We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Kill the Elephants!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lekki Market

Lekki Market
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kill the Elephants!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lekki Market is a great place to support the slaughter of elephants. You will see several Lebanese and Chinese people purchasing ivory to be smuggle through the very dishonest customs agents at the airport. There are many other things to purchase, but mostly tourist crafts for a place not for tourists. I have worked in Lagos for 4 years. I would not recommend it for any tourism. Lekki is a place to get cheap (cost & quality) souvenirs for family if you have a financial reason to be in Lagos or exploit elephant poaching. Those who come to Lagos for tourism should fire their travel agent. There are many safer places in Africa, which can give a much richer experience.

Visited November 2013
4 Thank Hibbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lekki Market - A must while in Lagos.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Though we have been in Lagos for nearly two years, never had the opportunity to visit Lekki Market, which is in Victoria Islands, a posh Lagos neighborhood. It is indeed what we had heard about..a place for all types of pearls, garnet etc., and you can see many foreigners flocking in for shopping. This apart, one can get good wooden artifacts which are worth carrying back home as souvenirs. The market by itself is not posh and is situated in decrepit buildings, which houses tiny but well stocked shops. Bargaining is a must, but fortunately shopkeepers do not pester us. That leaves you to get into a shop that interests you. What is strange (and to some extent repulsing) is you can see full leopard skin, python skin, stuffed crocodiles of all sizes and ladies' vanity bags made of rare animal skins. There are a few shops exclusively for ivory items!! These are the things one can never imagine to see so openly put up for exhibition or sale in many countries. Still, Lekki Market is certainly worth a visit when one visits Lagos.

Visited October 2013
3 Thank RameshMysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent souvenirs once you find it"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We bought fabulous things here. All our take home presents came from this excellent market. It was really difficult to find and we tried several turnings before our driver found the right one. The road is truly awful and if our daughter hadn't been there before we would never have recognised it.
When we first got out of the car it seemed unlikely that there would be anything to buy but having passed the kitchen stalls we came to the ivory stalls and eventually the leather goods stalls. We bought very nice handbags, wallets, belts and purses at good prices. I'm not sure whether we paid too much but everyone was very nice and we didn't feel too pressured at any time. We did pay someone to carry our bags but this didn't seem too much of an imposition.
Not sure I'd ever find it again, but if I could bear the road I'd happily return for presents.

Visited October 2013
Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
286 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“great market but sad for the elephants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

great market tucked away at Lekki.
Walk through the first stalls and down to the back to find the deals. They say prices are more on the weekends but to be honest they are high every day of the week. Just be prepared to use your bargaining skils. Never pay more than half of what they ask for.
among this market you will see all sorts of animal hides which should be on a animal and not ready for a wall. Ivory was in abundance being sold to the Asian mass which flock there on weekend to buy. This is real and not plastic as some people have said.very sad to see and wish it would stop
some good chinese food products to be bought here also.
Enjoy and get yourself a great deal

Visited September 2013
1 Thank wayan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Shoppers paradise for African stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a tyipcal market lined with small shopes more than 300 selling all types of local stuff.
Approach road to the market is very bad,better to take a SUV.Carry your own water bottle .
Once you are in,you will lose track of time .Market offers wide variety of pearls,paintings,cloths,arttcles made from animal skin,ivory,wood.
Be prepared to be a tough bargainer.One can even exchange money at reasonably good rates if you run out of local currency.
Overall a nice place to spend 2-3 hrs even with the basic infrastructure the market offers.
Weekend is ideal time to visit to get a good deal.

Visited August 2013
2 Thank amitpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lekki Market also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State

Been to Lekki Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing