We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Review of Chesney Hotel

Chesney Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chesney Hotel
Ranked #18 of 428 Lagos B&B and Inns
Accra
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is perfect for the business traveler. It is located within Victoria Island, one of the best places to live and work within Lagos. The hotel offers free WiFi, it's not that fast though but usable. The hotel staff are always friendly and happy to assist. The kitchen could however do with some improvement. Firstly, most of the foods in the breakfast buffet are too oily and they keep getting finished. Secondly, there always seem to be insufficient utensils. Sometimes there are no bowls for cereals, no plates for the buffet, no forks and knives on the tables etc. You almost always have to ask the waiters to bring you the utensils or cutlery. Apart from that, Chesney is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a clean Oasis in the heart of Victoria Island, I came for business and stayed for a week. Very clean, very quiet, centric, nice decoration, perfect matrix, pillows, bath tube that you can really use, hanged flat TV, proper table to work, the internet works properly!, safe in your room, etc, all you expect for it price that really worth. You really wont feel in lagos. P.S. good quality full breakfast is included, but meals (30-40 usd), however there are a few restaurants walking from the hotel and a big chain supermarket.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis_Rodriguez_Lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Was glad to stay here, nice location, good food, pleasant staff and excellent rooms. A good business hotel if you're in Lagos and I wouldn't mind going back. Not too far from some good local bars and restaurants and we felt safe enough.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolAlfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here for an afternoon while on a trip to Nigeria for work. Never stayed the night but the rooms are fantastic and the place is very very chilled out. The staff who takes your bags to your room don't expect a tip like most places. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and defo the best hotel I've stayed while in Lagos

Room Tip: Ask for a suite! Massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Beautiful, Mordern, clean and secured hotel in a great location in Victoria Island. Friendly staff, spacious room, good rate in comparison to hotel standard in Nigeria. Could not find any fault with this hotel, look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

One of the friendliest hotels I have come across in a while. The staff are courteous and have a big smile at all times and ever willing to serve even at odd hours. The food is good, the breakfast buffet has a nice mix of continental and local cuisine and the rooms are comfortable, cosy and clean. Due to space constraints the pool and gym are small and serve more to say they have the facilities rather than serve the purpose. An excellent place to stay in Victoria Island where hotel rates are exorbitant. There is adequate place for parking and security is good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

From the reception to the room service, every thing here had a touch of class. The staff were accommodating and very friendly and were on hand to make the guest feel at home. I love the food and the bar is filled with exotic drinks. The rooms are spacious and well lit and enough room for my kids. Best part is that the service is incomparable. I would definitely be going back there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city provides a good view, but the room facing the pool side offers double the fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Morning Side Suites
Morning Side Suites
#19 of 131 in Lagos
34 reviews
11.9 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#38 of 131 in Lagos
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#22 of 131 in Lagos
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#25 of 131 in Lagos
20 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 131 in Lagos
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#10 of 131 in Lagos
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesney Hotel

Property: Chesney Hotel
Address: 37 Saka Tinubu | Victoria Island, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chesney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing