We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than many, but average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eko Hotels & Suites
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have spent five times here during the last two years and still this remains one of the "Preferred" places. Good points are large restaurant with a wide variety of food, swimming pool and the gym, and slightly large rooms compared to some other hotels in Lagos.

My water heater and TV remote were not working which took some hours to fix, Room services and laundry were late than what they promised, bathrooms were not very clean or neat and most importantly open and easy access to rooms by any one without any check is alarming!

If staying here and has to go to any of the airport traveling time may vary from 45 minutes to 2 hrs + depending on time and situation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rohitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 369 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

I booked the Eko Hotel and Suites for a 4 day business trip to Lagos. When I arrived, I found that my booking was at the Eko Gardens hotel, one of three separate buildings on the property.

The reception desk was in an outdoor alcove. After checking in, I walked up the stairs to the first floor and walked down the hallway to my room. It looked like a highway motel in the US. When I opened the door, it was clear that this was just like a highway motel. If I were to book a room like that in the US, I'd expect to pay $50 a night...and would do so if it were the only hotel that I could get. The baseboards had mold on them (in the bedroom area). The bathroom was neat but very small. The room smelled of mildew and the air conditioning could not keep up with the hot, humid weather in mid-May. I went back to the desk and checked out right away. Fortunately, they upgraded me to the Eko Suites. To finish this part of the review, I'd give the Eko Gardens a rating of 1.

The room at the Eko Suites was much better. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was medium-large with new decor. A/C in the Suites building was much better. Television was new but the reception was poor. Not a big deal, because I don't use the TV all that much, but worth mentioning. Wireless internet was a bit slow, but passable, in the lobby and restaurant. In the room, wireless would not connect. There was a wired connection that was reliable and fast. Outlets were few and hard to reach (under the desk). I have come to expect a business hotel to provide outlets on the desk top. This room did not have such a feature.

The pool and gym was in the main building...Hotel and Suites...the largest building on the property. While the pool area was very nice with a restaurant and bar, the facilities are showing their age. Lounge chairs were in good repair but quite worn. The gym had a big collection of equipment but smelled of mildew.

Breakfast in the Suites building was very good. Not the best I've had, but good enough that I was very happy with it. The buffet food was fresh, coffee was great and the kitchen made me a nice omelet. The restaurant was impeccably clean with nice decor including clean white tablecloths.

Staff was very friendly, not missing an opportunity to greet me as a walked through the lobby or settled into the restaurant.

Having stayed at the Federal Palace and Radisson Blu, I'd rank this the third of the three. However, if I could not find a room at one of the other places, I would stay in the Suites building again. Rating for the Suites is 3.5.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterKalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location, good service, nice stuff, clean rooms, very good breakfast, perfect pool and ofcourse helpfull BAR locates in the heart of Hotel :-)
We were there for n exhibition. All facilities were under one roof. I really liked to stay in this hotel. If was lovely time that l had with all exhibitors.

Room Tip: Try to get upper floors. The rooms are facing the sea is better to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isocan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent a week here for a conference. Enjoyed it very much. Had a nice sea facing room on check in, although they did lose my reservation. Room was a little old, but all fine, excellent air con and by TV with SKY and BBC. Restaurants were all fine, but they don't make the most of the poolside dining. Only Pizzas, Burgers which is fine for kids and Americans, but not for the rest of the adult planet. Evening time round the pool bars is exceptional, no different that the Caribbean. Swaying palms and beautifully lit up pool. Service is friendly, helpful and polite, and if they forget your partners main course, never mind, and have another beer. I will not switch this Hotel when on my next trip. A good choice and makes a trip to Lagos quite bearable. Enjoy.

Room Tip: They have sea facing rooms. A few rooms per floor are also L shaped and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was in Nigeria this past month...... words can not describe Lagos, but the people of wonderful and the EKO Hotel employees are the best..... nice, clean rooms, great pool area, good workout GYM and a plus basketball hoop and 2 tennis courts to play around on...... Hopefully it will get easier to get around Nigeria, but until then would recommend Eko....... Ciao

Room Tip: 7th floor just high enough for a good view of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhyllisR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a tourist-class hotel geared also to business persons and conference attendees. There is a business centre and a small shop selling essentials and small snacks and magazines.

The room is well appointed, with numerous plugs and a large screen TV with mainly African, Arabic and French channels. There is a small desk in the room. They provide large water bottles in the room.

The bathroom is lovely and modern.

The buffet breakfast is a feast, and so is the dinner buffet. Loads of food to choose from. There a few restaurants in the hotel area, and a lovely outside bar area near the pool.

The hotel is near the ocean-front, but I wouldnt recommend walking there without a guard.

The hotel staff are very friendly and go out their way to assist with local info.

I would definitely stay there again.

The non-ocean side rooms face the main road but are relatively quiet, except on Sundays when there is an all-day open air church service across the road.

The Wifi is not free unfortunately, but costs around $15 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Try get an ocean-view room. The main road view is not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolDude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was on a business trip to Lagos and was suggested to stay at EKO HOtel & Suites.

The hotel is well maintained and good. The room are neat and clean as well as spacious.

Good hotel for a business traveller. I was on 5th floor and teh room was facing the swimming pool. Nice view of the pool and sea from the hotel balcony.

Everything was fine except food which was just Ok and costly.

The restuarant on 9th floor is having a very nice view and is a excellent place to relax in evenings.

Room Tip: Try to get room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agarpawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 135 in Lagos
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
2.2 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 135 in Lagos
318 reviews
2 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eko Hotels & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eko Hotels & Suites

Address: Plot 1415 Adetokunbo Ademola Street | Victoria Island, Lagos 12724, Nigeria (Formerly Le Meridien Eko Hotel)
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#8 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $130 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eko Hotels & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eko Hotels & Suites is the most preferred hotel in West Africa and it's all about the right mix! Located in the heart of Victoria Island and shielded from the hustle and bustle of the Lagos metropolis, we offer our corporate clients and walk in guests a perfect blend of relaxation, activities, and African tradition delicately infused to meet the highest international standards. Overlooking the Eko Atlantic City and Ocean, it is just a 10-minute drive to the City Centre and only 45minutes away from the Airport. We have taken important steps to live up to West Africa's future model in the hospitality sector. With the best conference and banqueting facilities, tastefully furnished to a 7000-seater capacity, a world-class swimming pool, 824 excellently furnished rooms spread across 4 hotels: EKO SIGNATURE, EKO SUITES, EKO HOTEL AND EKO GARDENS, mostly with a choice of city and sea views with 8 restaurants and 7 bars serving a range of international cuisines amongst other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eko Hotels & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eko Hotels And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing