanest though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eko Hotels & Suites
Ranked #18 of 134 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Must be around 40 years old and it's showing it. Rooms are starting to get a bit musty/mouldy and bathrooms could do with being redone.

Its a big place and secure. Pool is great and courtyard bar pleasant. Food ok, breakfast fine.

Staff friendly and for a business trip its ok.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ricpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 354 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Unoftrunately our experience with this hotel was awful and the management did little to address our concerns except patronise us. When we first arrived in the Eko suites the entire building had a strong and pungent smell of mould. The situation in my room/suite was much worse. Not only did the room smell badly of mould but the furniture and carpet was mouldy and the wooden furniture had expanded/exploded at the base because of water damage. I explained this to one manager and his initial reaction was that I had a sensitive nose. On asking him to come up to my room and look he did finally agree that the room had a mould problem.

Several other issues occurred too. My toilet was on continual flush the entire night. I turned something on the shower which subsequently fell off and could not be put on. There was no remote control in my room. The room was dirty with stains around. When I left for the day to attend work meetings the room was never cleaned. The bar fridge had a lock with a key available from reception. My colleague had no water from 12-4 in his room (granted they left a note warning him of this but no water i a 5* hotel?). On top of that the food was very expensive, and though it was not bad it was terrible value for money. Big thumbs down in general. One positive experience was a separate manager who seemed receptive to the issues we brought up. However, after being referred to his colleague, another manager, the situation deteriorated exponentially.

Though the management offred to move me to a different room this never should have happened in the first place and speaks to the terrible standards which appear to serve as a base here. I was given excuses all through the process. Was your room not cleaned because the "do not disturb" sign was on the door? (no). Some customers apparently have more sensitive noses than others. etc etc

The room was one of the most expensive I have ever stayed in so to have this kind of experience with management's complete lack of empathy made the entire experience positively dreadful. For this kind of money you really do expect better in every way.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel. There are newer and cheaper ones around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

luckely i was staying only 3 days in this hotel,if i had pay for my stay there i wud ask my money back...the only good thing was the stuff they tryed...
my room was full of mold even in the room service map was mold..in the bathroom just painted over mold..clean is someting else but not that bathroom..you cud find the sprinkel of teeth brushing from the last one year on some glas parts in the bathroom..airconditioning not working,water running true the room from tripping down the airco..needed two ays to be solved and when u wanted to eat in the hotel it was not included in almost 300 euro a night u needed to pay 18.000 Nira per meal mans 150 euro (if u think a nigerian earn not that amount in 3 month) ..the food was great and the pool area nice too but that was then almost all what i can say positive about this hotel

Room Tip: better you don't choose any room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jens P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Sadly few from the UK will travel to Nigeria - especially if the read FCO advice, however work and commitments took us to Lagos to work with some amazing people.

WE were booked into the EKO hotel and unlike previous trips to Abuja, the hotel didn't bristle with armed guards and AK47s on every door. The security in Lagos was there, but less overt. The hotel was open for business and went out of their way to make their guests feel at home.

The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. Minor problems with TVs, safes, lights etc were quickly resolved. The Hotel cannot be blamed for the very very frequent power cuts. That seems to be Nigeria - regular power cuts and disruption. The locals don't even seem to notice.. they have a word for it apparently "upnepa". I learnt this and it caused amusement when I used it when power disappeared..

It was particularly exciting when in the shower - to lose power - to be totally blacked out - and guess what - the cold water pressure reduced and the shower water became scalding! So beware of power cuts when in the shower!

The restaurants were fine for business trips. The top floor venue is great at night - the twinkling lights of the "island" make it look exotic - unlike during the day light hours...

I would recommend the pool side facilities. Friendly staff, good food - their international menus are really good!

Room Tip: All seemed fine - honestly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Nice swimming pool area and big and new gym. good variety of restaurants.The rooms in main hotel are quite old, with old and not clean carpet and forniture worn out. Some rooms with a lot of humidity, water some times is yellow and AC not working well and not isoleted for noises.
Check out take ages, they don't allow to you to do it previous night, even you have breakfast included and you don't have minibar on your room.
I had problems on my charges to the credit card, it always took between 1 and 2 months to have the charges and even I had wrong charges.
Something good: The swimming pool are for the weekends if you have to stay long stays.

Room Tip: Room as higher as possible if the room is on the road side. Try to avoid the wing where are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I love Eko hotel. If you have to stay in Lagos for a short trip or a long trip this is the best place to be. Theres just something about it. It feels like home. You will never be bored. Theres something for everybody. I had a great time and hope to come back here.

Room Tip: Try the Eko Signature wing. Its brand new, exclusive and a dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Winter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

i love to travel and it was my first time in lagos nigeria and i must say i had fun.when i got to lagos i was told about eko hotel and i wanted to see what all the hype was about and when i got there i was speechless. The design of the lobby was beautiful and when i got to my room and walked out the balcony to the view of the ocean i knew i was in heaven. The food was lovely and the staffs were very helpful and nice. My kids were always at the pool and my wife loved that they had a tennis court. My family and i enjoyed our stay in eko hotel and my daughter calls it our second home and i will surely return back to eko hotel whenever i am in Nigeria.

Room Tip: ask for the view of the ocean its heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.6 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 134 in Lagos
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 134 in Lagos
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
2.0 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 134 in Lagos
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eko Hotels & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eko Hotels & Suites

Address: Plot 1415 Adetokunbo Ademola Street | Victoria Island, Lagos 12724, Nigeria (Formerly Le Meridien Eko Hotel)
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $125 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eko Hotels & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Eko Hotels & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eko Hotels And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing