We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would not say 5 star, but not bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I would not say 5 star, but not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel lat week. I was very skeptical about going since the reviews were not so good. But I must say the staff is wonderful and very helpful. This is a busy hotel with lots of travelers from around the world. The rooms are ok, I like the hard wood floors and I found the bed to be very comfortable. The food is good but outrageously expensive. You better have deep pockets to eat here. My girlfriend and I went to the pool bar one night to relax, we ordered large prawns and fries to share.... $50.00 not including drinks. A shared plate!!! The prawns were delicious but not worth $50. We also went to "The Club" for dancing. It was nice and we did have fun... But that will cost you $50+ for a drink or 2. We also had breakfast in the morning that ran us about $40 each. This hotel will kill your wallet. And you are stuck here as it is not really safe to venture out unless you are with people you know and trust.

Room Tip: It's not bad, but just remember you will need lots of money for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyRudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear RubyRudi M,

Thanks for your comments. Our food are of high quality with varieties prepared to fill your taste bud. We however hoped you enjoyed your meal and please make out time to vist us soon!.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    115
    119
    48
    40
See reviews for
9
7
28
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

excellent location,I used to love going there back in the days but the standard has really fallen.overall,it's a very good hotel but can do better with proper management.staff are really helpful an courteous

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yeankarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Yeankah,

Thanks for commenting about your stay. If you could let us know how we could better serve you please send us an email on bcguest.00445@sheraton.com.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Damp dank smelly guest rooms,bathroom that's disgusting stained floors,electrics hanging out of ceiling near shower head.expensive food and not of good quality.hotel barman rude,bar always full of prostitutes that make you feel very uncomfortable by staring at you! This hotel needs attention and fast the staff need to go on a customer care course! Awful place,this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in..

Room Tip: Don't stay as simple as that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mr Rod C,

We are suprised about your comments as we have preventive maintenance in place. We apologise for your experience. Please feel free to contact 00445.bcguest@sheraton.com for more details.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Cape Town
Level Contributor
177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This Sheraton is indeed quite old and needs a lot of refurbishment but it can be enjoyed if you get things right :
1. Ask for a recently renovated room which then will be of a decent standard if you do not take into consideration the bathroom which was not renovated yet. There might be more renovated rooms on the SPG floor (4th out of 6 floors).
2. Enjoy the swimming pool and the sport facilities
3. Appreciate the hospitality and friendliness of the staff
4. Good breakfast
5. Italian restaurant is quite good even if overpricey
6. Forget about the high price you pay for the room as all decent hotels in Lagos are charging you a fortune anyway
7. There is a reason why the crews of Lufthansa, KLM, Etihad are staying at this hotel. It is close to the airport: it can however take between 20 mn and 1h30 mn to do the trip to the airport depending on the time of day. Best times usually are before 630 and after 1900.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear SteffAfrica,

Thanks for your honest opinion. Our hotel needs a face lift, which we are currently looking into to serve you better. We will also continously improve our other services.

Thank you so much and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
291 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

After a busy day at work it was good to arrive at the Sheraton. Our check in was dealt with quickly and efficiently by friendly desk staff. The hotel although branded a Sheraton really could do with some updating. The bathroom was dirty and grubby with at least two hairs from the previous occupant on the bathroom floor. The desk lamp also didn't work nor did one of the sockets. All these are just small things but soon add up. Room 447 had two single beds in it. The bedding was very clean and I slept soundly. The one thing that spoil my stay more than anything was the barman in the goodies hotel bar. Service was typically slow, And it felt like a group of eight were more a hindrance to his night rather than the purpose of it. In his carelessness he actually walked into one of my colleagues causing their glass of wine to smash on the floor. All he did was clear up and didn't offer a replacement nor apology. . Pretty poor really considering it was £5 a drink and clearly his fault. The room service I had was very good and delivered within 40 minutes as promised. This was a small redemption on the whole experience. As my employer chooses as our preferred hotel, there is anything I can do about not staying here in the future. This hotel should try harder all-round as a run now many other places opening up in the near vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ianbeale,

Yes, you had some issues with your stay. Obviously the room wasn't as clean as you expected but we apologise for the excesses and our barman as well. Please make out time to visit us for leisure as well.

Thanks alot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel Sheraton is located near to the airport and presumed as the safest hotel in Lagos . The room is very expensive ranging between USD 450-600 . As the hotel is very old the room has the basic amenities and badly needs renovation . The bell boys are very nice and they always call you by your name . You will always find them smiling... that’s really good. The breakfast spread is ok and monotonous. It’s always the same .

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank yogeshgarg2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear yogeshgarg2k,

We're sorry you find our room rate a bit high though other hotels located in this surrounding charge same range, We hope to make you next stay much more valuable.

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Harcourt, Rivers, Nigeria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have spent many a times in this location and strongly feels that it is not up to the mark or expectations of any of the Sheraton hotels in the world. Rooms of this hotel are small, compact, feel damped and less illuminated or ventilated. Discolored water coming from the taps and showers, burnt bulbs, stained floor carpets, damaged furniture, naked / exposed live electrical wires is something very common. Room service is always late and preparation of rooms (during the occupation) was shabby.

Apart from Negatives, good points are the lobby and rooms with Wi-Fi, five restaurants with a selection of good food, laundry service and ease of access from the city. The staff were friendly and offers help (though solution comes very very late if you are lucky) to all visitors. I also admire the controlled access system into the hotel and to rooms where all visitors has to sign-off even those occupied by a guest. The Club room in 6th floor has nothing much to get excited about, but it is a place to watch the TV or sip a coffee while enjoying some company.
If you expect to have a good break up to the standard of any other Sheraton, don’t go there. But the requirement is to attend to office or business matters, this is ideal for that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Rohitha R,

We apologise if we didn't completely meet your needs during your stay. Please make out time to send us an email with details for solution bcg.00445@sheraton.com. We look forward to your receiving your mail.

Thanks alot.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
11.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
10.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Ikeja
Protea Hotel Ikeja
#1 of 14 in Ikeja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
10.2 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
11.5 mi away
Eko Hotels & Suites
Eko Hotels & Suites
#16 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Lagos Hotel

Property: Sheraton Lagos Hotel
Address: 30 Mobolaji Bank Anthony Way | P.O. Box 21189 Airport Road, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Lagos hotel is in the perfect location. It is in close vicinity to the international airport and the commercial capital of Nigeria. Sheraton Lagos has 325 guest rooms and 7 suites, all of which are furnished with the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, providing superior comfort to both our business and leisure travelers. The hotel offers a variety of cuisines in three different restaurants where guests enjoy a range of Indian delicacies, Italian dishes and the local buffet with International dishes. The Sheraton Fitness programmed by Core Performance is available all day together with the outdoor pool and the tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Starwood EMEA and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Lagos Nigeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing