We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Nice and clean ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Lagos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Lagos
Ranked #8 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and clean ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The ICH is a nice hotel which is basically all there is. It's clean and bright. Beds are comfortable. I didn't have a chance to order lunches or dinners whilst there however if you're a scrambled egg lover for brekkie don't bother !On the 3 counts I ordered they didnt get it right.;)
It is expensive I agree with most other reviewers but hey ! Lagos is one of the MOST EXPENSIVE cities in the world without reasonable value for service, customer or otherwise......

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Feigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Feigne,

Greetings once again,

You truly are a source of support to the hospitality industry.

I realize you have taken more of your valued time to give us more feedback, and as always this is highly welcome and appreciated.

With regards to the culinary experience, it’s our sincere apology that there was a recurrence in delivery of expectation and measures will be put in place that below standards in product delivery are averted.

Thank you once again for the feedback as our esteemed and valued guest.

Kind regards,

Kevin Kamau
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    106
    55
    32
    24
See reviews for
14
10
20
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights and found it to cover all the basic needs. It's a new hotel which still has some teething troubles over power in particular. The rooms are very spacious and well designed in my view. The decor is functional rather than designed to be welcoming and as a result the bars and restaurants lack real character or personality. The lobby is enormous but the standard of finishings generally are more impressive in scale than quality. The food was pretty good, if expensive as one would expect. There is a fifth floor terrace bar which is nice in the evenings but if it rains it doesn't leave many good options for a hotel of its scale. Quite nice outdoor pool and decent sized gym.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Segaria 226,

Greetings from Intercontinental Lagos,

Thank you for choosing our establishment as your home away from home during the recent visit.

I note with appreciation the feedback you have conveyed and notably on our Food and Beverage outlet experience.

Indeed it is work in progress and your feedback assists in identifying areas that call for quick fixes to ensure the overall experience of our valued guests, you included are met.

As we strive to take the improvement journey, we are glad you are part of our success drive contributors who are assisting us in maintaining winning areas and improving on need areas.

Best Wishes,

Kevin Kamau,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Spain
Level Contributor
333 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This Hotel is just EXCELLENT!

Rooms are confortable, clean, big and great bathroom. Bed a dream come true. You can really rest on that mattress.

Good location close to everything but get ready to get a huge cue if you are coming from the airport in the morning (around two hours an a half) or if you are leaving Victoria Island in the evening. Lagos has one of the worst traffick jams that I ever saw in my life

GYM is amazing, well equipments, lot of machines, fresh water available and good swimming pool as well

Very good service at the business center (they will print your boarding pass with an smille)
Great service as well at the concierge center. Jerry is someone to be promotted very soon :), Fast and great service from thgis guy

The bad:

Don´t bother to send emails to the email that appears at the Intercontinental official syte. I´ve sent at least three (requesting taxi for example upon my arrival and I never got any reply back)

The worst: The restaurant serice: Let me explain that:
They have a menu list in every restaurant at the hotel. If you try to get a sandwich in the lobby level the waiter will come back (ten minutes later) offering you to go some other place in the hotel since they don´t really offer sandwiches and they need to go themselves to another other level to collect the order...! OK, so you go to the fith level and order a panini (Which is in the menu!), well, 20 minutes later the waiter arrives telling me that the panini is not cooked at that level and since they need to get it from some other restaurant within the hotel it will take too long!, finally I decided to have a chcicken burger which arrives 30 minutes later.
Hello Restaurant manager!!! something has to be done on that, don´t you agree

In any case ...I will choose once again this hotel in my next visit

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos8Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Lagos and I can say that this is the best. Yes there are a few issues like the water being warm not hot and tv not working but thanks to Tope at the front this was solved. Still best hotel in Lagos hands down!! Service was good. Can speed up the check out but not to bad, IHG membership well recognized. I can certainly recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lowell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Lowell C ,

Greetings from Lagos,

Thank you for the communication regarding your recent stay in our establishment.

I am pleased to know that Tope went a mile in ensuring that any source of potential discomfort during your stay was mitigated to your satisfaction.

I also take this opportunity to thank you as one of our loyal guests being a member of the IHG rewards program and assure you that we are aiming higher through every feedback we receive from our valued members.

I look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Best regards,


Kevin Kamau,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Intercontinental Hotel's Milano Restaurant served me the worst Italian meal of my life. The hotel advertises the chef is from Italy. Please don't be telling the truth. The pasta was way undercooked dried pasta and the tomato sauce was tasteless.

The hotel is behind barbed wire and big walls and armed guards who allow only one car at a time to enter the grounds and unload or load--because of heavy security concerns. It is one of the main hotels in Lagos for white oil workers

Tip, if you suffer from vertigo, don't let yourself be seated by the railing overlooking the lobby. It's along way down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartlight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICLagos, General Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear ‘Smartlight 9’

Thank you for your recent visit to the Italian Restaurant.

We strive to accommodate all our guests and needs and provide the best dining experience and it is troubling to read that we were unable to do this during your visit to us. We have taken note of your comments, and as this is certainly not to the usual high standards of service we provide our guests, we will ensure this does not happen again.

We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. Please rest assured that We take the feedback very seriously, and we will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to give you a different dining experience.



Best Regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 weeks at this very pretty hotel.However the level of service and value for money did not meet up to my satisfaction.The cost of a meal was up to 50 dollars, a simple pizza was 30 dollars.In the end my bill came to more than 3000 dollars.I think the experience was satisfactory however what you paid did not equal to what you got.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICLagos, General Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear ‘Lincoln L’,

Thank you for your recent visit to the InterContinental Lagos and your valuable feedback.

I regret to read that we did not meet your expectation on service on this visit. We strive to provide each of our guests with a seamless and quality stay that they deserve and I am sorry to read that we did not achieve that on this occasion.

We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention and are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Lagos.

Best Regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times now with work and it is still strange, you expect that it will be similar to intercontinental hotels elsewhere but it isn't. Under the wrapping it is a hotel that has the makings of a good place but hasn't quite realised what they have.
From my point of view I would rather they price accordingly to the journey to 5* that they should be on... Currently I would estimate this as a three star hotel.
So, the detail...
Outside the security team and welcome party do a good job. Someone always eager to grab your bags which is also nice to see.
Reception is a different kettle of fish... You are often ignored, the man took phone calls whilst serving me last time, they have issues with credit card machines not working properly or atall, one time I had to get a refund from them in NGN as they couldn't refund my card... There is a dedicated place for IHG members to register but I have never seen anyone attending this desk! it's like they don't know the big sign is even there...
The food was not particularly nice, I had an evening meal there which was towards the end of their Sunday buffet, someone told me that it is very popular in the area and is attended by many important people. I thought it was an average buffet at best... Breakfast was not particularly nice either... Lots to choose from but not inspiring, buffet too which would tend to expect from a 3* and not a 5* hotel... Little queues of people in a hurry waiting at Luke warm, dented stainless steel holders for someone to realise that the bacon has run out... Not what you need or expect...
I was upgraded on the last visit to a club room which,apart from being on floor 22 it seemed to be identical to the other room I stayed in previously...
The power is another issue.... It goes off regularly and there is a time lag before the generator kicks in or the power comes back on. This is irritating as the door controls reset, so, you press the button to say do not disturb before you retire to bed, the power goes off and on numerous times whilst you sleep and then the housekeeper is banging on the door and marching in whilst you are trying to recover for jet lag....again, small details that are not expected with this priced and starred hotel.
Lastly, my pet peeve.... The bathroom consumables are a terrible, cheap make and certainly not what you are expecting for that sort of price... I think the room price for a basic room is over 350USD.... So, like I said earlier, either provide the service and whole package to match the price or reduce the price whilst you continue to practice....

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ukdcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear ‘UkdCham’

Thank you for your recent visit to the InterContinental Lagos and your valuable feedback. We know you have many accommodation options in Lagos and appreciate your loyalty with is.

We are pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and we thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the hotel condition issues and the quality of food. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention and are grateful that you chose to stay with us. Rest assured that this will be reviewed and rectified to avoid the same issue in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Lagos.

Best Regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
1.9 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
1.6 mi away
The George
The George
#4 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eko Hotels & Suites
Eko Hotels & Suites
#18 of 127 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lagos

Property: InterContinental Lagos
Address: Kofo Abayomi Street | Plot 52, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lagos 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing