We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Lagos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Lagos
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the newest hotel on Victoria Island. I have just spent the weekend here and have no complaints. There are snagging issues but thats a given considering the hotel has only just opened so everything is completely new and settling.

The food is excellent though pricy. The restaurant and bar staff are particularly well trained by local standards and the general experience has been very good.

The rooms are big and the bathrooms very nice. The internet is probably the fastest I have experienced in Nigeria. The views from the full glass windows in all the rooms is excellent.

Location - its central Victoria Island which makes it convenient for working round VI and Ikoyi.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcNigeria, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Cosmos,

Thanks for your pleasant comments and review of our hotel. I am delighted to know you were pleased with the services of our restaurants and bar staff. Also with our rooms and high speed internet services.

Please accept our regrets of the shortfalls in some aspects of our deliverables. My team and I are working very hard to see to it that everything works perfectly because we know you deserve the best.

I look forward to your next visit and promise we would have improved on those areas of concern at your arrival.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed there 4 night for business in sept.
the hotel is brand new (opened in july 2013) and it is a pleasure to find a so nice hotel in Lagos.
Price is really competitive compare with the quality and the service in the building. I paid 250 euros per night which is OK in Lagos.
All employees are very kind and helpful. Check in and Check out was very quick and well done. They take AMEX and VISA.
The bedroom are very big (I was staying at the 8th floor) and luminous. The bathroom is very nice and the bed very comfortable. Lots of places to put things in drawers.
Air conditionning in rooms is easy to use as well as the lights.
The wifi is very quick and free and works very well everywhere in the hotel. You do not need to enter several password, the log in is automatic.
Laundry service is good.
Small bar in the lobby with very kind waitresses.
There are always people to help you in the hotel.
The breakfast offers a lot of selection. The pastries are home made by a french chef and they are very good.

Some things to improve :
- temperature in the lobby and restaurant at ground floor is very cold The air conditioning is too strong and the temperature too low.
- in the gym (5th floor) on the other hand temperature is too high so you get wet very quickly when you move your body and the level of music is too high. But the gym is vary well equipped.
- as far as I saw, the swimming pool is very small.

I recommend this hotel 150% !

Room Tip: Ask for high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcNigeria, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Jean M,

Your great comments and review of our hotel is well appreciated by our team and most of all your high recommendation of Intercontinental Lagos to travellers. Nice to know you loved our amenities, products offering and services.

Amongst other things, I will like to thank you for your observations and areas of concern that you will want us to improve upon. Management is taking your recommendations seriously to create great hotels guests love.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental hotel with my husband to mark his birthday. It was all we wanted and more. The lobby is great. Lovely and spacious rooms with real attention to details paid to the fittings and furnishing. The welcome was awesome - Great staff - very warm and on top of their game. Good team work between the staff. Special gift, Fruit basket, Champagne, fruit platter and desert spread on arrival. We felt really special. Personal touch to celebrate the birthday from the restaurant to the guest relationship unit and indeed the whole staff was like family with everyone wishing us a happy birthday. Lunch at the restaurant with family members was a huge success -great food in a really beautiful restaurant. Restaurant service - indeed service throughout the hotel, was second to non. More surprise cake and birthday wishes!! Prompt response to all requests. Good security. Spent 2 nights and definitely coming back. Best hotel in Lagos!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more panoramic the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcNigeria, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Lilian A,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Lagos as your choice hotel for celebrating a memorable moment such as your dear spouses’ birthday. It’s our desire to offer to our esteem guests at your side service and make their stay with us memorable!

We are most delighted to know you had a fabulous stay. We look forward to have you back soonest!


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has very friendly staff.The rooms are breathtaking, beautiful decor, very spacious and clean.Great food and service, try chinese restaurant you will love it!Only problem is lights keep going off.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nampaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcNigeria, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Nampaso,

Thank you for the very pleasant comments of Intercontinental Lagos, our rooms, the decor, food and our services in general.

I will relate your comment on our Chinese restaurant to my colleagues in Soho for them to know you enjoyed their spices, food and service quality.

I am particularly sorry for the nagging power outage you experienced during your last visit. Management is taking urgent steps to remedy the situation.

Once more, thank you.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent hotel, the rooms are great, the services are great, the food is very good.
You feel safe, you feel clean and you can relax in the restaurant or in the bar.
There is a security guy on every floor.

I liked the traditional flavor which is brought by the people meeting you in the lobby, or in the restaurant.

The rooms are very large, with a lot of equipment, large screen, even has a desk, where you can work.
The internet is working very good, and it is included in the price.
Excellent breakfast, with a large variety.
Huge bathroom, with tub, separate shower and separate restroom, it give you a feeling of a spa :), with glass wall for view over the room
Also a very well provided mini-bar.

Overall, an excellent stay,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SzilardVarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcNigeria, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear SzilardVarga,

Thank you for your very pleasant comments. We are glad to know you loved and enjoyed every bit of your visit with our facilities and of course our services. With this we know we are actually creating great hotels guests love.

It is our desire to satisfy our guests and to create in-the-know experience for them. Sure, this was your experience during your last visit as you discovered the different facets of our hotel.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you soon again to Intercontinental Lagos.

Many thanks and warm regards!

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I ve travelled to Lagos in the past and my hotel experiences have been mediocre. I was looking forward to staying at the Intercontinental, having heard of its recent opening. It was worth every penny. Great staff, spacious rooms, specialized service :)

Am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonJackson_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcicmuscat, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear London Jackson,

Thank you very much for your very positive review, We are all very motivated to create a great hotel guests love and bring luxury to Lagos, I am very pleased to know that we were able to more than match your expectations and that you enjoy our spacious rooms and our "at your side services", I will pass your warm words to the entire team.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon to the InterContinental Lagos.
Warm regards

Marc Lambert
Resident Manager
Tel: +234 12269002

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the intercon in July 2013. Beautiful, comfortable, great staff, good food, perfect for business needs and leisure. Would recommend this hotel and will definitely revisit. The lobby bar is a fantastic place to hang out.

Room Tip: Anyone really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcicmuscat, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Raj. T

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we are very happy that you have had a great time with us and enjoy the great room's space, business facilities and of course our lobby bar starting to be famous within the first week of operation! and especially to know that you will be back ! Good news!
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need anything when preparing your next trip to Lagos, my name is Marc Lambert, Resident Manager IC Lagos.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Lagos, in the meantime, very best regards from the entire team and see you soon in Lagos.

Marc L.

Marc Lambert
InterContinental Lagos Resident Manager
email: marc.lambert@ihg.com
Tel: +23412269002

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
2 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 135 in Lagos
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
1.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 135 in Lagos
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lagos

Address: Kofo Abayomi Rd. | Plot 52, Victoria Island, Lagos 101241, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: $332 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lagos 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing